Skip to main content
Visit us at the eCommerce Day in Cologne on April 26. Grab a ticket & arrange a free Amazon Account Check!

The search algorithms modern search engines take numerous factors into account, but keywords form the basis when it comes to determining relevance for a specific search query. Amazon's A9 algorithm also works in this way: It matches the search terms of a search query with the search terms of the Product listings and returns products whose listings have a high match with the search terms. Relevant keywords can be placed in the title, in the bullet points or in the general search terms on Amazon. In this article, we will look at how you can optimize Amazon backend keywords and what rules you need to follow.

What are Amazon backend keywords?

The Amazon backend keywords, also known as General keywords or search terms, are not displayed in the listing, unlike the title and attributes of a product, but are stored in the backend. The keywords stored there are therefore not visible to potential customers. Just like the keywords in the title and bullet points, they are stored by Amazon's algorithm to match them with search queries. This is how the relevance of the product for certain search queries is evaluated.

The backend keywords can be found in the editing overview of a product under the tab Keywords in the field for General search terms can be entered. The order in which the search terms are entered has no influence on the algorithm's assessment of relevance. However, the input field is limited to 249 bytes.

What are backend keywords useful for?

Due to the fact that backend keywords are not publicly visible, this field is ideal for placing relevant keywords that should not necessarily be visible in the public listing. These include, for example common spelling variants of the product (e.g. wallet vs. purse). Strongly colloquial synonyms for a product are also often better placed in the backend.

In addition, the title and Bullet points should not be compulsively overloaded with keywords. The main focus should continue to be on the comprehensibility and information content of the texts for the prospective customer. As a result, it can happen that not all previously researched keywords can be meaningfully accommodated in the listings. In this case, too, the field for the Backend keywords usually enough space to accommodate the missing relevant keywords.

Optimize Amazon backend keywords - YouTube Video:

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

What is the difference between backend keywords and platinum keywords?

In product editing, under the tab Keywords In addition to the field for the backend keywords, there is another field. This is reserved for so-called platinum keywords. However, these are only relevant for Amazon Platinum Sellers. Completing this field does not bring any advantages or improvements in ranking for "normal" marketplace sellers, as the platinum fields are not indexed.

For this reason, care should always be taken to ensure that the General search terms must actually be entered in the field provided for this purpose. If the backend keywords are inadvertently entered in the field for platinum keywords, they will be ignored and lost accordingly.

 

Get started on Amazon now

Optimize Amazon backend keywords: What rules should you follow?

Those who Amazon backend keywords should follow a few rules. Some are useful in order to make the best possible use of the space for the general search terms, while others are essential in order not to risk violating Amazon's guidelines. The complete indexing of keywords is also related to this.

Length: As already mentioned, the field for the general keywords is set to 249 bytes limited. Amazon does not normally accept longer entries, but if the length of the stored keywords exceeds 249 bytes, none of the backend keywords entered will be taken into account for indexing. This can happen, for example, if Amazon subsequently limits the field further, as it has done in the past. To avoid losing relevant keywords, you should always keep up to date with changes of this kind and make appropriate adjustments if necessary.

Characters are not the same as bytes: An important addition to the topic of the length of backend keywords is that bytes are often confused with characters. While many characters correspond to exactly one byte, umlauts, for example, take up two bytes. When determining the length, a counter should therefore be used that counts not only characters but also bytes. You can find such a byte counter here.

Brand names: Neither third-party brands nor your own brand may be mentioned within the backend keywords. The ideal place for the brand name of a product is, according to Amazon Styleguides in the title anyway, preferably in the first position.

ASIN nomination: Just like brand names, ASINs are also not permitted in the backend keywords. Other article numbers such as EAN or UPC codes should also be avoided.

Punctuation marks: Punctuation marks are not necessary within the general search terms. The individual terms can simply be separated by a space. Additional punctuation marks only minimize the already limited space. The hyphen is an exception, but we will come to that later.

Sequence: The order of the search terms, as well as the distance between two terms, plays no role in indexing. For the search query "coat black", a product with the backend keywords "black coat" as well as "coat thick winter long black" is therefore classified as relevant. Considering different keyword sequences only leads to many repetitions and therefore to wasted space.

Repetitions: This leads us to the next point. The most important keywords from the listing are often repeated again in the backend keywords. However, this does not lead to an increase in relevance and only reduces the space for meaningful keywords. When optimizing general search terms, care should therefore always be taken to ensure that these terms do not already appear in the title or attributes. Repetitions within the backend keywords should also be avoided.

Filler words: Filler and stop words such as "with", "for", "that" or "and" are not taken into account during indexing and should therefore be omitted to save space.

