Skip to main content

The year 2020 brought us advertisers many innovations on Amazon. One of these innovations is the so-called Amazon Sponsored Brand Video Ads, which for the first time give us the opportunity to display video ads in the search results pages. In this article, I will introduce you to the possibility of Sponsored Video Ads.

Amazon Sponsored Video Ads: What is it?

Sponsored Brand Videos are a special ad format of the Amazon Sponsored Brand campaigns. They are therefore only available to sellers with a registered brand. The ad is displayed in the search results pages below the first organic results. This means that the ad is not visible at first glance, but only becomes visible when you scroll down a little.

Example of a sponsored brand video ad:

SBCIn the desktop version, the video appears to the left of the advertised product. When clicking on the video ad, the potential new customer is forwarded directly to the product detail page. For each search results page there are only one Sponsored-Brand-Video Ad! It should also be noted that the display on mobile devices differs from the display on the desktop PC. On mobile devices, the video appears above the advertised product. Furthermore, on mobile devices the ads appear as the last module of a search results page, meaning that this ad format generates hardly any visibility on mobile devices.

Remark: Only one product can be assigned to each video, so you have to create a separate SBC ad for each product to be advertised.

As with conventional sponsored brand ads, billing is per click (CPC).  

How do I create sponsored brand videos?

In order to create an SBC ad, it is important to know in advance that you must register a trademark with the Amazon Brand Registry must be stored. If this is the case, select Advertising → Manage campaigns in Seller Central and then click on "Create campaign". This is a sponsored brand campaign. In addition to Product Collection & Store Spotlight, "Video" is now also displayed as the ad format.

Amazon-Sponsored Brand Videos

Next, we just have to select the product to be advertised and then we can upload a video. The video should not contain any website links, nor should a black frame be used for the video. The most important features of the video are as follows:

  • 16:9 aspect ratio
  • 1280 x 720 px, 1920 x 1080 px or 3840 x 2160 px
  • 23.976, 24, 25, 29.97, 29.98 or 30 fps
  • 1 Mbit/s or higher bit rate
  • H.264 or H.265 codec
  • 6 -45 sec. long
  • 500 MB or less
  • MP4 or MOV file
  • Main or baseline profile
  • Progressive scan type
  • 1 Video stream only

Once we have uploaded the video and have not received an error message, the next step is to enter the keywords that we define for playout. Currently, the video ads only appear in the search results pages and not on product detail pages. It can be assumed that it will also be possible to display the video ads on product detail pages in the future.

Once we have defined the keywords, the campaign only needs to be submitted for review and approved by Amazon.

Experience with SBC ads

My experiences with SBC ads are mixed. On the one hand, it is a great advertising format to better place products that require explanation on Amazon, but currently the only problem is the number of people reached, as the ads are not triggered with every search query. The SBCs on mobile devices also only receive a fraction of the possible impressions. From our daily work with more than 20 Amazon sellers that we support every month, I can also say that only very few advertisers currently rely on SBCs. This means that a relevant target group can still be reached with relatively little competition.

NoteDo you need support with campaign design & optimization on Amazon? Then we can help you as Amazon PPC Agency can help.

Tobias Dziuba

My name is Tobias and I am the founder and managing director of the Amazon agency Adsmasters GmbH based in Düsseldorf.

Your registration could not be saved. Please try again.
Your registration was successful.

Search
Generic filters

Live webinar: Amazon Ads: 30% more profit in one month

Name(Required)
e-mail(Required)

Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader

Das Jahr 2020 bescherte uns Werbetreibenden auf Amazon viele Neuerungen. Eine dieser Neuheiten sind die sogenannten Amazon Sponsored Brand Video Ads, die uns zum ersten Mal die Möglichkeiten geben, Videoanzeigen in den Suchergebnisseiten darzustellen. In diesem Beitrag stelle ich dir die Möglichkeit der Sponsored Video Ads vor.

Amazon Sponsored Video Ads: Was ist das?

Bei Sponsored-Brand-Videos handelt es sich um ein spezielles Anzeigenformat der Amazon Sponsored-Brand-Kampagnen. Sie stehen somit ausschließlich Verkäufern mit einer registrierten Marke zur Verfügung. Die Anzeige wird dabei in den Suchergebnisseiten unterhalb der ersten organischen Ergebnisse dargestellt. So ist die Anzeige auf den ersten Blick nicht sichtbar, sondern wird erst dann ersichtlich, wenn etwas nach unten gescrollt wird.

