Skip to main content
Visit us at the eCommerce Day in Cologne on April 26. Grab a ticket & arrange a free Amazon Account Check!

Many people use Google Analytics, but only a few use it correctly. You probably won't become a Google Analytics Grandmaster overnight, but you can improve your Google Analytics skills. In the following, I will therefore present 7 Google Analytics features that can certainly help you with website analysis.

1. notes

The GA comment tool is basically a notepad that allows you to make notes about your account and your website. This saves you the trouble of having to cover your entire desk with post-it.

Basically, you write down here what you might otherwise forget in a hurry - changes, optimizations and much more. Because when working with a system as complex and enormous as GA, it's easy to lose track of things.

How to take notes with Google Analytics

You will find a small arrow underneath all graphs and reports from GA.

Google Analytics tips

To make a note, simply click on the arrow that enlarges the graphic and then click on "Create new note".

Google Analytics tips & tricks

 

Now all you have to do is write down your note. It's very simple - and yet you have an incredible number of possible uses.

Tips & Tricks Google Analytics

2. individualization

Are you unhappy with the look of your dashboard? Then create your own. As there are many different templates to choose from, you don't have to stick with the default model. If you're the kind of person who likes to tweak and change their operating system, you'll be thrilled. Anyone who spends a lot of time with Google Analytics as well as taking care of many pages and analyzing a lot of data can make their life easier by optimizing some aspects.

How to change your dashboard

If you click on "Dashboards", you will be able to discover the default template as well as all the other templates that you have created yourself. You will also find the "New dashboard" option here. If you click on this, the following pop-up will appear:

Google Analytics new dashboard

 

If you want to create a new dashboard from scratch, click on "Uniform". You don't need any HTML or design skills for this. Creating a new dashboard is nevertheless easier with starter dashboards, as templates appear there which can be edited according to your own ideas. 

New Google Analytics dashboard

 

Under "Customize dashboard" you can now customize the layout of your dashboard according to your own ideas. 

As you can see, the dashboard looks a little bleak and uninspiring at first. But this is where the widgets come into play: with the "Add widget" function, we can now add key figures and their development over time to our dashboard. 

Google Analytics Dashboard

 

You can create up to 20 dashboards yourself at any time. You can use them to display the most important aspects that you need to monitor. You can also add as many widgets as you like to these dashboards. If you reach the limit, you can remove a dashboard and create a new one at any time. 

Here are some examples of different dashboard widgets and customizations, all provided by Yoast (https://yoast.com/google-analytics-dashboards/)

3. user-defined NOTIFICATION for Google Analytics

You probably don't have the time to check Google Analytics every day. If you're anything like most website managers, you've probably spent a lot of time in Google Analytics for the first few weeks. At the beginning of a new project, many are so excited that they would initially prefer to monitor all changes and improvements and sometimes even watch users in real time. However, this changes over time and gradually it just becomes a chore.

Fortunately, there is a way to make these processes easier for you. Under "custom notification", which you will find on the administrator's screen, you can instruct GA to send you a signal if, for example, access figures deteriorate. 

Custom notification Google Analytics

 

You may want to be alerted if your traffic drops suddenly or if you have a sudden and rapid increase in visitors from a particular country. Whatever you choose, Google Analytics will notify you in real time via email or SMS.

In the following example, you can see a notification that notifies me by e-mail if the bounce rate increases by more than 70% compared to the previous day.

 

Custom notification Google Analytics

4. setting target projects for Google Analytics

Depending on your website, you will have certain goals. Maybe you want to increase the number of visitors to your site to reach more customers for your product? Or maybe you want to attract more potential customers and close partnerships? Whatever your goal, Google Analytics has built-in goal tracking statistics to help you monitor your goals and let you know when you've achieved them.

To set up a target, click on "Manage" in the data view column and you will find the "Target project" tab.

Target project Google Analytics

 

You will now find the "New target project" option in the top left-hand corner. We select this to create a new target project. As you can see in the example, I have already predefined two target projects. In total, you can create up to 20 target projects in your data view.

 

Target project Google Analytics

 

From here, you can set numerous different goals. This is a process that consists of 3 steps.

Step 1: Setting up the target project

These are self-explanatory and most of them are actually covered here. If your goal is still not available, select the custom option at the bottom of the page and then click on "Continue". In my example, I'll show you how we set up the payment process in my online store as a target project.