Upper and lower case: Whether keywords are written in upper or lower case does not matter within the backend keywords. Amazon recommends writing all terms in lower case.

Spelling mistakes: Amazon automatically recognizes small spelling mistakes in the search query and instead displays relevant results for the search query that was probably meant. For this reason, it is not necessary to include spelling mistakes or typos in the general keywords. However, popular spelling variations can be included.

Singular & Plural: To cover a search term, it is sufficient to include the term in either its singular or plural form in the backend keywords. Including both has no effect on the relevance of a search query. The singular form is often more space-saving than the plural.

Observe the guidelines: In addition, there are some Amazon guidelines that should be strictly adhered to in order to avoid violations and thus the exclusion of search terms and further penalties. Obviously, offensive and offensive terms do not belong in the backend keywords. Likewise, no subjective terms are permitted, including terms such as "beautiful" or "cheap". Furthermore, time-limited terms such as "new" or "on offer" must be avoided.

Hyphen: Finally, here is a practical tip to accommodate as many relevant keywords as possible in the most space-saving way. To do this, terms that can be written both together and separately are inserted into the general search terms with a hyphen. For example, the term "rim brush" covers the keywords "rim brush", "Felgen Bürste", "Felgen" and "Bürste".

Examples for the optimization of Amazon backend keywords

The following table shows some examples of popular errors within the General search terms and a corrected version. The rules that have been disregarded are also listed.

Wrong Correct Rules
food for dog dog food dog food Filler words, repetitions, sequence
coat black, black coat, black jacket coat black jacket
Sequence, punctuation, repetitions
beautiful great jacket colorful inexpensive jacket colorful Subjective information
winter coat winter coat winter coat Hyphen
wallet purse wallet wallet prt wallet purse wallet wallet purse wallet Spelling mistakes
cup coffee mug coffee teacup tea coffee cup tea cup Upper and lower case, hyphen
headphones competitor brand1 competitorASIN1 bluetooth competitor brand2 bluetooth headphones bluetooth headphones Brand name, ASIN name, hyphen
travel bag special offer imitation leather brown travel bag imitation leather brown Time-limited terms
toys for cats cat cat toys toys set cat toy set Singular & plural, hyphen
rain jacket blue rain jacket waterproof rain jacket warm rain jacket blue waterproof warm Repetitions, sequence (or word spacing)

Amazon Backed Keywords Tools

Next, let's take a look at some tools that you can use to Backend keywords and optimize them. Let's start here with a Toolwhich Amazon provides us with, namely Amazon Brand Analytics.

Amazon Brand Analytics for backend keyword research

Amazon Brand Analytics is an analysis tool that is available to Amazon sellers with a registered brand. Amazon Brand Analytics can be used to analyze the popularity of search terms in selected time periods. We do not receive the search volume as a result, but the so-called search frequency rank, which reflects the popularity based on the search frequency. The more frequently a term is searched for, the lower the search frequency rank.

Brand analytics can be used both by Vendors as well as sellers with a brand registration. Use of the tool is free of charge.

Amazon backend keyword tool

In this example, we see that the Search term "Graphics card" was the most searched term in February 2022, followed by "Valentine's Day gift for him" with a SFR of 2 and Valentine's Day gift for her" with a SFR of 3.

If we enter a term in the search field, we will receive a series of other keywords that have a search term in this period. SFR have. It is important to understand that not all terms are covered - for the month of February 2022, the Amazon Brand Analytics database has a total of 335,989 keywords in the Database - We can recognize this by the number of lines displayed. For this reason, there are many keywords that, although they are regularly searched for on Amazon, are not displayed in Brand Analytics.

As an example, let's take a look at the Search terms for the keyword "electric fireplace" in February 2022.

Backend Keywords Tool

In this screenshot we can see that there are 11 Word combinations with the keyword "electric fireplace" that have an SFR for the period February 2022. These keywords are now an initial evaluation of possible terms that we can use as Amazon backend keywords. In addition, other synonyms such as fireplace, electric fireplace etc. should be used in order to achieve the broadest possible Coverage of all terms to reach.

 

Keywords AmazonConclusion: 

Amazon Brand Analytics is one of the most powerful tools for researching & optimizing the Amazon backend keywords. On the one hand, the data comes directly from Amazon and on the other hand, it can also be analyzed in certain time periods (weekly, monthly, quarterly).

 

Get started on Amazon now

 

Amazon Product Opportunity Explorer

Let's move on to the second research tool for the Backend keywordswhich is also provided by Amazon - the Amazon Product Opportunity Explorer (POE). With the POE is actually a tool designed to help with the research of new product ideas. With the POE, Amazon gives sellers an insight into the search and purchasing behavior of Amazon customers - in contrast to Amazon Brand Analytics, we receive data on the actual search volume. The search volume is given on a 90- and 360-day basis.

