Skip to main content
Visit us at the eCommerce Day in Cologne on April 26. Grab a ticket & arrange a free Amazon Account Check!

Amazon has succeeded in transforming itself from a bookseller into the largest online mail order company of the 21st century. In 2021, Amazon generated an annual turnover of 469.82 billion US dollars - infallible proof of the company's resounding success. The e-commerce giant's positive development is due to its focus on its customers.

Over the years, Amazon has taken various measures to guarantee customer safety and satisfaction. For example, there is excellent buyer protection, express delivery, a sophisticated algorithm and the Amazon Buy Box. This tool enables customers to add products to their shopping cart with a single click or to make a purchase directly.

The principle is as simple as it is ingenious and is more than well received by customers. After all, the shopping cart field makes it easier to use and contributes to a good shopping experience. But retailers also benefit from this tool. This is because the Buy Box winner receives an average of 9 out of 10 orders and thus records record-breaking profits.

So if you want to prevail against the strong competition on Amazon and keep your sales volume at a high level, then you should conquer the Buy Box. We explain how this works in the following article!

What exactly is the Amazon BuyBox?

Amazon is a platform that offers countless products from all categories. You will always find what you are looking for at the online mail order company. The items are available from different retailers in different versions. However, there are also resellers who offer the same item on Amazon. While there are no restrictions on the number of resellers, retailers have to share a product detail page with the same product.

If the customer is now interested in the relevant product, they are directed to the product detail page, which contains further information. On the right-hand side of the page is a small white box - the Amazon Buy Box. The box provides the user with information on shipping, retailer and price. The buttons marked in yellow represent the shopping cart field and the buy now button. If the customer decides to make a purchase, they press one of these buttons and automatically select the winner of the Buy Box.

Why is the Amazon BuyBox important for retailers?

The Amazon Buy Box is permanently linked to a retailer. All sales that are made via the Product detail page integrated box are forwarded directly to the Buy Box Champion. Other resellers only receive orders if the Amazon user selects another seller. This overview list of all sellers can be found below the Buy Box, but very few buyers actually take advantage of this offer.

This option is only known to very few users and is therefore rarely used. Other buyers trust Amazon blindly and assume that the shipping giant will select the best option. So if you want to sell your products as an Amazon retailer, the Buy Box should be your main goal.

The mobile BuyBox

Google's Panda update in February 2011 officially ushered in the era of smartphones. Under the motto "Mobile First", search engines and online stores have been optimizing their services for users of smartphones, tablets and the like ever since. After all, the proportion of e-commerce traffic from mobile devices has increased steadily in recent years. Search queries and purchases are increasingly being made on the move, making mobile devices the most important tool for online shopping.

Amazon is also feeling the effects of these developments:

  • There has been a continuous increase in access to the Amazon website via mobile devices.
  • Desktop users are decreasing.
  • The popularity of the Amazon app is steadily increasing.
  • In the 25 to 34 age group, around 14 million people use their smartphone exclusively for online shopping.

These facts and figures underline the importance of mobile users. And Amazon has already taken steps to win over this high-revenue target group. In order to improve the user experience for mobile and tablet users, the Buy Box was also incorporated into the mobile version a few years ago. In contrast to the desktop version, the feature is displayed directly below the product image. The call-to-action catches the user's eye and increases the likelihood of a sale.

Other sellers are not displayed on the smartphone or tablet. The retailer who claims the Amazon Buy Box is therefore the absolute top dog. As the majority of customers make their purchases via mobile devices, the Buy Box profit is the key to your e-commerce success.

How does a seller receive the Amazon BuyBox?

If you sell your own products via Amazon, you do not automatically take part in the Buy Box prize draw. You must fulfill a number of requirements that demonstrate your competence as a seller:

  • You have a Professional account.
  • You have been registered as a seller with Amazon for at least three months.
  • You offer new items.
  • The products are available for sale at short notice.
  • Your price is based on the average price of the past few weeks.

Mostly automatic for private label retailers

Private label sellers have a decisive advantage: they are the only supplier of a product and therefore do not have to compete. They win the Buy Box without any effort if they meet the requirements of the online mail order business.

Resellers, on the other hand, are less fortunate. They get into the ring with other sellers of the same product and have to prove that they deserve the Buy Box. If you lose the battle, as a reseller you have to hope that customers will look for you directly.

What factors play a role in the awarding of the Amazon BuyBox?

The number of resellers is large. In Germany alone, Amazon has more than 400,000 sales partners who actively sell their products on the platform. Amazon relies on an algorithm to decide who gets the honor of the Buy Box. This is made up of various factors that all have one thing in common: They are aimed at customer satisfaction.