Target project Google Analytics

Step 2: Target description

The second step is to define the actual goal. Now you define a name for your target project, the type of target (dwell time, page views per session, an event, or access to a specific page). An order in our online store is only successfully completed when the customer reaches the "Order confirmation" page. For this reason, I select the option "Destination" example danke.html.

 

Target project Google Analytics

3. target plan details

The 3rd and final step is to add the final details to the goal. You can decide whether to add a monetary value to your goal (if it has one) or a "funnel" that defines the user's path. To be able to measure the conversion, I add the URL of the order confirmation page under "Goal is the same".

To test the goal, click on the "Goal confirmation" option at the bottom of the page. Now GA compares these parameters with the associated and collected data and informs you how often the goal was achieved in the last week.

Target plan details Google Analytics

 

5. do not track certain IP addresses

Since it's your own website, you're certainly spending a lot of time uploading new content, running checks and seeing if everything is in order. Especially if you're just starting out, your website is in a niche or you're doing a lot of reviews, this data can skew your overall stats. 

To ensure that certain IP addresses are not included, we need to create a filter. To do this, we go to "Administration" and select "Filter" in the data view. 

Analytics features

 

We then select Add filter, to be able to create a filter.

However, instead of setting a "customized filter", click on "predefined filter". Here you only need to specify that GA should ignore all traffic from your IP address. After we have selected the predefined filter, we select "Exclude", "Access via IP addresses" and "Are equal" in the three drop-down fields. A field should now open in which we can exclude our IP address. Of course, you can also exclude multiple IP addresses.

This filter can also be used to block traffic from host names, subdomains or even from a block of IP addresses and visitors from a specific region.

Analytics6. display individual lines

The "Channels" report is one of the most frequently used reports in Google Analytics. Basically, all sessions are summarized in the graphic.

Individual lines

In addition to the conventional graphic, which summarizes all traffic channels, the different channels can also be displayed in the graphic. With the selection option next to the respective channel summary and the "Show lines" setting, the history for the selected channels can be displayed.

 

Default Channel Grouping

There is no restriction on which channels you can display. This feature allows us to analyze the traffic history across multiple channels in a specific time window. The graphical display in particular makes it much easier to analyze.

Analytics-Google

 

7.user-defined channel grouping

With the custom channel grouping function, we can define our own acquisition channels. This is particularly useful as the standard channels "Organic, Email, Social, Paid etc." are too generic to perform a clear & efficient analysis.

To use the user-defined channel groupings, we switch back to the administration and select the "User-defined channel groupings" option in the data view.

Channel groupings

Since the website to be analyzed gains the majority of its visitors via organic search, I now create a channel that combines all organic search engine hits (Google, Yahoo, Bing, DuckDuckGo). The following steps must be observed:

  1. First we need to give the channel grouping a name.
  2. Now it's all about the channel definition
  3. Now we need to create rules to summarize the different sources. To do this, we select "Medium", "matches exactly" & "organic" button. Now we can save the grouping.

Channel groupings

 

Now we can find the user-defined channel grouping in the channel reports under Default Channel Grouping.

Channel grouping

Now the user-defined groupings are displayed as specified. In particular, the organic search as well as the traffic via Facebook can be displayed much better.

I hope you enjoyed my contribution on the topic: "7 Google Analytics features you should know" and can help you analyze your website visitors.

 

7 Google Analytics features you should know - YouTube video tutorial

 

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Tobias Dziuba

My name is Tobias and I am the founder and managing director of the Amazon agency Adsmasters GmbH based in Düsseldorf.

Your registration could not be saved. Please try again.
Your registration was successful.
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader

Viele Menschen benutzen Google Analytics, doch nur wenige wenden es korrekt an. Vermutlich wirst du über Nacht nicht zum Google Analytics Grandmaster, aber du kannst deine Google Analytics-Fähigkeiten verbessern. Im Folgenden stelle ich daher 7 Google Analytcs Features vor, welche dir bei der Websiteanalyse sicherlich weiterhelfen können.

1. Notizen

Beim GA Kommentar-Tool handelt es sich im Grunde um einen Notizzettel, der dir ermöglicht, Anmerkungen über deinen Account und deine Website zu notieren. Dadurch sparst du dir die Umstände, deinen ganzen Schreibtisch mit Post-ist übersähen zu müssen.

