DIFFERENT CONVERSION NUMBERS AND MEASUREMENTS IN GOOGLE ADWORDS VS. GOOGLE ANALYTICS

Google Analytics is the central web analysis tool that most companies use to analyze their online marketing activities. Whether organic streams of visitors or paid promotions, Google Analytics delivers the results. However, the conversion figures in Google Analytics regularly differ from the figures from advertising platforms such as Google AdWords and Facebook. In this article I will therefore discuss the background to the different conversion figures between Google AdWords and Google Analytics.

In a previous blog post I had already discussed the reasons for the different conversion figures in Google Analytics and Facebook.

REASONS FOR DIFFERENT CONVERSION NUMBERS IN GOOGLE ADWORDS AND GOOGLE ANALYTICS:

1.GOOGLE ADWORDS AND GOOGLE ANALYTICS USE DIFFERENT ATTRIBUTION MODELS

Google AdWords and Google Analytics use two different attribution assignments to assign a conversion.

The attribution model used by Google Analytics is called last click attribution. This means that the last indirect channel through which a visitor enters the website before performing a conversion is the channel to which the conversion is attributed 100%.

The Google AdWords attribution model, on the other hand, adds a conversion of the campaign, ad group, ad and keyword that were last clicked before the conversion. Both Google AdWords and Google Analytics work with a last-click attribution model, where Google AdWords adds the conversion to the last click via an ad and Google Analytics uses the last channel before the conversion is completed.

In the following, I will use the conversion paths of different customers to illustrate the effects of the different attribution models:

Google Analytics attribution model:

Customer A: Facebook → Newsletter → Google AdWords → Organic Google search

Customer B: Google AdWords → Instagram → Pinterest → Newsletter

Customer C: Facebook → Organic search → Newsletter → Google AdWords

Customer D: Direct → Google AdWords → Referral → Facebook

Which conversion is added to Google AdWords in Google Analytics?

→ Customer C, because the last click before the conversion was generated via Google AdWords.

Google AdWords Attribution Model:

Customer A: Facebook → Newsletter → Google AdWords → Organic Google search

Customer B: Google AdWords → Instagram → Pinterest → Newsletter

Customer C: Facebook → Organic search → Newsletter → Google AdWords

Customer D: Direct → Google AdWords → Referral → Facebook

Which conversion is added to the Google AdWords channel in Google AdWords?

→ All customers!

2. TIME ALLOCATION OF A CONVERSION

The time to which a conversion is attributed also differs between Google AdWords and Google Analytics. Google Analytics adds the conversion to the day on which the conversion actually took place. Google AdWords, on the other hand, adds the conversion to the day on which the click on the AdWords ad came about. This different time conversion allocation ultimately leads to different conversion figures.

Google AdWords’ default attributes window is 30 days click-through and one day view-through. As a result, all conversions after clicking on an AdWords ad that are within the attribution period (30 days) are assigned to the respective AdWords campaign. However, if the AdWords display has not been clicked but a conversion has occurred, this conversion is also added as long as it is in the attribution window (one day).

Analytics vs AdWords Zahlen

EXAMPLE OF DIFFERENT TIME ALLOCATIONS TO A CONVERSION

Customer A clicks on a Google AdWords ad from Company Y on Monday, April 30. The customer leaves the website without having made a conversion.

On Tuesday, May 8, Customer A will visit the website again using Google’s organic search and make a conversion.

HOW DOES GOOGLE ANALYTICS ASSIGN THE CONVERSION?
In Google Analytics, the conversion is attributed to May 8. In addition, the conversion is added to the organic Google search.

HOW DOES GOOGLE ADWORDS ASSIGN THE CONVERSION?
Google AdWords adds the conversion to the click on the ad on April 30.

This ultimately results in conversions not only being assigned to different channels, but also to different time periods.

3. DIFFERENT CALCULATION OF THE CONVERSION RATE

In addition to the absolute conversion figures, the conversion rate also differs between Google AdWords and Google Analytics. This is because the conversion rate in Google AdWords is calculated on the basis of clicks on the ads, whereas in Google Analytics it is calculated on the basis of visitors.

Example:

A visitor can cause multiple Google AdWords clicks before making the desired conversion. However, since they are always the same visitor, they are only counted once as visitors in Google Analytics.

