Skip to main content
Visit us at the eCommerce Day in Cologne on April 26. Grab a ticket & arrange a free Amazon Account Check!

One of the biggest changes for Facebook advertisers is the Campaign Budget Optimization Update, which is due to be introduced in September 2019. As the update will have a major impact on how advertising campaigns are structured in advertising accounts, in today's article I would like to explain the topic of Campaign Budget Optimization introduce.

What is Campaign Budget Optimization?

When creating a Facebook campaign, it has always been common practice to distribute the available budget at ad group level. A campaign had several ad groups and each ad group received a budget defined for it. 

With the Campaign Budget Optimization (CBO) function, the option of allocating a separate budget to each ad group will be abolished. As CBO will be the standard budget allocation functionality from September 2019, budgets can now only be defined at campaign level. Facebook will then decide independently which budget is allocated to which ad groups. Facebook will allocate the largest share of the budget to the ad groups that are likely to achieve the best results for the campaign objective. 

The CBO function has been available in the vast majority of advertising accounts since last year and can already be used there.

What advantages does CBO offer?

The big advantage of CBO is that the user-defined budget allocation at ad group level is eliminated and Facebook determines for the advertiser which ad groups are best suited to achieve the desired results. 

Of course, CBO only makes sense if there is more than one ad group in a campaign, otherwise the total budget is still available for this ad group alone. 

How can I use CBO now?

When creating a new Facebook campaign, you can activate the use of CBO even before the mandatory launch:

Campaign Budget Optimization

What should be considered when using CBO?

When CBO is activated, the campaign budget is rigorously distributed to the ad groups that are likely to achieve the best values. 

It is also important to ensure that custom audiences do not compete with core and lookalike audiences for the budget in a campaign. This is because custom audiences generally achieve the best results and therefore hardly any budget is spent on lookalike and core audience ad groups. It is therefore worth bundling custom audiences in a separate campaign. 

Workaround - if you do not want to use a CBO

There are many plausible reasons for not wanting to use CBO. Since CBO will be introduced as standard in September 2019, as explained above, the question arises as to whether the function can be bypassed afterwards. As far as I know, there are currently 2 workarounds to avoid CBO.

  1. Moving ad groups to campaign level: The obvious intention here is that each ad group to be defined simply becomes an independent campaign that is only one ad group. This means that optimization takes place at campaign level and no longer at ad group level. However, the disadvantage is also clear: for ad accounts with many ad groups, it quickly becomes very confusing. 
  2. The second method is to allocate a minimum and a maximum budget to each ad group, which is spent by Facebook. In this way, we prevent individual ad groups from hardly participating in the budget.

Minimum and maximum budgets are defined in the Budget & Schedule section for the ad group level - as you can see in the following graphic:

Spending limits Facebook campaign

Conclusion on Campaign Budget Optimization

Since the launch of CBO last fall, I have been using CBO very successfully in most ad accounts. Experience has shown that CBO works particularly well in ad accounts that have a lot of pixel data. If you want to use CBO, you should make sure that you create a separate campaign at least for the budget allocation of Custom Audiences, otherwise the budget will be used one-sidedly in favor of Custom Audience ad groups.

Tobias Dziuba

My name is Tobias and I am the founder and managing director of the Amazon agency Adsmasters GmbH based in Düsseldorf.

Your registration could not be saved. Please try again.
Your registration was successful.
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader

Eine der größten Neuerungen für Facebook-Werbetreibende ist das Campaign Budget Optimization Update, das im September 2019 verpflichtend eingeführt werden soll. Da das Update einen großen Einfluss darauf haben wird, wie die Strukturierung der Werbekampagnen in den Werbekonten durchgeführt wird, möchte ich dir im heutigen Beitrag das Thema Campaign Budget Optimization vorstellen.

Was ist Campaign Budget Optimization?

Bei der Erstellung einer Facebook-Kampagne war es bisher immer üblich, das verfügbare Budget auf Anzeigengruppen-Ebene zu verteilen. Eine Kampagne verfügte über mehrere Anzeigengruppen und jede Anzeigengruppe erhielt ein für diese definiertes Budget. 