Recommended seller status

To become the owner of the shopping cart field, the seller status plays a decisive role. Be sure to contact the Amazon Business Development Team and inquire about your status within the community. It is quite possible that you will be promoted directly to recommended buyer based on your potential sales volume. If you are not offered verification immediately, you will have to prove your skills as a reseller: A positive sales record over a period of three months guarantees you the much sought-after status.

The price

The lower the price, the higher the probability of becoming a Buy Box winner - that's not how the Amazon algorithm works. The price should be competitive and not greatly exceed the average. Nevertheless, Amazon's main focus is on the overall seller performance, which is influenced by the price.

The availability

Another decisive factor is availability. Express delivery is the order of the day at Amazon; short delivery times and maximum convenience are very important to Amazon. In the best case scenario, the goods should be in the hands of the customer within 24 hours of the order being placed. As a result, resellers only have a chance of getting the Buy Box if the products are available at all times.

Customer satisfaction

As already mentioned, Amazon's main focus is on customer satisfaction. This can be checked using various factors:

  • POP: The Perfect Order Percentage reflects orders with smooth processing.
  • ODR: The Order Defect Rate provides information about the orders that have received negative customer feedback, a chargeback or a warranty claim.
  • PFCR: The pre-fulfillment cancellation rate is an indication of poor inventory management, as orders are canceled before they are shipped.
  • LSR: The late ship rate contradicts Amazon's principle that orders are ready for dispatch within 2-3 working days.
  • POR: The abbreviation stands for Percentage of Orders refunded and allows conclusions to be drawn about the rate of credit notes.

The customer status

However, not only the seller status, but also the customer's status is one of the biggest influencing factors in the race for the Buy Box. It is therefore helpful to make your own product range particularly appealing to Prime customers, as they have a high position in the Amazon customer hierarchy. At the same time, as a seller you should take care of the well-being of "normal users" and offer attractive services.

Rate of late deliveries

If resellers attract negative attention, this reflects badly on Amazon. For this reason, the e-commerce giant has introduced a quota for late deliveries. If the 4 percent limit of deliveries that are at least three days overdue is exceeded, your reputation and your chances of success on the Amazon Buy Box will suffer.

Contact reaction time

In times of digitalization, a fast response time is an absolute must. Customers expect a quick response to questions, otherwise they will move on to the next seller account. Amazon therefore requires its sales partners to respond to messages and inquiries within 24 hours.

Shipping method and shipping time

Preferred status is given to retailers who enter into a cooperation with Amazon. Delivery is handled by the online mail order company itself, making the platform more secure and reliable. The prospects for FBA offers are therefore bright.

Product condition

The Amazon Buy Box is limited to retailers who offer new goods. B-goods and used products are excluded from the outset.

Order volume

It is also only possible to calculate your sales performance if you have a certain order volume. If you only list a few purchases per month, you should put the Amazon Buy Box out of your mind.

Is it possible to lose the BuyBox again as a retailer?

If you have been able to claim the shopping cart field for yourself, don't rest on your laurels. Because this privilege can quickly be taken away from you. You need to make sure that your performance is consistently high and that customer satisfaction is kept at a constant level.

Nevertheless, it is common for retailers to lose the shopping cart field to the competition. To use the Buy Box algorithm in your favor again, you can improve your delivery time and prices and optimize your service. More positive customer reviews will help you rise in the rankings. If this is not enough, you should compare yourself with the current Bux Box winner. In which area does he perform better than you?

It is also possible for several resellers to share the Buy Box. Depending on the location, one reseller may have the edge and offer customers in a particular region better conditions.

Useful tips for a better BuyBox quota

There is no recipe for success on Amazon, as the many competitors mean that you always have to fight hard for your own top position. However, you can influence the BuyBox quota with a few tips and tricks:

  1. Planning: Sophisticated inventory management means that your items are always in stock. Amazon attaches great importance to an up-to-date inventory.
  2. Focus: Put the customer's needs at the center of your activity. Only through excellent customer service and high product quality can returns and cancellations be avoided.
  3. Communication: No master has ever fallen from the sky - mistakes happen! It is important to inform customers about delivery bottlenecks or staff shortages at an early stage.

Important tools for Amazon sellers

Amazon sellers can counter the strong competitive pressure and high demands with practical tools. The programs support the daily work of sellers and relieve them of a large part of their workload.

With the help of the repricing tool, providers can, for example, monitor the price development of their own product groups. The practical tool constantly checks the current market situation and informs the reseller of price adjustments in a matter of seconds. This prevents the reseller's own prices from being above the average - an important criterion for winning the Buy Box.

Buy Box Amazon pricing strategies: Manual vs. rule-based vs. algorithmic

It has been a popular pricing method for many sellers to lower their prices below their competitors to increase their chances of winning the Buy Box. However, this does not always lead to higher profits, the reasons for this are explained below.