4. DIFFERENT CONVERSION COUNTING METHODS

With the counting method in Google AdWords we determine how many conversions should be counted per click/interaction. There is a choice between:

  • all
  • one

CONVERSION COUNTING METHOD “ALL”:

After clicking on an AdWords ad, each conversion is recorded as a new conversion. The conversion counting method “all” should be selected if each individual conversion is profitable for the company.

Example: A user clicks on an AdWords ad and places three separate orders in an online shop. Three conversions are now displayed in Google AdWords.

CONVERSION COUNTING METHOD “ONE”:

After clicking on an AdWords ad, multiple completed conversions are displayed as a single conversion, even if the individual conversions were performed in separate sessions. The “one” counting method is recommended for companies where only one conversion per click represents a value (leads etc.).

COUNTING METHOD IN GOOGLE ANALYTICS:

Google Analytics counts completed conversions (target projects) only once per session. The use of different counting methods ultimately results in different conversion figures, as the following examples illustrate.

GOOGLE ADWORDS COUNTING METHOD “ONE”:

After clicking on an AdWords ad, a visitor performs two conversions in two different sessions. Google AdWords now only displays one conversion, whereas Google Analytics measures two conversions.

GOOGLE ADWORDS COUNTING METHOD “ALL”:

A visitor performs three conversions in one session after clicking on an AdWords ad. Three conversions are now reported in Google AdWords, whereas only one conversion is measured in Google Analytics.

5. INVALID CLICKS ARE REMOVED IN GOOGLE ADWORDS

Google AdWords proactively removes clicks from suspicious user profiles from AdWords reporting, even if they have led to conversion. However, this does not apply to the data from Google Analytics. If a conversion was generated by a remote click, this conversion is not displayed in Google AdWords, but in Google Analytics.

6. CERTAIN CONVERSIONS ARE NOT DISPLAYED IN GOOGLE ANALYTICS

There are some conversions which are not played in Google Analytics, but exclusively in Google AdWords. This includes, among other things:

Call Conversion: In Google AdWords, call conversions can be created which are counted when you click on the phone number (in the AdWords display) and the following call from AdWords. These conversions are displayed in the AdWords report, but not in Google Analytics.

View-through conversion: A view-through conversion takes place when a user sees an ad – but does not click – and then performs a conversion. The attribution window of view-through conversions is one day. View-through conversions are only recorded in Google AdWords, but not in Google Analytics, as Google Analytics is not aware of the ad’s visual contact.

7. MISSING GOOGLE-ADWORDS-TAG TAGGING

Another, often underestimated point that can cause the conversion figures to differ in AdWords and Google Analytics is the lack of Google AdWords tagging. In particular, if automatic tagging has been deactivated and no manual tags have been installed, it regularly happens that visitors that were won via Google AdWords are classified in Google Analytics as visitors via the organic Google search. Of course, this also changes the assignment of the conversion in the Google Analytics reports. It should therefore be ensured that automatic tagging is activated.

8. JAVASCRIPT-BLOCKERS PREVENT TRACKING VIA GOOGLE ANALYTICS

Nowadays, JavaScript blockers and browser settings that prevent JavaScript files from loading are no longer a rarity. This ultimately leads to the fact that visitors cannot be recorded in Google Analytics. However, the click on a Google AdWords ad is still measured, which ultimately leads to different click and visitor numbers in AdWords and Analytics.

9. ENDING AN ADWORDS CAMPAIGN PREMATURELY

In point 2 I have already explained the different timing of campaigns. If a campaign is now ended for which a user has accessed the website via the display and the conversion is carried out after the campaign has ended, this conversion is no longer displayed in the AdWords report.

10. SAVING THE URL WITH TAGGING IN THE BOOKMARKS

It can happen that users save the visited website in the bookmarks in order to visit it again at a later time. If the automatic tagging is also saved, the page is visited from the bookmarks and a conversion is made, Google Analytics records this as a new Google AdWords session. However, Google AdWords cannot capture this visitor because no click on an ad has been generated. This has the consequence that the call numbers and clicks differ. In AdWords, the conversion is assigned to the first click on the ad as long as the conversion has still taken place in the attribution window. Google Analytics, on the other hand, adds the conversion to the click from the bookmarks.

Conclusion: DIFFERENT VALUES IN GOOGLE ADWORDS VS. GOOGLE ANALYTICS

There are many different reasons why measurements in Google AdWords can differ from the figures in Google Analytics. The most important and most common reason lies in the different attribution models and the temporal assignment of conversions. I hope this article helped you answer the question “Why do the conversion figures and other measures differ in Google AdWords and Google Analytics? If you have any further questions, don’t wait to contact me.