Mit der Funktion Campaign Budget Optimization (CBO) wird die Möglichkeit, jeder Anzeigengruppe ein separates Budget zuzusprechen, abgeschafft. Da ab September 2019 CBO die Standardfunktionalität der Budgetverteilung sein wird, können Budgets also nur noch auf Kampagnen-Ebene definiert werden. Facebook entscheidet dann selbstständig, welchen Anzeigengruppen welches Budget zugeteilt wird. Dabei vergibt Facebook den größten Anteil des Budgets an die Anzeigengruppen, die voraussichtlich die besten Ergebnisse für das Kampagnenziel erreichen. 

Schon seit letztem Jahr ist die CBO-Funktion in den allermeisten Werbe-Accounts verfügbar und kann dort bereits genutzt werden.

Welche Vorteile bietet CBO?

Der große Vorteil von CBO ist, dass die User-definierte Budget-Zuteilung auf Anzeigengruppen-Ebene entfällt und Facebook für den Werbenden ermittelt, welche Anzeigengruppen am besten geeignet sind, zu den gewünschten Ergebnissen zu führen. 

Selbstverständlich macht CBO nur dann Sinn, wenn in einer Kampagne auch mehr als nur eine Anzeigengruppe vorhanden ist, ansonsten steht das Gesamtbudget weiterhin dieser Anzeigengruppe allein zur Verfügung. 

Wie kann ich CBO schon jetzt nutzen?

Bei der Erstellung einer neuen Facebook-Kampagne kannst du die Nutzung von CBO auch schon vor der obligatorischen Einführung aktivieren:

Campaign Budget Optimization

Was sollte bei der Nutzung von CBO beachtet werden?

Wenn CBO aktiviert ist, wird das Kampagnenbudget rigoros an die Anzeigengruppen verteilt, die voraussichtlich die besten Werte erzielen. 

Es ist außerdem darauf zu achten, dass Custom Audiences nicht mit Core- und Lookalike- Audiences in einer Kampagne um das Budget konkurrieren. Dies liegt darin begründet, dass Custom Audiences in der Regel die besten Ergebnisse erzielen und so kaum Budgetanteile für Lookalike und Core Audience-Anzeigengruppen ausgegeben werden. Deshalb lohnt es sich, Custom Audiences in einer separaten Kampagne zu bündeln. 

Workaround wenn du keine CBO nutzen möchtest

Es gibt viele plausible Gründe, wieso man keine CBO nutzen möchte. Da CBO, wie oben ausgeführt, im September 2019 als Standard eingeführt wird, stellt sich die Frage, ob die Funktion danach umgangen werden kann. Meines Wissens gibt es aktuell 2 Workarounds, um CBO zu vermeiden.

  1. Anzeigengruppen verschieben auf Kampagnen-Ebene: Die offensichtliche Absicht ist hier, dass jede zu definierende Anzeigengruppe einfach eine eigenständige Kampagne wird, die eben nur eine Anzeigengruppe enthält. Damit erfolgt die Optimierung auf Kampagnen- und nicht mehr auf Anzeigengruppen-Ebene. Der Nachteil ist allerdings auch klar: Bei Ad-Accounts mit vielen Anzeigengruppen wird es sehr schnell sehr unübersichtlich. 
  2. Die zweite Methode besteht darin, jeder Anzeigengruppe ein Mindest- und ein Maximalbudget zuzusprechen, das von Facebook ausgegeben wird. So verhindern wir, dass einzelne Anzeigengruppen kaum am Budget beteiligt werden.

Mindest- und Maximalbudget werden im Abschnitt Budget & Zeitplan für die Anzeigengruppen-Ebene definiert – wie du es in der folgenden Grafik sehen kannst:

Ausgabelimits Facebook Kampagne

Fazit zur Campaign Budget Optimization

Seit dem Start von CBO im vergangenen Herbst nutze ich in den meisten Ad-Accounts CBO bereits sehr erfolgreich. Erfahrungsgemäß funktioniert CBO insbesondere in den Ad-Accounts gut, die über zahlreiche Pixel-Daten verfügen. Wenn du CBO nutzen möchtest, solltest du darauf achten, dass du zumindest für die Budgetzuteilung von Custom Audiences eine separate Kampagne erstellst, da es sonst zu einer einseitigen Budgetnutzung zugunsten von Custom Audience-Anzeigengruppen kommt.

Campaign Budget Optimization
5 (100%) 1 vote[s]