There are three methods used by Amazon to generate new prices:

  1. Manual
  2. Rule-based
  3. Algorithmic

1. manual renewal of prices

Manually changing prices means manually updating the prices for each ASIN.

It is an ideal option for sellers of handmade or unique goods, but proves to be inefficient for sellers of competitive products. As your business grows, this method is considered unsustainable.

2. rule-based renewal of prices

With rule-based price renewal, the competitor prices are checked and the prices are adjusted according to predefined rules. For example, you can set a rule that beats the competitor by a certain amount. This method is easier than manually adjusting prices, but it also has some major disadvantages:

  • Since only the prices of competitors are considered, it is limited in its options
  • Setting the rules is a time-consuming task and rules can conflict with each other, requiring constant monitoring

Sellers who use the rule-based approach often leave a lot of money lying around, as the approach is designed for price competition. In doing so, many sellers lose the advantage of being able to afford even higher prices due to their high seller metrics and still keep their share of the Buy Box. It also leads to price wars if all sellers constantly lower their prices, ultimately driving down profits for everyone.

3. algorithmic adjustment of prices

The algorithmic adjustment of prices is considered to be the most complex option.

In contrast to the rule-based approach, which only focuses on competitors' prices, the algorithmic approach takes into account all the factors that influence your chances of winning the Buy Box.

By monitoring a wide range of important factors, it ensures that you achieve the right balance between buy box share and profit. The data-driven approach has proven to deliver the highest ROI for retailers as it requires less effort and achieves better results.

However, this method of price change is the most expensive of all the options available and is therefore best suited to larger sellers who are already making a high profit.

Buy Box Alternatives

However, winning the Buy Box is not the only way to sell on Amazon.

The two other options are:

  1. Other sellers on Amazon
  2. The provider page

Even if they are not as profitable as the Buy Box, they will still give you a certain degree of visibility.

1. other sellers on Amazon

Directly below the Buy Box is a list of up to three entries. The sellers listed there must still fulfill the Buy Box requirements.

Even if they are not placed there as prominently as in the Buy Box, they still have a higher chance of conversion than those whose offers do not appear at all.

Frequently asked questions about the Amazon BuyBox

Is there a chance of getting the BuyBox if Amazon is the seller?

As a rule, Amazon owns the rights to the Buy Box when the platform itself acts as the seller. Despite all this, a marketplace seller is perfectly capable of claiming the privilege. The only requirement is to have a better seller performance than Amazon.

Is it possible to sell on Amazon without a BuyBox?

Yes, most retailers sell their products without a Buy Box. However, the feature increases sales opportunities and turnover many times over.

Is it possible to lose the BuyBox as a private label retailer/brand owner?

Various reasons can be responsible for losing the Buy Box as a private label retailer:

  1. The sales performance leaves a lot to be desired.
  2. The seller account has not been registered for 90 days.
  3. The product price is too high.

Can the Amazon BuyBox only be won with the Prime label?

The Fulfilment by Amazon label gives the seller a decisive advantage. However, it is not a prerequisite for claiming the shopping cart field.

What are the advantages of the BuyBox?

The visibility of your own products is growing rapidly, as the majority of customers make their purchases using the Buy Box. You receive 90 percent of the orders on your product page.

The bottom line - The Amazon BuyBox as a decisive factor for sales as a retailer

The Amazon Buy Box is justifiably referred to as the Holy Grail for resellers. If you are the registered retailer in the Buy Box, you will receive almost 100 percent of the incoming orders on the corresponding product detail page. Your main aim as an Amazon reseller should therefore be to fulfill the requirements and criteria of the Amazon algorithm in order to position yourself as a winner in the Buy Box. The repricing tool can help you to maintain your position. It is also important that your seller performance is impeccable at all times.

So much for the theory. Unfortunately, these principles are not so easy to put into practice. With our team of experts, we will actively support you and ensure that you receive the honor of the Amazon Buy Box. If you are looking for a suitable Buy Box for your sales activities on Amazon Amazon Agency then contact us today for an initial meeting.

What is the Amazon BuyBox?

The "BuyBox" is the box on the right-hand side of a product detail page. Customers can add the desired product to their shopping cart there.

Why is the BuyBox important for retailers?

The Amazon Buy Box is permanently linked to a retailer. All sales made via the box integrated on the product detail page are forwarded directly to the Buy Box Champion. Other resellers only receive orders if the Amazon user selects another seller. This overview list of all sellers can be found below the Buy Box, but very few buyers actually make use of this offer.

Tobias Dziuba

My name is Tobias and I am the founder and managing director of the Amazon agency Adsmasters GmbH based in Düsseldorf.

