Skip to main content
Visit us at the eCommerce Day in Cologne on April 26. Grab a ticket & arrange a free Amazon Account Check!

With the rapid development of e-commerce, delivering finished products directly to customers without relying on third-party suppliers is becoming the first choice for some companies. This strategy is known as D2C or DTC (Direct to Consumer). Brands that bring their products directly to the customer via DTC skip the middleman, for example the large retail chains in the food or electronics sector.

Direct-to-consumer businesses can manufacture the goods themselves or have them manufactured by a producer. Adhering to DTC gives the company an advantage as only they have full control and access to the product and its sales.

This is where private label and white label come into play. I would now like to explain what these are.

What is a private label?

A private label is a brand that belongs to the retailer. The packaging, sales, price and everything else is managed and controlled by the retailer, but the manufacturer is responsible for production.

The term private label is also known as a trademark in Germany. These have been around for many decades in Germany, but this concept only really became known in e-commerce under the term private label.

Below are some examples of sectors in which private labels are becoming increasingly dominant:

Food

Direct to consumer

Everyone knows the own brands of Aldi and other discounters. They can be found on the shelves next to the branded products and are a cheaper alternative that most customers often reach for.

Electrical appliances

Pixel

Google's smartphones are a good example of private label electronic devices. These have already been manufactured by LG, HTC and most recently Foxconn, but were marketed by Google under the brand name Nexus or Pixel.

Supplements

Private Label Supplements

Supplements such as protein powder are a classic. Manufacturers offer standard formulas or customizable supplements, which are then produced and shipped as private labels as required.

The advantages of private labels for sellers

In e-commerce in particular, there are more and more stores that sell their products as private labels and manufacturers, as well as logistics and fulfillment service providers that enable smooth distribution. This is also a necessity in some sectors due to the price pressure in e-commerce.

Here are some of the great benefits that come with private label:

1) Control and ownership of production

The main advantage of private label is the complete control over the production and ownership of the product. The retailer directs the manufacturer and defines the ingredients, components and even small details such as the shape, structure, texture and size of the product.

2) Adaptability and flexibility

The seller can react quickly to customer feedback and adapt or further develop their product. As there is no middleman, product cycles can be accelerated and the modified product can be offered directly in the seller's own store.

3) Increased margins

Private labels generally allow for larger margins. This creates the opportunity to lower the price or make more profit at the same price. For example, Aldi can sell its nut nougat cream more cheaply than Nutella, as Ferrero does not have to share in the sales revenue.

4) Branding

Consumer loyalty and popularity are driving factors for establishing a brand name in the market. Retailers selling third party brands do not gain a customer market as customers only engage with the products they sell. With private labels, the retailer is allowed to sell the products under their company's brand or brand name, thereby strengthening customer loyalty.

The disadvantages of private labels

There are two sides to every coin - and this is also the case here. Establishing a brand with customers is not easy: producing and labeling products under your own brand name is quite simple these days, but establishing a loyal customer base is not. It is a daunting and arduous task.

In short, the seller is now competing with big names or brands. These established brands have many advantages over a new private label. First of all, their products are available in a wide range in multiple online and offline stores with huge budgets for advertising the products. It is a cut-throat competition that requires patience, efforts, quality and a lot of creative advertising to stand out.

It helps to develop unique selling points in order to differentiate oneself from established brands or to use exclusive sales channels. For example, online stores are able to reach existing customers via email newsletters and explain the benefits of their own product. Modern marketing channels such as social media are also an option where the competition has not yet fully gained a foothold.

What is a white label?

White label products are sold to multiple retailers and are generic. This is a product that is developed and manufactured by and made available to partners with individual branding. In contrast to private label, this partner is not able to change the specifications of the product. They simply receive and distribute a standardized product under their own brand.

There are more and more examples of white label products. Here are some of them:

Services

Private Label Supplements (1)

Digital services such as web development, SEO, social media marketing etc. can be offered as a white label service.

Software

White Label SoftwareSoftware for agencies is often offered as a white label. Sendible, for example, enables agencies to present their services with their own branding and create individualized reports.

Cosmetics

White Label Cosmetics

When it comes to cosmetics, the boundaries between private label and white label are blurred. However, cosmetics manufacturers often offer standard products that are then sold as white label, so that the seller only has to take care of the presentation.