Im Grunde schreibst du hier nieder, was du sonst auf die Schnelle einmal vergessen könntest – Änderung, Optimierungen und vieles mehr. Denn beim Arbeiten mit einem so komplexen und enormen System wie GA kann man schnell mal den Überblick verlieren.

So machst du dir bei Google Analytics Notizen

Bei allen Graphen und Berichten von GA findest du darunter einen kleinen Pfeil.

Google-Analytics Tipps

Um eine Anmerkung zu notieren, klickst du einfach auf den Pfeil, der die Grafik vergrößert und anschließend auf „Neuen Vermerk erstellen“, klickst.

Google Analytics Tipps & Tricks

 

Nun musst du lediglich deine Anmerkung aufschreiben. Es ist ganz einfach – und trotzdem hast du unglaublich viele Verwendungsmöglichkeiten.

Tipps & Tricks Google Analytics

2. Individualisierung

Du bist unzufrieden mit dem Aussehen deines Dashboards? Dann kreiere dein eigenes. Da es viele verschiedene Vorlagen gibt, aus denen du dir etwas aussuchen kannst, musst du nicht das vorgegebene Modell behalten. Wenn du zu den Personen gehörst, die gerne ihr Betriebssystem optimieren und ändern, dann wirst du begeistert sein. Jeder, der viel Zeit mit Google Analytics verbringt sowie sich um viele Seiten kümmert und zahlreiche Daten analysiert, kann man sich das Leben mit der Optimierung einiger Aspekte einfacher machen.

So veränderst du dein Dashboard

Wenn du auf „Dashboards“ klickst, wirst du die Standardvorlage sowie all die anderen Vorlagen entdecken können, die du selber erstellst hast. Zudem findest du hier die Option „Neues Dashboard“. Wenn du auf dieses klickst, erscheint das folgende Pop-up:

Google Analytics neues Dashboard

 

Wenn du von Grund auf ein neues Dashboard erstellen möchtest, dann klicke auf „Uniformiert“. Hierfür benötigst du keine HTML- oder Designfähigkeiten. Die Erstellung eines neuen Dashboards ist mit Starter-Dashboards trotzdem einfacher, da dort Vorlagen erscheinen, welche sich nach eigenen Vorstellungen bearbeiten lassen. 

Neues Dashboard Google-Analytics

 

Unter „Dashboard anpassen“ kannst du nun das Layout deines Dashboards nach eigenen Vorstellungen anpassen. 

Wie du siehst, sieht das Dashboard zunächst etwas trostlos und wenig inspirierend aus. Doch hier kommen die Widgets ins Spiel: Mit der Funktion „Widget hinzufügen“ können wir nun Kennzahlen und deren zeitlichen Entwicklungen in unser Dashboard hinzufügen. 

Google Analytics Dashboard

 

Jederzeit hast du die Möglichkeit bis zu maximal 20 Dashboards selbst zu kreieren. Du kannst sie dazu nutzen, um dir die wichtigsten Aspekte, die du überwachen musst, anzeigen zu lassen. Zudem kannst du so viele Widgets wie du möchtest zu diesen Dashboards hinzufügen. Wenn du das Limit erreicht haben solltest,   kannst du jederzeit ein Dashboard entfernen und ein neues anlegen. 

Hier sind einige Beispiele verschiedener Dashboard-Widgets und Individualisierungen, die alle von Yoast zur Verfügung gestellt wurden (https://yoast.com/google-analytics-dashboards/)

3. Benutzerdefinierte BENACHRICHTIGUNG bei Google Analytics

Du hast wahrscheinlich nicht die Zeit, Google Analytics jeden Tag zu überprüfen. Wenn du den meisten Websiteverantwortlichen ähnelst, hast du die ersten Wochen lang sicher sehr viel Zeit in Google Analytics verbracht. Zu Beginn eines neuen Projektes sind viele so angeregt, dass sie zunächst am liebsten alle Änderungen und Verbesserungen überwachen würden und manchmal sogar Benutzer in Echtzeit beobachten. Dies ändert sich jedoch mit der Zeit und nach und nach wird es lediglich zu einer Pflicht.

Zum Glück gibt es eine Möglichkeit, dir diese Vorgänge zu erleichtern. Unter „benutzerdefinierter Benachrichtigung“, welches du auf dem Bildschirm des Administrators vorfindest, kannst du GA beauftragen, dir ein Signal zu schicken, wenn sich z.B. Zugriffszahlen verschlechtern. 