Your registration could not be saved. Please try again.
Your registration was successful.
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader

Skip to main content

Amazon ist es gelungen, sich von einem Buchhändler zum größten Onlineversandhändler des 21. Jahrhunderts zu entwickeln. Im Jahr 2021 erwirtschaftete Amazon einen Jahresumsatz von 469,82 Milliarden US-Dollar – ein unfehlbarer Beweis für den durchschlagenden Erfolg des Unternehmens. Verantwortlich für die positive Entfaltung des E-Commerce-Giganten ist der Fokus auf die Kundschaft.

Amazon hat im Laufe der Jahre verschiedene Maßnahmen ergriffen, um die Sicherheit und Zufriedenheit der Kunden zu garantieren. So gibt es zum Beispiel einen ausgezeichneten Käuferschutz, Expressversand, einen ausgeklügelten Algorithmus und die Amazon Buy Box. Dieses Tool ermöglicht es den Kunden, Produkte mit einem Klick in den Einkaufswagen zu legen oder direkt einen Kauf zu tätigen.

Das Prinzip ist so einfach wie genial und kommt bei der Kundschaft mehr als gut an. Schließlich stellt das Einkaufswagen-Feld eine Bedienungserleichterung dar und trägt zum guten Einkaufserlebnis bei. Doch auch die Händler profitieren von diesem Tool. Denn der Buy Box Gewinner erhält im Durchschnitt 9 von 10 Bestellungen und verzeichnet somit rekordverdächtige Gewinne.

Möchtest du dich also gegen die starke Konkurrenz auf Amazon durchsetzen und dein Umsatzvolumen auf einem hohen Niveau halten, dann solltest du die Buy Box erobern. Wie das funktioniert, erklären wir dir im folgenden Artikel!

Was genau ist die Amazon BuyBox?

Amazon ist eine Plattform, die unzählige Produkte aus sämtlichen Kategorien anbietet. Bei dem Onlineversandhändler wird man also immer fündig – egal, was man sucht. Die Artikel sind von unterschiedlichen Händlern in verschiedenen Ausführungen erhältlich. Darüber hinaus gibt es allerdings auch Reseller, die den gleichen Artikel auf Amazon anbieten. Während die Anzahl der Reseller keine Einschränkungen erfährt, müssen sich die Händler mit ein und demselben Produkt eine Produktdetailseite teilen.

Interessiert sich der Kunde nun für die entsprechende Ware, wird er auf die Produktdetailseite geleitet, die weiterführende Informationen enthält. Am rechten Seitenrand befindet sich ein kleiner, weißer Kasten – die Amazon Buy Box. Die Box liefert dem User Hinweise zum Versand, Händler und Preis. Die mit Gelb markierten Schaltflächen stellen das Einkaufswagenfeld und den Jetzt-kaufen-Button dar. Entscheidet sich der Kunde für den Kauf, betätigt er eine dieser Schaltflächen und wählt automatisch den Gewinner der Buy Box aus.

Warum ist die Amazon BuyBox für Händler wichtig?

Die Amazon Buy Box ist fest mit einem Händler verknüpft. Alle Verkäufe, die über den auf der Produktdetailseite integrierten Kasten laufen, werden direkt an den Buy Box Champion weitergeleitet. Andere Reseller erhalten nur dann Bestellungen, wenn der Amazon Nutzer einen anderen Verkäufer auswählt. Diese Übersichtsliste aller Anbieter findet sich unterhalb der Buy Box, doch tatsächlich greifen die wenigsten Käufer auf dieses Angebot zurück.

Diese Möglichkeit ist nämlich nur den wenigsten Usern bekannt und wird dementsprechend kaum genutzt. Andere Käufer vertrauen Amazon blind und gehen davon aus, dass der Versandriese die beste Option auswählt. Möchtest du also als Amazon-Händler deine Produkte an den Mann bringen, dann sollte die Buy Box dein Hauptziel sein.

Die mobile BuyBox

Mit dem Panda Update von Google wurde im Februar 2011 offiziell die Ära der Smartphones eingeleitet. Unter dem Motto „Mobile First“ optimieren Suchmaschinen und Online Shops ihre Dienstleistungen seitdem für die Nutzer von Smartphones, Tablets und Co. Schließlich nahm der Anteil des E-Commerce-Traffics durch mobile Endgeräte in den letzten Jahren beständig zu. Suchanfragen und Einkäufe werden immer häufiger von unterwegs getätigt, wodurch sich die mobilen Geräte zum wichtigsten Instrument fürs Online Shopping etabliert haben.

Diese Entwicklungen spürt auch Amazon:

  • Es wird ein kontinuierlicher Anstieg von Zugriffen auf die Amazon Webseite über mobile Endgeräte verzeichnet.
  • Die Desktop-Nutzer nehmen ab.
  • Die Beliebtheit der Amazon App nimmt beständig zu.
  • In der Altersgruppe von 25 bis 34 Jahren nutzen rund 14 Millionen Menschen ausschließlich das Smartphone für Online-Einkäufe.