Unterschiedliche Conversion-Zahlen und Messwerte in Google AdWords vs. Google Analytics

Google Analytics ist das zentrale Webanalyse-Tool, mit dem die meisten Unternehmen ihre Online-Marketing-Maßnahmen analysieren. Ob organische Besucherströme oder bezahlte Werbeaktionen, Google Analytics liefert die Ergebnisse. Jedoch unterscheiden sich regelmäßig die Conversion-Zahlen in Google Analytics von den Zahlen aus den Werbeplattformen wie Google AdWords und Facebook. In diesem Beitrag thematisiere ich daher die Hintergründe der abweichenden Conversion-Zahlen zwischen Google AdWords und Google Analytics.

In einem vorherigen Blogbeitrag hatte ich bereits die Gründe der unterschiedlichen Conversion-Zahlen in Google Analytics und Facebook thematisiert.

Gründe für unterschiedliche Conversion-Zahlen in Google AdWords und Google Analytics:

1.Google AdWords und Google Analytics nutzen verschiedene Attributionsmodelle

Google AdWords und Google Analytics nutzen zwei unterschiedliche Attributionszuordnungen, um eine Conversion zuzurechnen.

Das von Google Analytics genutzte Attributionsmodell wird als Last Click Attribution bezeichnet. Dies bedeutet, dass der letzte indirekte Kanal, über den ein Besucher auf die Webseite gelangt, bevor er eine Conversion ausführt, der Kanal ist, dem die Conversion zu 100 % zugerechnet wird.

Das Attributionsmodell von Google AdWords hingegen rechnet eine Conversion der Kampagne, Anzeigengruppe, Anzeige und dem Keyword hinzu, welche als letzte vor der Conversion geklickt wurden. Sowohl Google AdWords als auch Google Analytics arbeiten mit einem Last-Click-Attributionsmodell, wobei Google AdWords die Conversion dem letzten Klick über eine Anzeige zurechnet und Google Analytics hierfür den letzten Kanal vor Conversion-Abschluss heranzieht.

Im Folgenden verdeutliche ich anhand der Conversion-Pfade von unterschiedlichen Kunden die Auswirkungen der unterschiedlichen Attributionsmodelle:

Google-Analytics-Attributionsmodell:

Kunde A: Facebook → Newsletter → Google AdWords → Organische Google-Suche

Kunde B: Google AdWords → Instagram → Pinterest → Newsletter

Kunde C: Facebook → Organische Suche → Newsletter → Google AdWords

Kunde D: Direkt → Google AdWords → Referral → Facebook

Welche Conversion wird in Google Analytics zu Google AdWords zugerechnet?

→ Kunde C, da der letzte Klick vor der Conversion über Google AdWords generiert wurde.

Google AdWords-Attributionsmodell:

Kunde A: Facebook → Newsletter → Google AdWords → Organische Google-Suche

Kunde B: Google AdWords → Instagram → Pinterest → Newsletter

Kunde C: Facebook → Organische Suche → Newsletter → Google AdWords

Kunde D: Direkt → Google AdWords → Referral → Facebook

Welche Conversion wird in Google AdWords dem Kanal Google AdWords zugerechnet?

→ Alle Kunden!

2. Zeitliche Zurechnung einer Conversion

Welchem Zeitpunkt eine Conversion zugerechnet wird, unterscheidet sich ebenfalls zwischen Google AdWords und Google Analytics. Google Analytics rechnet die Conversion dem Tag hinzu, an dem die Conversion tatsächlich stattgefunden hat. Google AdWords hingegen rechnet die Conversion dem Tag hinzu, an dem der Klick auf die AdWords-Anzeige zustande gekommen ist. Diese unterschiedliche zeitliche Conversion-Zurechnung führt schlussendlich zu unterschiedlichen Conversion-Zahlen.

Das Standard-Attributionsfenster von Google AdWords beträgt 30 Tage Click-Through und einen Tag View-Through. Dies hat zur Folge, dass sämtliche Conversions nach dem Klick auf eine AdWords-Anzeige, die im Attributionszeitraum (30 Tage) liegen, der jeweiligen AdWords-Kampagne zugerechnet werden. Wenn die AdWords-Anzeige jedoch nicht geklickt wurde, aber trotzdem eine Conversion zustande gekommen ist, wird diese Conversion ebenfalls zugerechnet, solange diese im Attributionsfenster (ein Tag) liegt.

