Skip to main content
Visit us at the eCommerce Day in Cologne on April 26. Grab a ticket & arrange a free Amazon Account Check!

Lookalike audiences: the most effective Facebook targeting option for acquiring new customers

Choosing the right target group is crucial for the success of your Facebook ad strategy. Thanks to the large number of users, Facebook has higher quality data than any other advertising platform. However, the numerous different targeting options can often overwhelm advertisers who are just starting out with Facebook Advertising. That's why today I'm introducing audience targeting using lookalike audiences. Especially if you want to reach new people who have similar interests and characteristics to your customers, lookalike audiences are an exceptional idea.

What are lookalike audiences?

Lookalike audiences (twin target groups) are determined by the Facebook algorithm on the basis of existing customer and user data. Facebook looks at the interests and characteristics of your customers and searches for similar people.

In order to create lookalike audiences, you need customer or user data, as already mentioned. Facebook refers to this initial source as a Source Audience. After you have provided Facebook with a source audience, Facebook analyzes your customers and finds other people who could represent potential for your business.

Source Audience

The source audience, also known as the basic target group, is the initial data of your customers or users. There are different types of data that you can use as a source audience:

  • Fans of your fan page
  • Website Custom Audiences (visitors to your website)
  • Custom Audience (e-mail addresses & mobile numbers of your customers)
  • Mobile app custom audiences (users of your app)
  • Video Custom Audiences (people who have watched your video)
  • Post custom audiences (users who have interacted with your posts)
  • Canvas Custom Audiences

Please note that you are the owner of this data! 

Important notes on the source audience:

  • You can create up to 500 lookalike audiences from just one source audience.
  • The people in your Source Audience are not included in your Lookalike Audience unless you use the Facebook Pixel.
  • The source audience must contain at least 100 people from the country in which the ads are to be displayed.
  • Facebook usually recognizes 60-80 % of the Custom Audience you enter via email addresses and cell phone numbers. 

Different source audiences

Source audiences can be divided into static source audiences and dynamic audiences. Static audiences are non-automatically renewable audiences that are created on the basis of email addresses or cell phone numbers. This means that your lookalike audience only changes when you actively upload new customer data to Facebook. In contrast, with a dynamic source audience, the initial source is updated automatically. This can be the case if you use your website visitors or app users as the source audience. As a rule, the dynamic source audience is automated every 3-7 days.

Legal aspects of the use of lookalike audiences

The use of Custom Audiences violates German data protection law - even if the contact data is transmitted in encrypted form. In principle, personal permission is required for all personal targeting. This also applies to the use of custom audiences based on customer data such as email addresses. However, personal permission is very difficult to implement, so this is not a viable option. In contrast, the use of lookalike audiences based on your website visitors, i.e. via the Facebook pixel, is less risky. I recommend that you seek the advice of a data protection expert in order to consider all legal aspects when using lookalike audiences.

Conclusion Lookalike Audiences:

I have had unique experiences with the use of lookalike audiences. This tool not only helps you to find the right target group, but it also makes it much easier to scale Facebook ads. Especially if you already have customers, lookalike audiences are the best tool for acquiring new customers. However, pay attention to the German data protection regulations and seek legal advice.

Tobias Dziuba

My name is Tobias and I am the founder and managing director of the Amazon agency Adsmasters GmbH based in Düsseldorf.

Your registration could not be saved. Please try again.
Your registration was successful.
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader

Lookalike Audiences: die effektivste Facebook-Targeting-Möglichkeit zur Neukundengewinnung

Die Auswahl der richtigen Zielgruppe ist entscheidend für den Erfolg deiner Facebook-Werbeanzeigen-Strategie. Dank der Vielzahl an Nutzern verfügt Facebook über qualitativ derart hochwertige Daten wie keine andere Werbeplattform. Die zahlreichen unterschiedlichen Targeting-Möglichkeiten können jedoch oftmals Werbetreibende, die gerade erst mit Facebook Advertising anfangen, überfordern. Aus diesem Grund stelle ich heute das Zielgruppen-Targeting mittels Lookalike Audiences vor. Gerade wenn du neue Personen erreichen möchtest, die ähnliche Interessen & Merkmale haben wie deine Kunden, sind Lookalike Audiences eine außergewöhnliche Idee.

Was sind Lookalike Audiences?