Diese Zahlen und Fakten unterstreichen die hohe Bedeutsamkeit der Mobile-User. Und Amazon hat bereits Schritte eingeleitet, um diese umsatzstarke Zielgruppe für sich zu gewinnen. Um die User Experience für Handy- und Tablet-Nutzer zu verbessern, wurde die Buy Box vor einigen Jahren ebenfalls in die mobile Version eingepflegt. Im Gegensatz zur Desktop-Variante wird das Feature direkt unterhalb des Produktbildes angezeigt. Der Call-to-Action springt den Usern direkt ins Auge und erhöht die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines Verkaufsabschlusses.

Auf dem Smartphone oder dem Tablet werden weitere Verkäufer nicht angezeigt. Der Händler, der die Amazon Buy Box für sich beansprucht, ist somit der absolute Platzhirsch. Da die Mehrheit der Kunden ihre Einkäufe über mobile Endgeräte tätigen, ist der Buy Box Gewinn der Schlüssel zu deinem E-Commerce-Erfolg.

Wie erhält man als Verkäufer die Amazon BuyBox?

Vertreibst du deine eigenen Produkte über Amazon, nimmst du nicht automatisch an der Verlosung der Buy Box teil. Du musst einige Voraussetzungen erfüllen, die deine Kompetenz als Anbieter untermauern:

  • Du verfügst über ein Professional-Konto.
  • Du bist seit mindestens drei Monaten als Verkäufer bei Amazon registriert.
  • Du bietest Neuartikel an.
  • Die Produkte stehen kurzfristig zum Verkauf bereit.
  • Dein Preis orientiert sich am Durchschnittspreis der vergangenen Wochen.

Meist automatisch für Private Label Händler

Private-Label-Verkäufer haben einen entscheidenden Vorteil: Sie sind der einzige Anbieter eines Produktes und müssen dementsprechend nicht konkurrieren. Sie gewinnen die Buy Box ohne Anstrengung, wenn sie den Anforderungen des Onlineversandhandels entsprechen.

Reseller hingegen haben weniger Glück. Sie steigen mit den anderen Verkäufern des gleichen Produkts in den Ring und müssen unter Beweis stellen, dass sie die Buy Box verdient haben. Verlierst du den Kampf, musst du als Reseller darauf hoffen, dass Kunden direkt nach dir suchen.

Welche Faktoren spielen für die Vergabe der Amazon BuyBox eine Rolle?

Die Zahl der Reseller ist groß. Allein in Deutschland besitzt Amazon mehr als 400.000 Verkaufspartner, die ihre Produkte aktiv auf der Plattform vertreiben. Um zu entscheiden, wem die Ehre der Buy Box zuteil wird, vertraut Amazon auf einen Algorithmus. Dieser setzt sich aus verschiedenen Faktoren zusammen, die alle eine Gemeinsamkeit haben: Sie zielen auf die Kundenzufriedenheit ab.

Status als empfohlener Verkäufer

Um der Besitzer des Einkaufswagen-Feldes zu werden, spielt der Verkäuferstatus eine entscheidende Rolle. Kontaktiere auf jeden Fall das Amazon Business Development Team und erfrage deinen Stand innerhalb der Community. Denn es ist gut möglich, dass du aufgrund deines potenziellen Verkaufsvolumens direkt zum empfohlenen Käufer aufsteigst. Wird dir die Verifizierung nicht augenblicklich angeboten, musst du dein Können als Reseller unter Beweis stellen: Ein positiver Verkaufsapparat über drei Monate hinweg garantiert dir den heiß ersehnten Status.

Der Preis

Je niedriger der Preis, desto höher die Wahrscheinlichkeit Buy Box Gewinner zu werden – so funktioniert der Amazon Algorithmus nicht. Der Preis sollte konkurrenzfähig sein und den Durchschnitt nicht stark überschreiten. Nichtsdestotrotz liegt das Hauptaugenmerk von Amazon auf der gesamten Verkäuferleistung, die durch den Preis mit beeinflusst wird.

Die Verfügbarkeit

Ausschlaggebend ist zudem die eigene Verfügbarkeit. Expressversand steht bei Amazon auf der Tagesordnung; kurze Lieferzeiten und maximaler Komfort werden bei Amazon großgeschrieben. Die Ware sollte sich im besten Fall bereits 24 Stunden nach der Bestellung in den Händen des Kunden befinden. Infolgedessen hat man als Reseller nur eine Chance auf die Buy Box, wenn die Produkte zu jedem Zeitpunkt lieferbar sind.