Benutzerdefinierte Benachrichtigung Google Analytics

 

Vielleicht ist es dir wichtig, alarmiert zu werden, wenn dein Traffic schlagartig fällt oder wenn du eine plötzliche und rasante Zunahme an Besuchern eines bestimmten Landes hast. Für was du dich auch entscheidest – Google Analytics wird dich in Echtzeit per E-Mail oder SMS benachrichtigen.

Bei dem folgenden Beispiel kannst du einen Benachrichtigung sehen, welche mich per E-Mail benachrichtigt, wenn die Absprungsrate zum Vortag um mehr als 70% ansteigt.

 

Benutzerdefinierte Benachrichtigung Google Analytics

4. Einstellung von Zielvorhaben bei Google Analytics

Je nach Website wirst du bestimmte Ziele haben. Vielleicht möchtest du die Anzahl von Besuchern auf deiner Seite erhöhen, um mehr Kunden für dein Produkt zu erreichen? Oder vielleicht möchtest du mehr potenzielle Kunden anlocken und Partnerschaften abschließen? Was immer du für ein Ziel verfolgst, Google Analytics besitzt eine integrierte Zielverfolgungsstatistik, die dir dabei hilft, deine Zielvorhaben zu beobachten und dich informiert, wenn du diese erreicht hast.

Um ein Ziel einzurichten, klicke auf „Verwalten“  in der Spalte Datenansicht findet du den Reiter „Zielvorhaben“.

Zielvorhaben Google Analytics

 

Nun findest du in der linken oberen Ecke die Option „Neues Zielvorhaben“. Dieses wählen wir zur Erstellung eines neuen Zielvorhaben aus.  Wie du im Beispiel siehst, habe ich bereits zwei Zielvorhaben vordefiniert.  Insgesamt kannst du bis zu 20 Zielvorhaben in deiner Datenansicht anlegen.

 

Zielvorhaben Google Analytics

 

Von hier an kannst du zahlreiche unterschiedliche Ziele setzen. Hierbei handelt es sich um einen Vorgang, der aus 3 Schritten besteht.

1. Schritt: Einrichten des Zielvorhabens

Diese sind selbsterklärend und eigentlich wird hier ein Großteil abgedeckt. Sollte dein Ziel dennoch nicht vorhanden sein, dann wählst du die  benutzerdefinierte Option am Ende der Seite aus und klickst anschließend auf „Fortfahren“. In meinem Beispiel zeige ich dir, wie wir den Bezahlvorgang in meinem Online-Shop  als Zielvorhaben einrichten.

Zielvorhaben Google Analytics

2. Schritt: Zielbeschreibung

Im zweiten Schritt geht es nun darum das eigentliche Ziel zu definieren. Nun definierst du einen Namen für dein Zielvorhaben, den Typ des Ziels (Verweildauer, Seitenaufrufe per Sitzung, ein Ereignis, oder Aufruf einer bestimmten Seite). Eine Bestellung in unserem Online-Shop wird erst dann erfolgreich ausgeführt, wenn der Kunde die Seite „Bestellbestätigung“ erreicht. Aus diesem Grund wähle ich die Option  „Ziel“ Beispiel danke.html aus.

 

Zielvorhaben Google Analytics

3. Zielvorhabendetails

Beim 3. und letzten Schritt werden dem Ziel letzte Details hinzugefügt. Du kannst dich entscheiden, ob du deinem Ziel einen Geldwert (falls es einen hat) oder einen „Funnel“ hinzufügst, der den Pfad des Benutzers definiert. Um die Conversion auch messen zu können, füge ich unter „Ziel ist gleich“, die URL der Bestellbestätigungsseite hinzu.

Um das Ziel zu testen, klicke auf die Option „Zielbestätigung“ am Ende der Seite. Nun vergleicht GA diese Parameter mit den dazugehörigen und gesammelten Daten und informiert dich darüber, wie häufig das  Ziel in der letzten Woche erreicht wurde.

Zielvorhabendetails Google Analytics

 

5. Bestimmte IP-Adressen nicht tracken

Da es sich um deine eigene Website handelt, verbringst du sicherlich eine Menge Zeit, um neuen Content hochzuladen, Überprüfungen durchzuführen und nachzuschauen, ob alles in Ordnung ist. Gerade wenn du erst angefangen hast, deine Website sich in einer Nische befindet oder du viele Überprüfungen durchführst, können diese Daten deine gesamte Statistik verfälschen. 