We also receive information about the Growth in search volume, the number of units sold and the average price.

In the following example, we can see the search volume for terms containing the keyword "motorcycle helmet". The search term "motorcycle helmet" was searched for 23,690 times on Amazon in the last 90 days, which corresponds to a decrease of 39.5% compared to the previous quarter and 37.5% compared to the same quarter of the previous year. Backend Keywords Amazon Tool

 

In addition to the "Search terms" tab, the "Trends" tab offers further interesting insights into the current search volume.

Search volume keywords

It should be noted that the search volume is always displayed for 7 days and includes all terms in the "motorcycle helmet" niche - including terms such as "jethelm" "helm motorrad". However, this allows us to evaluate the current trends and the development of terms very well.

Conclusion: The POE is currently the only tool that provides reliable data on search volume and search volume trends. We therefore recommend using the POE for every evaluation of the Amazon backend keywords.

Ahrefs Amazon Keyword Tool

Next, let's move on to a tool that is offered by a third-party provider, in this case ahrefs. ahrefs is a Google seo tool that is particularly suitable for the Evaluation & Research of backlinks has become known.

The use of ahrefs is currently free of charge. The use of ahrefs is self-explanatory - first we select the respective country for which we want to evaluate the backend keywords, then we define the keyword to be analyzed and receive a selection of related search terms including an estimated search volume.

Keywords amazon

 

Conclusion: Ahrefs is a very helpful additional Source of information for search terms, as it is clearly more keywords than the Amazon Brand Analytics and the Amazon Product Opportunity Explorer. It should only be treated with a little caution when it comes to the specified search volume. 

Keyword tool

Another external keyword tool that we would like to introduce is keywordtool.io. keywordtool.io is based on the Auto-complete from Amazon and thus provides us with a detailed list of all related search terms for our source keyword. Keywordtool.io is very easy to use and does not require the creation of an account. First we select the Search engine and the target country for which we want to carry out the evaluation.

Keyword tool

 

Conclusion: Keywordtool.io can be used to extract a large number of long-tail keywords. Unfortunately, the search volume is not recommended at all, as this does not match the official Amazon data.

Sonar

Sonar is a further Amazon SEO tool. Sonar provides a database of keywords that are searched for on Amazon. Only Amazon is actually taken into account in order to optimize the Search behavior of the platform as accurately as possible. Sonar offers you the following four options for researching Amazon backend keywords.

Keyword: By entering a search term, we receive a list of "similar search terms". In practice, however, the output is more like Amazon Auto-Suggest, i.e. the keyword entered with popular additional search terms. The keyword list is sorted by search volume.

Expanded: 

With the option "Extended" we get synonyms and similar search terms. If you enter the search term "motorcycle helmet", you will receive suggestions such as "Vespa helmet" and "moped helmet". These are also sorted in descending order according to an estimate of the search volume.

ASIN:

The "ASIN" function gives us an insight into the search terms for which certain products appear in the first rankings. Search results page are placed. This makes it very quick and easy to analyze competitors' products in order to use their keywords as well.

To use the function, enter the ASIN of a product in the search field. Subsequently the list of positive keywords for the corresponding product appears, sorted by search volume.

Translate:

The Translate option can be used to generate keywords for other marketplaces and languages. Here we define the keyword, the marketplace and the language and receive a series of suggestions that can be used on the Foreign marketplace is intended. 

Conclusion: Currently, Sonar only displays a fraction of the possible terms in the free option (however, a CSV download gives us a larger number of keywords than those initially displayed). The "Advanced" & "ASIN" functions offer the main advantage over a tool such as Keywordtool.io.

Amazon backend keywords - Conclusion

The above rules and tips can be used to effectively optimize Amazon backend keywords in order to increase relevance for as many search queries as possible. The examples show in particular how many characters or bytes can be saved by a Optimization can be saved using the rules. In summary, the primary focus should be on the correct length of the Backend keywords and compliance with the guidelines of Amazon otherwise the indexing of the keywords is jeopardized. In the next step, it is worth applying the remaining rules to make the general search terms as efficient as possible and get the most out of the limited space.

NoteDo you need support with optimizing your backend keywords? Then we can help you as Amazon SEO Agency can help.

How many characters fit into the Amazon backend keywords?

Keywords with a total length of 249 bytes can be included in the Amazon backend keywords.

What are Amazon backend keywords?

Backend keywords or general keywords refer to a field in which keywords are entered. These keywords are not visible to customers.

Should comma characters be included in the backend keywords?

No! The use of commas reduces the space for the entered keywords.