 

Analytics vs AdWords Zahlen

 

 

Beispiel zu unterschiedlichen zeitlichen Zurechnungen einer Conversion

Kunde A klickt am Montag, den 30. April auf eine Google-AdWords-Anzeige von Unternehmen Y. Der Kunde verlässt die Webseite, ohne eine Conversion getätigt zu haben.

Am Dienstag, den 8. Mai besucht Kunde A über die organische Google-Suche die Webseite erneut und führt eine Conversion durch.

Wie ordnet Google Analytics die Conversion zu?

In Google Analytics wird die Conversion dem 8. Mai zugerechnet. Außerdem wird die Conversion der organischen Google-Suche zugerechnet.

Wie ordnet Google AdWords die Conversion zu?

Google AdWords rechnet die Conversion dem Klick auf die Anzeige am 30. April zu.

Dies führt schlussendlich dazu, dass  Conversions nicht nur unterschiedlichen Kanälen, sondern auch unterschiedlichen Zeiträumen zugeordnet werden.

3. Unterschiedliche Berechnung der Conversion-Rate

Neben den absoluten Conversion-Zahlen unterscheidet sich auch die Conversion-Rate zwischen Google AdWords und Google Analytics. Dies liegt daran, dass die Conversion-Rate in Google AdWords auf Basis der Klicks auf die Anzeigen berechnet wird, in Google Analytics hingegen auf Basis der Besucher.

Beispiel: Ein Besucher kann mehrere Google-AdWords-Klicks verursachen, bevor er die gewünschte Conversion tätigt. Da es sich jedoch immer um denselben Besucher handelt, wird dieser nur einmal als Besucher in Google Analytics gezählt.

4. Unterschiedliche Conversion-Zählmethoden

Mit der Zählmethode in Google AdWords legen wir fest, wie viele Conversions pro Klick/Interaktion gezählt werden sollen. Es gibt die Auswahlmöglichkeit zwischen:

  • alle
  • eine
Conversion-Zählmethode „alle“:

Nach dem Klick auf eine AdWords-Anzeige wird jede Conversion als neue Conversion erfasst. Die Conversion-Zählmethode „alle“ sollte dann gewählt werden, wenn jede einzelne Conversion gewinnbringend für das Unternehmen ist.

Beispiel: Ein User klickt auf eine AdWords-Anzeige und führt drei separate Bestellungen in einem Online-Shop durch. In Google AdWords werden nun drei Conversions angezeigt.

Conversion-Zählmethode „eine“:

Nach einem Klick auf eine AdWords-Anzeige werden mehrere abgeschlossene Conversions als eine einzige Conversion dargestellt, auch wenn die einzelnen Conversions in separaten Sitzungen durchgeführt wurden. Die Zählmethode „eine“ wird für Unternehmen empfohlen, bei denen nur eine Conversion pro Klick einen Wert darstellt (Leads etc.).

Zählmethode in Google Analytics:

Google Analytics zählt abgeschlossene Conversions (Zielvorhaben) nur einmal je Sitzung. Durch die Anwendung der unterschiedlichen Zählmethoden kommt es schlussendlich zu unterschiedlichen Conversion-Zahlen, wie die folgenden Beispiele verdeutlichen.

Google-AdWords-Zählmethode „eine“:

Ein Besucher führt nach dem Klick auf eine AdWords-Anzeige in zwei unterschiedlichen Sitzungen zwei Conversions durch. In Google AdWords wird nun lediglich eine Conversion dargestellt, wohingegen in Google Analytics zwei Conversions gemessen werden.

Google-AdWords-Zählmethode „alle“:

Ein Besucher führt nach dem Klick auf eine AdWords-Anzeige drei Conversions in einer Sitzung aus. In Google AdWords werden nun drei Conversions reported, wohingegen in Google Analytics nur eine Conversion gemessen wird.

5. Ungültige Klicks werden in Google AdWords entfernt

Google AdWords entfernt proaktiv Klicks von verdächtigen User-Profilen aus dem AdWords-Reporting, auch wenn diese zu einer Conversion geführt haben. Dies gilt jedoch nicht für die Daten aus Google Analytics. Wenn nun eine Conversion über einen entfernten Klick generiert wurde, wird diese Conversion nicht in Google AdWords dargestellt, wohl aber in Google Analytics.