Lookalike Audiences (Zwillingszielgruppen) werden auf Basis bereits bestehender Kunden- & Nutzerdaten durch den Facebook-Algorithmus ermittelt. Dabei schaut Facebook auf Interessen und Merkmale deiner Kunden und sucht nach ähnlichen Personen.

Damit du Lookalike Audiences erstellen kannst, benötigst du, wie bereits erwähnt, Kunden- bzw. Nutzerdaten. Diese Ausgangsquelle wird bei Facebook als Source Audience bezeichnet. Nachdem du Facebook eine Source Audience zur Verfügung gestellt hat, analysiert Facebook deine Kunden und findet weitere Personen, die für dein Geschäft ein Potential darstellen könnten.

Source Audience

Bei der Source Audience, auch Basis-Zielgruppe genannt, handelt es sich um Ausgangsdaten deiner Kunden bzw. Nutzer. Dabei gibt es unterschiedliche Daten, die du als Source Audience nutzen kannst:

  • Fans deiner Fanpage
  • Website Custom Audiences (Besucher deiner Webseite)
  • Custom Audience (E-Mail-Adressen & Handnummern deiner Kunden)
  • Mobile App Custom Audiences (Nutzer deiner App)
  • Video Custom Audiences (Personen, die dein Video angesehen haben)
  • Beitrags-Custom-Audiences (Nutzer, die mit deinen Beiträgen interagiert haben)
  • Canvas Custom Audiences

Zu beachten ist, dass du der Inhaber dieser Daten bist! 

Wichtige Hinweise zur Source Audience:

  • Aus nur einer Source Audience kannst du bis zu 500 Lookalike Audiences erstellen.
  • Die Personen deiner Source Audience sind nicht in deiner Lookalike Audience enthalten, es sei denn, du nutzt den Facebook Pixel.
  • Die Source Audience muss mindestens 100 Personen aus dem Land enthalten, in dem die Werbeanzeigen ausgespielt werden sollen.
  • Facebook erkennt in der Regel 60-80 % der Custom Audience, die du über E-Mail-Adressen und Handynummern eingibst. 

Unterschiedliche Source Audiences

Source Audiences lassen sich in statische Source Audience sowie dynamische Audience unterteilen. Bei der statischen Audience handelt es sich um nicht automatisch erneuerbare Audiences, welche auf Basis von E-Mail-Adressen oder Handynummern erstellt werden. Dies bedeutet, dass sich deine Lookalike Audience erst dann ändert, wenn du aktiv neue Kundendaten bei Facebook hochlädst. Im Gegensatz dazu aktualisiert sich bei einer dynamischen Source Audience die Ausgangsquelle automatisch. Dies kann der Fall sein, wenn du deine Webseiten-Besucher oder App-Nutzer als Source Audience verwendest. In der Regel automatisiert sich die dynamische Source Audience alle 3-7 Tage.

Rechtliche Aspekte bei der Nutzung von Lookalike Audiences

Die Anwendung von Custom Audiences verstößt – auch wenn die Kontaktdaten verschlüsselt übertragen werden – gegen das deutsche Datenschutzrecht. Grundsätzlich ist für jedes personenbezogene Targeting eine persönliche Erlaubnis erforderlich. Dies gilt auch bei der Verwendung von Custom Audiences auf Basis von Kundendaten wie E-Mail-Adressen. Eine persönliche Erlaubnis ist jedoch nur sehr schwer umzusetzen, sodass dies keine praktikable Option ist. Weniger riskant ist dagegen die Nutzung von Lookalike Audiences auf Basis deiner Webseitenbesucher, also über den Facebook Pixel. Um sämtliche rechtlichen Aspekte bei der Anwendung von Lookalike Audience zu beachten, empfehle ich dir, den Rat eines Datenschutzexperten einzuholen.

Fazit Lookalike Audiences:

Ich habe einzigartige Erfahrungen mit dem Einsatz von Lookalike Audiences gemacht. Dieses Instrument hilft dir nicht nur dabei, die richtige Zielgruppe zu finden, sondern es vereinfacht auch das Skalieren von Facebook-Anzeigen deutlich. Insbesondere wenn du bereits Kunden hast, sind Lookalike Audiences das beste Instrument bei der Neukundengewinnung. Achte jedoch auf die deutschen Datenschutzbestimmungen und lasse dich rechtlich beraten.