Tobias Dziuba

My name is Tobias and I am the founder and managing director of the Amazon agency Adsmasters GmbH based in Düsseldorf.

Your registration could not be saved. Please try again.
Your registration was successful.
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader

Die Suchalgorithmen moderner Suchmaschinen berücksichtigen zwar zahlreiche Faktoren, jedoch bilden Keywords die Basis, wenn es um die Ermittlung der Relevanz für eine bestimmte Suchanfrage geht. Auch der A9-Algorithmus von Amazon funktioniert auf diese Weise: Er gleicht die Suchbegriffe einer Suchanfrage mit den Suchbegriffen der Produktlistings ab und gibt Produkte aus, deren Listings eine hohe Übereinstimmung mit den gesuchten Begriffen aufweisen. Relevante Keywords können bei Amazon im Titel, in den Bullet Points oder in den allgemeinen Suchbegriffen untergebracht werden. In diesem Beitrag werden wir uns ansehen, wie man die Amazon Backend-Keywords optimieren kann und welche Regeln es dabei zu beachten gibt.

Was sind Amazon Backend-Keywords?

Die Amazon Backend-Keywords, auch allgemeine Schlüsselwörter oder Suchbegriffe, werden im Gegensatz zum Titel und den Attributen eines Produktes nicht im Listing angezeigt, sondern im Backend gespeichert. Die dort hinterlegten Schlüsselwörter sind für potenzielle Kunden demnach nicht einsehbar. Sie werden, genauso wie die Keywords in Titel und Bullet-Points, von Amazons Algorithmus verwendet, um sie mit Suchanfragen abzugleichen. So wird die Relevanz des Produktes für bestimmte Suchanfragen bewertet.

Die Backend-Keywords können in der Bearbeitungsübersicht eines Produktes unter dem Tab Schlüsselwörter im Feld für allgemeine Suchbegriffe eingetragen werden. Die Reihenfolge der hinterlegten Suchbegriffe hat dabei keinen Einfluss auf die Einschätzung der Relevanz durch den Algorithmus. Das Eingabefeld ist jedoch auf 249 Bytes begrenzt.

Wofür sind Backend-Keywords sinnvoll?

Aus dem Grund, dass Backend-Keywords nicht öffentlich einsehbar sind, eignet sich dieses Feld ideal, um relevante Keywords unterzubringen, die nicht unbedingt im öffentlichen Listing zu sehen sein sollen. Dazu gehören beispielsweise verbreitete Schreibvarianten des Produktes (z.B. Portemonnaie vs. Portmonee). Auch stark umgangssprachliche Synonyme für ein Produkt sind im Backend häufig besser aufgehoben.

Hinzu kommt, dass Titel und Bullet Points nicht zwanghaft mit Keywords überladen werden sollten. Das Hauptaugenmerk sollte weiterhin auf der Verständlichkeit und dem Informationsgehalt der Texte für den Interessenten liegen. Dadurch kommt es vor, dass man nicht alle vorher recherchierten Keywords sinnvoll im Listings unterbringen kann. Auch in diesem Fall bietet das Feld für die Backend-Keywords meist ausreichend Platz, um die fehlenden relevanten Schlüsselwörter unterzubringen.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Backend-Keywords und Platinum-Keywords?

In der Produktbearbeitung befindet sich unter dem Tab Schlüsselwörter zusätzlich zu dem Feld für die Backend-Keywords noch ein weiteres Feld. Dieses ist für sogenannte Platinum-Schlüsselwörter reserviert. Diese haben jedoch nur eine Bedeutung für Amazon Platin Seller. Das Ausfüllen bringt für „normale“ Marktplatz-Seller keine Vorteile oder Verbesserungen im Ranking, da die Platin-Felder nicht indexiert werden.

Aus diesem Grund sollte immer darauf geachtet werden, dass die allgemeinen Suchbegriffe auch wirklich in das dafür vorgesehene Feld eingetragen werden. Sollten die Backend-Keywords versehentlich in das Feld für Platinum-Keywords eingefügt werden, werden diese ignoriert und gehen dementsprechend verloren.

 

Jetzt auf Amazon durchstarten

Amazon Backend-Keywords optimieren: Welche Regeln solltest du dabei beachten?

Wer seine Amazon Backend-Keywords optimieren möchte, sollte dabei einige Regeln beachten. Einige sind nützlich, damit der Platz für die allgemeinen Suchbegriffe optimal genutzt werden kann, während andere unumgänglich sind, um keinen Verstoß gegen die Richtlinien von Amazon zu riskieren. Auch die vollständige Indexierung der Schlüsselwörter steht damit in Zusammenhang.