Die Kundenzufriedenheit

Wie bereits erwähnt, liegt das Hauptaugenmerk von Amazon auf der Kundenzufriedenheit. Diese lässt sich durch verschiedene Faktoren überprüfen:

  • POP: Der Perfect Order Percentage spiegelt die Aufträge mit reibungslosem Ablauf wider.
  • ODR: Die Order Defect Rate gibt Aufschluss über die Bestellungen, die ein negatives Kundenfeedback, eine Rückbuchung oder einen Garantieantrag erhalten haben.
  • PFCR: Die Pre-fulfillment Cancellation Rate ist ein Indiz für mangelhaftes Bestandsmanagement, da die Aufträge bereits vor dem Versand storniert wurden.
  • LSR: Die Late Ship Rate widerspricht dem Grundsatz von Amazon, dass Bestellungen innerhalb von 2-3 Werktagen versandfertig sind.
  • POR: Das Kürzel steht für Percentage of Orders refunded und lässt Rückschlüsse über die Rate an Gutschriften zu.

Der Kundenstatus

Doch nicht nur der Verkäuferstatus, sondern auch der des Kunden gehört zu den größten Einflussfaktoren im Rennen um die Buy Box. So ist es hilfreich, das eigene Sortiment besonders Prime Kunden schmackhaft zu machen, da diese eine hohe Stellung in der Amazon-Kunden-Hierarchie besitzen. Gleichwohl solltest du dich als Verkäufer um das Wohl der „normalen Nutzer“ kümmern und attraktive Serviceleistungen bieten.

Rate verspäteter Auslieferungen

Fallen die Reseller negativ auf, wirft dies ein schlechtes Bild auf Amazon. Aus diesem Grund hat der E-Commerce-Gigant eine Quote für verspätete Auslieferungen ins Leben gerufen. Wird die 4-Prozent-Grenze an Lieferungen, die mindestens drei Tage überfällig sind, überschritten, leidet deine Reputation und deine Erfolgsaussicht auf die Amazon Buy Box.

Kontaktreaktionszeit

In Zeiten der Digitalisierung ist eine schnelle Reaktionszeit ein absolutes Muss. Kunden erwarten eine zügige Antwort auf Fragen, sonst wenden sie sich dem nächsten Seller Account zu. Amazon fordert dementsprechend von seinen Verkaufspartnern, innerhalb von 24 Stunden Nachrichten und Anfragen zu beantworten.

Versandmethode und Versanddauer

Einen bevorzugten Status erhalten die Händler, die eine Kooperation mit Amazon eingehen. Die Lieferung wird vom Onlineversandhaus höchstpersönlich übernommen, wodurch die Plattform an Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit gewinnt. Die Perspektiven der FBA-Angebote sind folglich rosig.

Produktzustand

Die Amazon Buy Box beschränkt sich auf Händler, die Neuware anbieten. B-Ware und gebrauchte Produkte werden im Vornherein ausgeschlossen.

Bestellvolumen

Die Errechnung deiner Verkaufsleistung ist außerdem nur möglich, wenn du über ein bestimmtes Bestellvolumen verfügst. Verzeichnest du pro Monat nur wenige Käufe, solltest du dir die Amazon Buy Box aus dem Kopf schlagen.

Kann man die BuyBox als Händler auch wieder verlieren?

Konntest du das Einkaufswagen-Feld für dich beanspruchen, darfst du dich auf keinen Fall auf die faule Haut legen. Denn dieses Privileg kann dir schnell entzogen werden. Du musst darauf achten, dass deine Performance beständig hoch ist und die Kundenzufriedenheit auf einem konstanten Level gehalten wird.

Dennoch ist es gang und gäbe, dass Händler das Einkaufswagen-Feld an die Konkurrenz verlieren. Um den Buy Box Algorithmus erneut zu deinen Gunsten zu nutzen, kannst du deine Lieferzeit und Preise verbessern und deinen Service optimieren. Mehr positive Kundenbewertungen lassen dich im Ranking aufsteigen. Ist dies noch nicht genug, solltest du dich mit dem aktuellen Bux Box Gewinner vergleichen. In welchem Bereich schneidet er besser ab als du?

Darüber hinaus ist es möglich, dass sich mehrere Reseller die Buy Box teilen. Abhängig vom jeweiligen Standort kann ein Händler die Nase vorn haben und der Kundschaft in einer bestimmten Region bessere Konditionen bieten.