How private label and white label differ

The difference between a private label and a white label can be confusing at first glance. Especially because both are often advertised as private labels or trade names in German, it is often difficult to distinguish between them. However, there are some points in which private label and white label clearly differ from each other.

Type of products

In contrast to white labels, private labels are usually of a physical nature. They are usually produced in large quantities.

On the other hand, white labels are often services or software, but not exclusively.

Reach or market

Private labels are exclusively for the retailer's own brand.

White label products are often generic and therefore designed for a broad market.

Privatization or customization of the product

The customization of products is very easy for the private label owner. The idea behind a private label is that the seller has control over the product, while the manufacturer works to take over production for the owner of the brand.

In the white label sector, products are already being developed and manufactured without having a customer for them. Therefore, these products are not initially designed according to the customer's wishes. On the contrary, the customer chooses their white label product according to their own ideas.

Return on capital

A private label is more expensive, at least initially, as the retailer has to bear all the costs from development and production to packaging and delivery of the end product. Advertising costs are also borne by the retailer. However, due to the exclusivity of the product, a better ROI can be expected.

White label products are available at a lower price in their final form. The biggest investment is the advertising costs, but as there are no development costs, the ROI is high right from the start.

Exclusivity or uniqueness

Since the owner of the brand is the intellectual creator of the product, he can give the products unique designs, details and identities.

White label products are non-exclusive and very generic. Therefore, they do not offer the company any unique features.

How DTC is also gaining a foothold in Germany

Easy access, exclusive products and secure payments with e-commerce websites are strong arguments in favor of the direct to consumer model for entrepreneurs. Traditional companies can offer their products via well-known retailers in order to benefit from the trust that customers place in the retailer. In most cases, however, start-ups and smaller companies do not have the budget to go down this route. They rely on lean sales structures, often outsource production completely and concentrate on what makes them strong: gaining a loyal customer base and serving them optimally.

Companies that rely on DTC often also support local, domestic markets and products. With online store software such as Shopify or WooCommerce, it is easy for a newcomer to set up a store. The integration of sales, marketing, production and fulfillment succeeds without a lot of know-how or a large budget.

DTC is not only an option for e-commerce, but also for offline retailers. However, with the increasingly digital market and door-to-door delivery services, a web store is a particularly good option. Many companies therefore link an offline service or product to an online store.

Direct to consumer

Cooking boxes such as HelloFresh are a good example of this. The brand itself relies on a simple online store and a strong social media presence that uses influencer and blogger marketing to appeal to the target group. There are different meal plans, such as classic or vegetarian, which are tailored to different customer profiles. There is also an Android and iOS app so that customers always know the status of their delivery. This allows HelloFresh to bypass the large retailers and the associated costs.

Due to the willingness to order goods and services online, the DTC market in Germany has developed rapidly. In many sectors, companies are emerging that are redesigning familiar products and making them accessible to specific target groups without relying on the large retail chains. Private label and white label help entrepreneurs to concentrate on marketing and sales, while specialists take care of production and logistics.

Tobias Dziuba

My name is Tobias and I am the founder and managing director of the Amazon agency Adsmasters GmbH based in Düsseldorf.

Your registration could not be saved. Please try again.
Your registration was successful.
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader

Mit der rasanten Entwicklung des E-Commerce wird die Lieferung von Fertigprodukten direkt an die Kunden, ohne auf Drittanbieter angewiesen zu sein, für einige Unternehmen zur ersten Wahl. Diese Strategie ist als D2C oder DTC (Direct to Consumer) bekannt. Marken, die ihre Produkte per DTC direkt an den Kunden bringen, überspringen den Zwischenhändler, beispielsweise die großen Handelsketten im Lebensmittel- oder Elektronikbereich.

Direkt an den Verbraucher gerichtete Geschäfte können die Waren selbst herstellen oder diese von einem Produzenten herstellen lassen. Das Festhalten an DTC verschafft dem Unternehmen einen Vorteil, da nur sie die volle Kontrolle und den vollen Zugriff auf das Produkt und seine Verkäufe haben.

An dieser Stelle kommen Private Label und White Label ins Spiel. Um was es sich dabei handelt, möchte ich jetzt erklären.