Damit bestimmte IP-Adresse nicht mit einbezogen werden müssen wir einen Filter anlegen. Dafür gehen wir auf „Verwaltung“ und wählen in der Datenansicht „Filter“ aus. 

Analytics Features

 

Daraufhin wählen wir Filter hinzufügen, um einen Filter anlegen zu können.

Anstatt jedoch einen „kundenspezifischen Filter“ zu setzen, klicke auf „vordefinierter Filter“. Hier musst du nur noch angeben, dass GA jeglichen Traffic von deiner IP-Adresse ignorieren soll. Nachdem wir den vordefinierten Filter ausgewählt haben, wählen wir in den drei Drop-Down-Feldern „Ausschließen“, „Zugriff über IP-Adressen“ und „sind gleich“ aus.  Nun sollte sich ein Feld geöffnet haben, indem wir unsere IP-Adresse ausschließen können. Selbstverständlich kannst du auch mehrere IP-Adresse ausschließen.

Dieser Filter kann zudem dazu genutzt werden Traffic von Hostnamen, Subdomains oder sogar von einem Block von IP-Adressen und Besucher einer bestimmten Region zu blocken.

Analytics6. Individuelle Zeilen darstellen

Der Bericht „Channels“ gehört zu den meist genutzten Berichten in Google Analytics. Grundsätzlich werden in der Grafik sämtliche Sitzungen zusammengefasst angezeigt.

Individuelle Zeilen

Neben der herkömmlichen Grafik, die sämtliche Traffic-Kanäle zusammenfasst, können jedoch auch die unterschiedlichen Kanäle in die Grafik eingeblendet werden. Mit der Auswahloption neben der jeweiligen Kanalzusammenfassung sowie der Einstellung „ Zeilen darstellen“, kann der Verlauf für die ausgewählten Kanäle eingeblendet werden.

 

Default Channel Grouping

Dabei gibt es keine Einschränkung, welche Kanäle du einblenden kannst. Dieses Features lässt uns den Traffic-Verlauf über mehrere Kanäle in einem bestimmten Zeitfenster analysieren. Insbesondere die grafische Darstellung macht die Analysefähigkeit deutlich einfacher.

Analytics-Google

 

7.Benutzerdefinierte Channelgruppierung

Mit der Funktion benutzerdefinierten Channelgruppierung können wir unsere eigenen Akquisitionskanäle definieren. Dies ist insbesondere Sinnvoll, da die Standard-Channels „Organic, E-Mail, Social, Paid etc.“ zu generisch sind, um eine klare & effiziente Analyse durchzuführen.

Um die benutzerdefinierten Channelgruppierungen zu nutzen, wechseln wir wieder in die Verwaltung und wählen in der Datenansicht die Option „Benutzerdefinierte Channelgruppierungen“ aus.

Channelgruppierungen

Da die zu analysierende Webseite den Großteil der Besucher über die organische Suche gewinnt, erstelle ich nun einen Channel der sämtliche organische Suchmaschinentreffen (Google, Yahoo, Bing, DuckDuckGo) zusammenfasst. Folgende Schritte sind dabei zu beachten:

  1. Zuerst müssen wir der Channelgrupierung einen Namen geben.
  2. Nun gehst es um die Channel-Definition
  3. Jetzt müssen Regeln erstellt werden, mit denen die unterschiedlichen Quellen zusammengefasst werden. Dafür wählen wir „Medium“, „stimmt genau überein“ & „organisch“ aus. Nun können wir die Gruppierung abspeichern.

Channelgruppierungen

 

Jetzt finden wir in den Channel-Berichten unter Default Channel Grouping die benutzerdefinierten Channelgruppierung.

Channelgruppierung

Nun werden uns die benutzerdefinierten Gruppierungen, wie angegeben angezeigt. Insbesondere die Organische Suche als auch der Traffic über Facebook kann so deutlich besser angezeigt werden.

Ich hoffe, dass dir mein Beitrag zum Thema: „7 Google Analytics Features, die du kennen solltest“ gefallen hat und dir bei der Analyse deiner Webseitenbesucher weiterhelfen kann.

 

7 Google Analytics Features, die du kennen solltest – YouTube-Video-Anleitung

 

7 Google Analytics Features, die du kennen solltest
5 (100%) 3 vote[s]