Nützliche Tipps für eine bessere BuyBox-Quote

Auf Amazon gibt es kein Erfolgsrezept, denn durch die vielen Wettstreiter muss man sich die eigene Spitzenposition immer wieder hart erkämpfen. Mit einigen Tipps und Tricks lässt sich allerdings Einfluss auf die BuyBox-Quote nehmen:

  1. Planung: Durch ein ausgeklügeltes Bestandsmanagement sind deine Artikel stets vorrätig. Amazon legt großen Wert auf einen aktuellen Warenbestand.
  2. Fokus: Stelle die Bedürfnisse des Kunden in den Mittelpunkt deiner Aktivität. Nur durch einen ausgezeichneten Kundenservice und hohe Qualität der Produkte können Retouren und Stornos vermieden werden.
  3. Kommunikation: Es ist noch kein Meister vom Himmel gefallen – Fehler passieren! Wichtig ist, die Kunden frühzeitig über Lieferengpässe oder Personalausfälle zu informieren.

Wichtige Tools für Amazon Seller

Dem starken Konkurrenzdruck und den hohen Anforderungen können Amazon Seller mit praktischen Tools begegnen. Die Programme unterstützen die tägliche Arbeit der Verkäufer und nehmen ihnen einen Großteil der Aufgabenlast ab.

Mit der Hilfe des Repricing-Tools ist es Anbietern beispielsweise möglich, die Preisentwicklung der eigenen Warengruppen zu überwachen. Das praktische Werkzeug checkt beständig die aktuelle Marktlage und informiert den Reseller in Sekundenschnelle über Preisanpassungen. Somit kann vermieden werden, dass die eigenen Preise oberhalb des Durchschnitts liegen – ein wichtiges Kriterium, um die Buy Box zu gewinnen.

Buy Box Amazon Preisstrategien: Manuell vs. Regelbasiert vs. Algorithmisch

Für viele Verkäufer war es eine beliebte Preismethode, ihre Preise unter die ihrer Wettbewerber zu senken, um ihre Chancen auf die Buy Box zu erhöhen. Dies führt allerdings nicht immer zu höherem Profit, die Gründe dafür folgen unten.

Es gibt drei Methoden, um neue Preise zu generieren, die bei Amazon genutzt werden:

  1. Manuell
  2. Regelbasiert
  3. Algorithmisch

1. Manuelle Erneuerung der Preise

Manuelles Verändern der Preise bedeutet, die Preise für jede ASIN von Hand zu erneuern.

Es ist eine ideale Option für Verkäufer von handgemachten oder einzigartigen Waren, beweist sich aber als ineffizient für Verkäufer von kompetitiven Produkten. Wenn dein Geschäft wächst, wird diese Methode als unhaltbar betrachtet.

2. Regelbasierte Erneuerung der Preise

Beim regelbasierten Erneuern der Preise werden die Wettbewerbspreise geprüft und eine Anpassung der Preise nach vordefinierten Regeln durchgeführt. Du kannst z.B. eine Regel setzen, die den Wettbewerber mit einem bestimmten Betrag schlägt. Diese Methode ist einfacher als manuelles Anpassen der Preise, hat aber auch einige große Nachteile:

  • Da nur die Preise der Wettbewerber betrachtet werden, ist sie in ihren Möglichkeiten beschränkt
  • Die Regeln festzulegen ist eine zeitaufwändige Aufgabe und Regeln können miteinander in Konflikt geraten, was ständige Kontrollen erfordert

Verkäufer, die den regelbasierten Ansatz nutzen, lassen oft viel Geld liegen, da der Ansatz auf den Preis-Wettbewerb ausgelegt ist. Dabei verlieren viele Verkäufer den Vorteil, dass sie sich durch ihre hohen Verkäufer-Metriken sogar höhere Preise erlauben und trotzdem ihren Anteil an der Buy Box halten könnten. Außerdem führt es zu Preiskämpfen, wenn alle Verkäufer konstant ihre Preise senken und damit letztendlich den Profit für alle herunterfahren.

3. Algorithmische Anpassung der Preise

Das algorithmische Anpassung der Preise wird als die komplexeste Option angesehen.

Im Gegensatz zum regelbasierten Ansatz, der sich nur auf die Preise der Wettbewerber konzentriert, berücksichtigt der algorithmische Ansatz all die Faktoren, die deine Chancen beeinflussen, die Buy Box zu gewinnen.

Dadurch, dass ein großes Spektrum an wichtigen Faktoren beobachtet wird, wird sichergestellt, dass du die richtige Balance zwischen Buy Box Anteil und Profit erzielst. Der datengetriebene Ansatz hat bewiesen, den höchsten ROI für Händler zu liefern, da er weniger Aufwand benötigt und bessere Ergebnisse erzielt.

Diese Methode der Preisänderung ist allerdings die teuerste von allen verfügbaren Optionen und ist daher am besten geeignet für größere Verkäufer, die bereits hohen Profit erzielen.

Buy Box Alternativen

Die Buy Box zu gewinnen ist jedoch nicht die einzige Möglichkeit, um auf Amazon zu verkaufen.