6. Bestimmte Conversions werden nicht in Google Analytics dargestellt

Es gibt einige Conversions, welche nicht in Google Analytics, sondern ausschließlich in Google AdWords ausgespielt werden. Dazu gehören u. a.:

Anruf-Conversion: In Google AdWords können Anruf-Conversions erstellt werden, welche beim Klick auf die Rufnummer (in der AdWords-Anzeige) und dem darauffolgenden Anruf von AdWords gezählt werden. Diese Conversions werden im AdWords-Report dargestellt, jedoch nicht in Google Analytics.

View-Through-Conversion: Eine View-Through-Conversion findet dann statt, wenn ein User eine Anzeige gesehen – aber nicht geklickt – und danach eine Conversion durchgeführt hat. Das Attributionsfenster von View-Through-Conversions beträgt einen Tag. View-Through-Conversions werden dabei ausschließlich in Google AdWords, aber nicht in Google Analytics erfasst, da Google Analytics schließlich keine Kenntnis über den Sichtkontakt der Ad erhält.

7. Fehlende Google-AdWords-Tag-Kennzeichnung

Ein weiterer, oft unterschätzter Punkt, der dazu führen kann, dass sich die Conversion-Zahlen in AdWords und Google Analytics unterscheiden, ist der fehlende Einbau der Google-AdWords-Tag-Kennzeichnung. Insbesondere wenn die automatische Tag-Kennzeichnung deaktiviert wurde und keine manuellen Tags eingebaut wurden, kommt es regelmäßig vor, dass Besucher, die über Google AdWords gewonnen wurden, in Google Analytics als Besucher über die organische Google-Suche eingeordnet werden. Dies verändert selbstverständlich auch die Zuordnung der Conversion in den Google-Analytics-Reports. Daher sollte sichergestellt werden, dass die automatische Tag-Kennzeichnung eingeschaltet ist.

8. JavaScript-Blocker verhindern das Tracking über Google Analytics

In der heutigen Zeit sind JavaScript-Blocker und Browsereinstellungen, die das Laden von JavaScript-Dateien verhindern, keine Seltenheit mehr. Dies führt schlussendlich dazu, dass Besucher nicht in Google Analytics erfasst werden können. Der Klick auf eine Google-AdWords-Anzeige wird jedoch trotzdem gemessen, was im Endeffekt zu unterschiedlichen Klick- und Besucherzahlen in AdWords und Analytics führt.

9. Vorzeitiges Beenden eine AdWords-Kampagne

Im Punkt 2 habe ich bereits die unterschiedliche zeitliche Zuordnung von Kampagnen erläutert. Wenn nun eine Kampagne beendet wird, bei der ein User über die Anzeige auf die Webseite gelangt ist, und nach dem Beenden der Kampagne die Conversion durchgeführt wird, so wird diese Conversion nicht mehr im AdWords-Report dargestellt.

10. Speicherung der URL mit Tag-Kennzeichnung in den Lesezeichen

Es kommt durchaus vor, dass User die besuchte Webseite in den Lesezeichen abspeichern, um diese zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt wieder zu besuchen. Wenn nun die automatische Tag-Kennzeichnung ebenfalls abgespeichert, die Seite aus den Lesezeichen besucht und eine Conversion getätigt wird, so erfasst Google Analytics dies als neue Google-AdWords-Sitzung. Google AdWords kann diesen Besucher jedoch nicht erfassen, da kein Klick auf eine Anzeige generiert wurde. Dies hat zur Folge, dass sich die Aufrufzahlen und Klicks unterscheiden. Die Conversion wird in AdWords dem ersten Klick auf die Anzeige zugeordnet, solange die Conversion noch im Attributionsfenster stattgefunden hat. Google Analytics hingegen rechnet die Conversion dem Klick aus den Lesezeichen hinzu.

Fazit: Unterschiedliche Werte in Google AdWords vs. Google Analytics

Es gibt viele unterschiedliche Gründe, wieso sich Messwerte in Google AdWords von den Zahlen in Google Analytics unterscheiden können. Der wichtigste und häufigste Grund liegt in den unterschiedlichen Attributionsmodellen und in der zeitlichen Zuordnung von Conversions. Ich hoffe, dass dieser Beitrag Dir bei der Beantwortung der Frage „Warum unterscheiden sich die Conversion-Zahlen und andere Messwerte in Google AdWords und Google Analytics?” geholfen hat. Wenn Du weitere Fragen haben solltest, dann warte nicht, mich zu kontaktieren.

Google AdWords vs. Google Analytics
5 (100%) 2 votes