Beispiel einer Sponsored-Brand-Video-Ad:

SBVBei der Desktop-Variante erscheint das Video links neben dem beworbenen Produkt. Beim Klick auf die Video-Anzeige wird der potentielle Neukunde direkt auf die Produktdetailseite weitergeleitet. Je Suchergebnisseite gibt es nur eine Sponsored-Brand-Video Ad! Ebenfalls zu beachten ist, dass sich die Darstellung auf mobilen Endgeräten von der Darstellung auf dem Desktop-PC unterscheidet.  Auf mobilen Endgeräten erscheint das Video oberhalb des beworbenen Produktes. Des Weiteren erscheinen auf mobilen Endgeräten die Anzeigen als letztes Modul einer Suchergebnisseite, sodass dieses Anzeigenformat mobil kaum Sichtbarkeit generiert.

Anmerkung: Je Video kann nur ein Produkt zugeordnet werden, sodass du für jedes zu bewerbende Produkt eine separate SBV-Ad erstellen musst.

Die Abrechnung erfolgt, wie bei den herkömmlichen Sponsored-Brand-Ads, je Klick (CPC).  

Wie erstelle ich Sponsored-Brand-Videos?

Um eine SBV Anzeige zu erstellen ist es vorab wichtig zu wissen, dass du zwingend eine Marke bei der Amazon-Brand-Registry hinterlegt haben musst. Wenn dies der Fall ist, wählst du im Seller-Central den Punkt Werbung → Kampagnen verwalten aus und klickst dann auf “Kampagne erstellen”. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Sponsored-Brand-Kampagne. Als Anzeigenformat wird dir neben Produktkollektion & Store Spotlight nun auch “Video” angezeigt.

Amazon-Sponsored Brand Videos

Als nächstes müssen wir nur noch das zu bewerbende Produkt auswählen und daraufhin können wir ein Video hochladen. Dabei sollten im Video weder Website-Links enthalten sein, noch sollte ein schwarzer Rahmen für das Video verwendet werden. Die wichtigsten Eigenschaften des Videos sind dabei die folgenden:

  • 16:9 Seitenverhältnis
  • 1280 x 720 px, 1920 x 1080 px oder 3840 x 2160 px
  • 23.976, 24, 25, 29.97, 29.98 oder 30 fps
  • 1 Mbit/s oder höhere Bitrate
  • H.264 oder H.265 Codec
  • 6 –45 Sek. lang
  • 500 MB oder kleiner
  • MP4 oder MOV Datei
  • Haupt- oder Baseline-Profil
  • Progressiver Scan-Typ
  • 1 nur Video-Stream

Nachdem wir das Video hochgeladen und keine Fehlermeldung erhalten haben, müssen wir als nächstes nur noch die Keywords eintragen, welche wir für die Ausspielung definieren. Aktuell erscheinen die Video-Anzeigen nur in den Suchergebnisseiten und nicht auf Produktdetailseiten. Es kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass es zukünftig auch möglich sein wird die Video-Ads auf Produktdetailseiten auszuspielen.

Nachdem wir die Keywords definiert haben muss die Kampagne nur noch zur Überprüfung eingereicht und von Amazon genehmigt werden.

Erfahrungen mit SBV-Anzeigen

Meine Erfahrungen mit SBV-Anzeigen sind gemischt. Einerseits ist es ein tolles Werbeformat um erklärungsbedürftige Produkte auf Amazon besser zu platzieren, aktuell liegt das Problem nur an der Anzahl der erreichten Personen, da die Ausspielung nicht bei jeder Suchanfrage ausgelöst wird. Ebenfalls erhalten die SBV auf mobilen Endgeräten nur einen Bruchteil der möglichen Impressionen. Aus der täglichen Kundenarbeit mit mehr als 20 Amazon-Verkäufern, die wir monatlich betreuen, kann ich aber auch sagen, dass aktuell nur die wenigsten Werbetreibenden auf SBV setzen. Hier kann also immer noch mit relativ wenig Wettbewerb eine relevante Zielgruppe erreicht werden.

Tobias Dziuba

Tobias Dziuba

Mein Name ist Tobias und ich schreibe auf dieser Seite über Digitale Marketing Trends.