Länge: Wie bereits erwähnt, ist das Feld für die allgemeinen Schlüsselwörter auf 249 Bytes begrenzt. Normalerweise akzeptiert Amazon keine längeren Einträge, sollte es jedoch trotzdem dazu kommen, dass die Länge der gespeicherten Keywords die 249 Bytes überschreiten, wird keines der eingetragenen Backend-Keywords bei der Indexierung berücksichtigt. Dieser Fall kann beispielsweise eintreten, wenn Amazon wie in der Vergangenheit das Feld nachträglich weiter begrenzt. Um einen Verlust relevanter Keywords zu vermeiden, solltest du dich über Veränderungen dieser Art stets auf dem Laufenden halten und falls nötig entsprechende Anpassungen vornehmen.

Zeichen sind nicht gleich Bytes: Eine wichtige Ergänzung zum Thema Länge der Backend-Keywords ist, dass Bytes gerne mit Zeichen verwechselt werden. Während viele Zeichen auch genau einem Byte entsprechen, nehmen beispielsweise Umlaute gleich zwei Bytes in Anspruch. Bei der Bestimmung der Länge sollte daher ein Zähler verwendet werden, der nicht nur Zeichen, sondern auch Bytes zählt. Einen solchen Byte-Counter findest du hier.

Markennennungen: Innerhalb der Backend-Keywords dürfen weder Fremdmarken noch die eigene Marke genannt werden. Der ideale Platz für den Markennamen eines Produktes ist laut Amazon Styleguides ohnehin im Titel, am besten an erster Stelle.

ASIN-Nennung: Ebenso wie Markennamen sind auch ASINs in den Backend-Keywords nicht gestattet. Auch auf andere Artikelnummern, wie EAN- oder UPC-Codes sollte verzichtet werden.

Satzzeichen: Satzzeichen sind innerhalb der allgemeinen Suchbegriffe nicht notwendig. Die einzelnen Begriffe können einfach mit einem Leerzeichen getrennt werden. Zusätzliche Satzzeichen minimieren nur den ohnehin schon begrenzten Platz. Eine Ausnahme bildet der Bindestrich, doch dazu kommen wir noch.

Reihenfolge: Die Reihenfolge der Suchbegriffe spielt ebenso wie der Abstand zwischen zwei Begriffen keine Rolle bei der Indexierung. Für die Suchanfrage „mantel schwarz“ wird also sowohl ein Produkt mit den Backend-Keywords „schwarz mantel“ als auch mit „mantel dick winter lang schwarz“ als relevant eingestuft. Das Berücksichtigen verschiedener Keyword-Reihenfolgen führt lediglich zu vielen Wiederholungen und somit zu Platzverschwendung.

Wiederholungen: Dies führt uns zum nächsten Punkt. Häufig werden in den Backend-Keywords die wichtigsten Keywords aus dem Listing noch einmal wiederholt. Dies führt jedoch zu keiner Steigerung der Relevanz und reduziert lediglich den Platz für sinnvolle Schlüsselwörter. Bei der Optimierung der allgemeinen Suchbegriffe sollte daher immer darauf geachtet werden, dass die genannten Begriffe nicht bereits im Titel oder den Attributen vorkommen. Auch Wiederholungen innerhalb der Backend-Keywords sind zu vermeiden.

Füllwörter: Füll- und Stoppwörter, wie beispielsweise „mit“, „für“, „das“ oder „und“ werden bei der Indexierung nicht beachtet und sollten daher weggelassen werden, um Platz zu sparen.

Groß- und Kleinschreibung: Ob Schlüsselwörter groß oder klein geschrieben werden, spielt innerhalb der Backend-Keywords keine Rolle. Amazon empfiehlt alle Begriffe klein zu schreiben.

Rechtschreibfehler: Kleine Rechtschreibfehler in der Suchanfrage erkennt Amazon automatisch und zeigt stattdessen relevante Ergebnisse für die Suchanfrage an, die wahrscheinlich gemeint war. Aus diesem Grund ist es nicht nötig Rechtschreibfehler oder Tippfehler in die allgemeinen Schlüsselwörter aufzunehmen. Beliebte Schreibvarianten können hingegen aufgenommen werden.

Singular & Plural: Um einen Suchbegriff abzudecken, reicht es aus, den Begriff entweder in seiner Singular- oder Pluralform in die Backend-Keywords aufzunehmen. Beides zu berücksichtigen hat keine Auswirkungen auf die Relevanz für eine Suchanfrage. Die Singularform ist häufig etwas platzsparender als der Plural.