Die zwei weiteren Optionen sind:

  1. Weitere Verkäufer auf Amazon
  2. Die Anbieter-Seite

Auch wenn diese nicht so profitabel wie die Buy Box sind, werden sie dir dennoch einen gewissen Grad an Sichtbarkeit gewähren.

1. Weitere Verkäufer auf Amazon

Direkt unter der Buy Box befindet sich eine Liste von bis zu drei Einträgen. Die Verkäufer, die dort gelistet werden, müssen immer noch die Buy Box Voraussetzungen erfüllen.

Auch wenn sie dort nicht so auffällig platziert sind wie in der Buy Box, haben sie dennoch eine höhere Chance auf Conversion, als die, deren Angebote gar nicht auftauchen.

Häufige Fragen zur Amazon BuyBox

Hat man eine Chance auf die BuyBox, wenn Amazon als Verkäufer auftritt?

In der Regel besitzt Amazon die Rechte an der Buy Box, wenn die Plattform selbst in Form des Verkäufers auftritt. Trotz alledem ist ein Marktplatz-Verkäufer durchaus in der Lage, das Privileg für sich zu beanspruchen. Die einzige Voraussetzung ist, eine bessere Seller Performance zu haben als Amazon.

Kann man auch ohne BuyBox auf Amazon verkaufen?

Ja, die meisten Händler verkaufen ihre Produkte ohne Buy Box. Das Feature erhöht jedoch die Verkaufschancen und den Umsatz um ein Vielfaches.

Kann man als Private Label-Händler/Brand Owner die BuyBox verlieren?

Verschiedene Ursachen können dafür verantwortlich sein, dass man die Buy Box als Private Label-Händler verliert:

  1. Die Verkäuferleistung lässt zu wünschen übrig.
  2. Das Verkäuferkonto ist noch nicht seit 90 Tagen registriert.
  3. Der Produktpreis ist zu hoch.

Kann die Amazon BuyBox nur mit dem Prime-Label gewonnen werden?

Das Fulfilment by Amazon Label verschafft dem Verkäufer einen entscheidenden Vorteil. Es ist jedoch keine Voraussetzung, um das Einkaufswagen-Feld für sich zu beanspruchen.

Was sind die Vorteile der BuyBox?

Die Sichtbarkeit der eigenen Produkte erfährt ein rasantes Wachstum, da die Mehrzahl der Kunden ihre Einkäufe mithilfe der Buy Box tätigt. Du erhältst die Aufträge deiner Produktseite zu 90 Prozent.

Das Fazit – Die Amazon BuyBox als entscheidender Faktor für den Umsatz als Händler

Die Amazon Buy Box wird mit Fug und Recht als der Heilige Gral für Reseller bezeichnet. Ist man der registrierte Händler in der Buy Box, erhält man nahezu 100 Prozent der eingehenden Bestellungen auf der entsprechenden Produktdetailseite. Dein Hauptbestreben als Amazon Händler sollte es demnach sein, die Voraussetzungen und Kriterien des Amazon Algorithmus zu erfüllen, um dich als Gewinner der Buy Box zu positionieren. Das Repricing-Tool kann dir dabei helfen, deine Stellung zu halten. Wichtig ist zudem, dass deine Verkäuferleistung zu jeder Zeit tadellos ist.

So viel zur Theorie. Nur leider lassen sich diese Grundsätze nicht ganz so leicht in die Realität umsetzen. Mit unserem Experteam greifen wir dir tatkräftig unter die Arme und sorgen dafür, dass dir die Ehre der Amazon Buy Box zuteil wird. Mit den Experten rund um Tobias Dziuba an deiner Seite befindest du dich auf der „Road to Glory“ – und besseren Verkaufszahlen natürlich!

Was ist die Amazon BuyBox?

Die „BuyBox“ ist die Box auf der rechten Seite einer Produktdetailseite. Dort können Kunden das gewünschte Produkt ihrem Warenkorb hinzufügen.

Warum ist die BuyBox für Händler wichtig?

Die Amazon Buy Box ist fest mit einem Händler verknüpft. Alle Verkäufe, die über den auf der Produktdetailseite integrierten Kasten laufen, werden direkt an den Buy Box Champion weitergeleitet. Andere Reseller erhalten nur dann Bestellungen, wenn der Amazon Nutzer einen anderen Verkäufer auswählt. Diese Übersichtsliste aller Anbieter findet sich unterhalb der Buy Box, doch tatsächlich greifen die wenigsten Käufer auf dieses Angebot zurück.

Tobias Dziuba

Mein Name ist Tobias und ich schreibe auf dieser Seite über Digitale Marketing Trends.

Google Bewertung
5.0
Basierend auf 34 Rezensionen
js_loader