Guidelines beachten: Zusätzlich gibt es einige Richtlinien von Amazon, die unbedingt eingehalten werden sollten, um Verstöße und somit den Ausschluss der Suchbegriffe und weitere Strafen zu vermeiden. Beleidigende und anstößige Begriffe gehören selbstverständlich nicht in die Backend-Keywords. Ebenso sind keine subjektiven Angaben gestattet, dazu gehören Begriffe wie „schön“ oder „günstig“. Des Weiteren müssen zeitlich begrenzte Begriffe, wie „neu“ oder „im Angebot“ vermieden werden.

Bindestrich: Zum Schluss folgt noch ein praktischer Tipp, um möglichst viele relevante Keywords so platzsparend wie möglich unterzubringen. Dazu werden Begriffe, die man sowohl zusammen als auch getrennt schreiben kann, mit einem Bindestrich in die allgemeinen Suchbegriffe eingefügt. Der Begriff „Felgen-Bürste“ deckt beispielsweise die Keywords „Felgenbürste“, „Felgen Bürste“, „Felgen“ und „Bürste“ ab.

Beispiele zur Optimierung der Amazon Backend-Keywords

Die folgende Tabelle zeigt anhand einiger Beispiele noch einmal beliebte Fehler innerhalb der allgemeinen Suchbegriffe sowie eine korrigierte Version. Zusätzlich werden die Regeln genannt, die missachtet wurden.

Falsch Richtig Regeln
futter für hund hund futter hund futter Füllwörter, Wiederholungen, Reihenfolge
mantel schwarz, schwarzer mantel, schwarze jacke mantel schwarz jacke
Reihenfolge, Satzzeichen, Wiederholungen
schöne tolle jacke bunt preiswert jacke bunt Subjektive Angaben
winter mantel wintermantel winter-mantel Bindestrich
portemonnaie portmonnaie portemonnai prtmonnaie geldbörse portmonee portemonnaie geldbörse portmonee Rechtschreibfehler
Tasse kaffeetasse Kaffee Teetasse tee kaffee-tasse tee-tasse Groß- und Kleinschreibung, Bindestrich
kopfhörer wettbewerbermarke1 wettbewerberASIN1 bluetooth wettbewerbermarke2 bluetoothkopfhörer bluetooth-kopfhörer Markennennung, ASIN-Nennung, Bindestrich
reisetasche im sonderangebot kunstleder braun reisetasche kunstleder braun Zeitlich begrenzte Begriffe
spielzeug für katzen katze katzenspielzeug spielzeuge set katzen-spielzeug set Singular & Plural, Bindestrich
regenjacke blau regenjacke wasserdicht regenjacke warm regenjacke blau wasserdicht warm Wiederholungen, Reihenfolge (bzw. Wortabstand)

Amazon Backed Keywords Tools

Schauen wir uns als Nächstes einige Tools an, mit denen du Backend-Keywords recherchieren und optimieren kannst. Beginnen wollen wir hier mit einem Tool, welches uns Amazon zur Verfügung stellt, und zwar der Amazon Brand-Analytics.

Amazon Brand-Analytics zur Recherche von Backend-Keyword

Die Amazon Brand-Analytics ist ein Analyse-Tool, welches Amazon-Verkäufern mit einer registrierten Marke zur Verfügung steht. Mit der Amazon Brand-Analytics lässt sich die Popularität von Suchbegriffen in ausgewählten Zeiträumen analysieren. Dabei erhalten wir nicht das Suchvolumen als Ergebnis, sondern den sogenannten Suchfrequenz-Rang der die Popularität anhand der Suchfrequenz wiedergibt. Hier gilt, je häufiger ein Begriff gesucht wird, desto niedriger ist der Suchfrequenz-Rang.

Die Brand-Analytics kann sowohl von Vendoren als auch Sellern mit einer Markenregistrierung genutzt werden. Die Nutzung des Tools ist kostenlos.

Amazon backend keyword tool

So sehen wir im vorliegenden Beispiel, dass der Suchbegriff “Grafikkarte” im Februar 2022 der meistgesuchte Begriff war, gefolgt von “Valentinstag Geschenk für Ihn” mit einem SFR von 2 und Valentinstag Geschenk für Sie” mit einem SFR von 3.

Wenn wir im Suchfeld einen Begriff eintragen, dann erhalten wir eine Reihe an weiteren Keywords, die in diesem Zeitraum einen SFR haben. Wichtig nachzuvollziehen ist, dass dabei nicht alle Begriffe abgedeckt werden – für den Monat Februar 2022 hat die Datenbank der Amazon Brand-Analytics insgesamt 335.989 Keywords in der Datenbank – dies erkennen wir an der Anzahl der angezeigten Zeilen. Aus diesem Grund gibt es sehr viele Keywords, die, obwohl diese regelmäßig bei Amazon gesucht werden, in der Brand-Analytics nicht angezeigt werden.

Schauen wir uns als Beispiel die Suchbegriffe für das Keyword “Elektrokamin” im Februar 2022 an.

Backend Keywords Tool

Im vorliegenden Screenshot können wir sehen, dass es 11 Wortkombinationen mit dem Keyword “Elektrokamin” gibt, die einen SFR für den Zeitraum Februar 2022 haben. Diese Keywords sind nun eine erste Auswertung von möglichen Begriffen, die wir als Amazon Backend-Keywords nutzen können. Zusätzlich sollten weitere Synonyme, wie Kamin, elektrischer Kamin etc. genutzt werden, um eine möglichst breite Abdeckung aller Begriffe zu erreichen.

 

Keywords AmazonFazit: 

Amazon Brand-Analytics ist eines der stärksten Tools zur Recherche & Optimierung der Amazon-Backend-Keywords. Einerseits sind es Daten, die direkt von Amazon kommen und andererseits können diese auch noch in bestimmten zeitlichen Abschnitten (wöchentlich, monatlich, Quartalsweise) ausgewertet werden.

 

Jetzt auf Amazon durchstarten

 

Amazon Product-Opportunity-Explorer

Kommen wir zum zweiten Recherche-Tool für die Backend-Keywords, welches ebenfalls von Amazon zur Verfügung gestellt wird – dem Amazon Product-Opportunity-Explorer (POE). Beim POE handelt es sich eigentlich um ein Tool, das bei der Recherche von neuen Produktideen helfen soll. Amazon gibt mit dem POE Verkäufern einen Einblick in das Such- und Kaufverhalten der Amazon Kunden – hier erhalten wir, im Gegensatz zur Amazon Brand-Analytics, Daten zum tatsächlichen Suchvolumen. Das Suchvolumen wird dabei auf 90- und 360-Tage Basis angegeben.

Zusätzlich erhalten wir Informationen über das Wachstum des Suchvolumens, die Anzahl der verkauften Einheiten sowie den Durchschnittspreis.

So sehen wir im folgenden Beispiel das Suchvolumen für Begriffe, die das Keyword “Motorradhelm” beinhalten. Der Suchbegriff Motorradhelm wurde in den vergangenen 90 Tagen insgesamt 23.690 mal bei Amazon gesucht, was einer Abnahme von 39,5% zum Vorquartal und 37,5% zum Vorjahresquartal entspricht. Backend Keywords Amazon Tool

 

Neben dem Reiter “Suchbegriffe” bietet der Reiter “Trends” weitere interessante Insights zum aktuellen Suchvolumen.

Suchvolumen Keywords

Dabei sollte beachtet werden, dass das Suchvolumen immer für 7 Tage angezeigt wird und sämtliche Begriffe der Nische “Motorradhelm” beinhaltet – also auch Begriffe, wie “jethelm” “helm motorrad”. Wir können so aber sehr schön die aktuellen Trends und die Entwicklung von Begriffen auswerten.

Fazit: Der POE ist das aktuell einzige Tool, welches verlässliche Daten zum Suchvolumen und zu den Suchvolumen-Trends wiedergibt. Daher empfehlen wir die Nutzung des POE bei jeder Auswertungen der Amazon Backend-Keywords.

Ahrefs Amazon Keyword Tool

Kommen wir als Nächstes zu einem Tool, welches von einem Drittanbieter, in diesem Fall ahrefs angeboten wird. Bei ahrefs handelt es sich um ein Google-Seo Tool, welches insbesondere für die Auswertung & Recherche von Backlinks bekannt geworden ist.

Aktuell ist die Nutzung von ahrefs kostenfrei möglich. Die Anwendung von ahrefs ist selbsterklärend – zuerst wählen wir das jeweilige Land aus, für das wir die Backend-Keywords auswerten wollen, daraufhin definieren wir das zu analysierende Keyword und erhalten eine Auswahl an verwandten Suchbegriffen inkl. eines geschätzten Suchvolumens.

Keywords amazon

 

Fazit: Ahrefs ist eine sehr hilfreiche weitere Informationsquelle für Suchbegriffe, da es deutlich mehr Keywords enthält als die Amazon Brand-Analytics und der Amazon product-Opportunity-Explorer. Es sollte nur beim angegebenen Suchvolumen mit etwas Vorsicht behandelt werden. 

Keywordtool

Ein weiteres externes Keyword-Tool, welches wir vorstellen wollen, ist keywordtool.io. Keywordtool.io basiert auf der Auto-Vervollständigung von Amazon und liefert uns so eine ausführliche Liste aller verwandten Suchbegriffe unseres Ausgangs-Keywords. Die Nutzung von Keywordtool.io ist sehr einfach und ohne Account-Erstellung möglich. Zuerst wählen wir die Suchmaschine und das Zielland aus, für welches wir die Auswertung durchführen wollen.

Keywordtool

 

Fazit: Keywordtool.io kann dazu genutzt werden, eine Vielzahl an Longtail-Keywords zu extrahieren. Das Suchvolumen ist dabei leider überhaupt nicht zu empfehlen, da dies mit den offiziellen Amazon-Daten nicht übereinstimmt.

Sonar

Bei Sonar handelt es sich um ein weiteres Amazon SEO-Tool. Dabei stellt Sonar eine Datenbasis an Keywords zur Verfügung, nach denen bei Amazon gesucht wird. Berücksichtigt wird dabei tatsächlich nur Amazon, um das Suchverhalten der Plattform möglichst genau abzubilden. Sonar bietet dir folgende vier Optionen für die Recherche der Amazon-Backend-Keywords.

Keyword: Durch die Eingabe eines Suchbegriffs erhalten wir eine Liste „ähnlicher Suchbegriffe“. In der Praxis erhält man jedoch vielmehr eine Ausgabe wie durch Amazon Auto-Suggest, also das eingegebene Keyword mit beliebten zusätzlichen Suchbegriffen. Die Keyword-Liste ist nach dem Suchvolumen sortiert.

Erweitert: 

Mit der Option “Erweitert” erhalten wir Synonyme und ähnliche Suchbegriffe. Bei Eingabe des Suchbegriffs „Motorradhelm“ erhält man beispielsweise Vorschläge wie “Vespa Helm“ und „Mopedhelm“. Diese sind ebenfalls nach einer Einschätzung des Suchvolumens absteigend sortiert.

ASIN:

Die Funktion “ASIN” gibt uns einen Einblick, für welche Suchbegriffe bestimmte Produkte auf der ersten Suchergebnisseite platziert sind. So lassen sich sehr schnell und einfach Produkte von Wettbewerbern analysieren, um deren Keywords ebenfalls zu verwenden.

Um die Funktion zu nutzen, wird die ASIN eines Produktes in das Suchfeld eingegeben. Anschließend erscheint die Liste der positiven Keywords für das entsprechende Produkt, sortiert nach Suchvolumen.

Translate:

Mit der Option Translate können Keywords für andere Marktplätze und Sprachen generiert werden. Hier definieren wir das Keyword, den Marktplatz sowie die Sprache und erhalten so eine Reihe an Vorschlägen, die für die Nutzung auf dem Auslandsmarktplatz bestimmt ist. 

Fazit: Aktuell gibt Sonar in der kostenlosen Option nur einen Bruchteil der möglichen Begriffe wieder (jedoch erhalten wir durch einen CSV Download eine größere Anzahl an Keywords, als die die Initial angezeigt werden) . Die Funktionen “Erweitert” & “ASIN” bieten dabei den wesentlichen Vorteil gegenüber einem Tool wie Keywordtool.io.

Amazon Backend-Keywords – Fazit

Mit den genannten Regeln und Tipps lassen sich effektiv die Amazon Backend-Keywords optimieren, um die Relevanz für möglichst viele Suchanfragen zu steigern. Anhand der Beispiele wird insbesondere deutlich, wie viele Zeichen bzw. Bytes sich durch eine Optimierung anhand der Regeln sparen lassen. Zusammengefasst sollte primär auf die richtige Länge der Backend-Keywords und die Einhaltung der Richtlinien von Amazon geachtet werden, da ansonsten die Indexierung der Keywords gefährdet ist. Im nächsten Schritt lohnt es sich, die restlichen Regeln anzuwenden, um die allgemeinen Suchbegriffe so effizient wie möglich zu gestalten und das bestmögliche aus dem begrenzten Platz herauszuholen.

Hinweis: Benötigst du Unterstützung bei Optimierung deiner Backend-Keywords? Dann können wir dir als Amazon SEO Agentur weiterhelfen.

Wie viele Zeichen passen in die Amazon Backend-Keywords?

Insgesamt können Keywords mit einer Länge von 249 Bytes in den Amazon Backend-Keywords eingebaut werden.

Was sind Amazon Backend-Keywords?

Backend-Keywords oder auch allgemeine Schlüsselwörter bezeichnen ein Feld, in welches Keywords eingetragen werden. Diese Keywords sind für Kunden nicht ersichtlich.

Sollen Komma-Zeichen in den Backend-Keywords eingebaut werden?

Nein! Die Nutzung von Kommazeichen reduziert den Platz für die eingetragenen Keywords.