Was ist ein Private Label?

Als Private Label bezeichnet man eine Marke, die dem Einzelhändler gehört. Die Verpackung, der Verkauf, der Preis und alles andere wird vom Einzelhändler verwaltet und kontrolliert, für die Produktion ist jedoch der Hersteller zuständig.

Der Begriff Private Label ist in Deutschland auch als Handelsmarke bekannt. Diese findet man bereits seit vielen Jahrzehnten in Deutschland, unter dem Begriff Private Label ist dieses Konzept allerdings erst im E-Commerce so richtig bekannt geworden.

Nachfolgend sind einige Beispiele für Sektoren aufgeführt, in denen Private Labels immer mehr dominieren:

Lebensmittel

Direct to Consumer

Jeder kennt die Eigenmarken von Aldi und anderen Discountern. Sie befinden sich im Regal neben den Markenprodukten und stellen eine günstigere Alternative dar, zu denen die meisten Kunden häufig greifen.

Elektrogeräte

Pixel

Ein gutes Beispiel von Private Label Elektrogeräten sind die Smartphones von Google. Diese wurden bereits von LG, HTC und zuletzt Foxconn hergestellt, aber unter dem Markennamen Nexus oder Pixel von Google vertrieben.

Supplements

Private Label Supplements

Ein Klassiker sind Supplemente wie Eiweißpulver. Die Hersteller bieten Standardformeln oder konfigurierbare Supplemente an, die dann nach Bedarf als Private Label produziert und versendet werden.

Die Vorteile von Handelsmarken für Verkäufer

Gerade im E-Commerce gibt es immer mehr Shops, die ihre Produkte als Private Label vertreiben und Hersteller, sowie Logistik und Fulfillment Dienstleister, die den reibungslosen Vertrieb ermöglichen. Das ist auch in einigen Branchen eine Notwendigkeit, die durch den Preisdruck im E-Commerce entstanden ist.

Hier sind einige der großartigen Vorteile, die durch Eigenmarken entstehen:

1) Kontrolle und Eigentum über die Produktion

Der Hauptvorteil von Handelsmarken ist die vollständige Kontrolle über die Produktion und das Eigentum an dem Produkt. Der Einzelhändler lenkt den Hersteller und definiert die Inhaltsstoffe, Komponenten und sogar kleine Details wie Form, Struktur, Textur und Größe des Produkts.

2) Anpassungsfähigkeit und Flexibilität

Der Verkäufer kann schnell auf das Feedback der Kunden reagieren und sein Produkt anpassen bzw. weiterentwickeln. Da es keinen Mittelsmann gibt, können Produktzyklen beschleunigt werden und das veränderte Produkt direkt im eigenen Shop angeboten werden.

3) Erhöhte Margen

Private Labels ermöglichen in der Regel größeren Margen. Folglich entsteht die Möglichkeit, den Preis zu senken oder bei gleichem Preis mehr Gewinn zu erzielen. Beispielsweise kann Aldi seine Nuss-Nougat-Creme günstiger verkaufen, als Nutella, da Ferrero nicht an den Verkaufserlösen beteiligt werden muss.

4) Markenbildung

Die Loyalität und Popularität der Verbraucher sind treibende Faktoren für die Etablierung eines Markennamens auf dem Markt. Einzelhändler, die Marken Dritter verkaufen, gewinnen keinen Kundenmarkt, da sich die Kunden nur mit den Produkten beschäftigen, die sie verkaufen. Bei Eigenmarken darf der Einzelhändler die Produkte unter der Marke oder dem Markennamen seines Unternehmens verkaufen und stärkt damit die Kundenbindung.

Die Nachteile von Private Labels

Jede Münze hat zwei Seiten – das ist auch hier der Fall. So ist die Etablierung einer Marke bei den Kunden nicht einfach: Die Herstellung und Etikettierung von Produkten unter dem eigenen Markennamen ist zwar heutzutage recht simpel, aber die Etablierung eines loyalen Kundenstamms ist es nicht. Es ist eine gewaltige und mühsame Aufgabe.

Kurz gesagt, der Verkäufer steht nun im Wettbewerb mit großen Namen oder Marken. Diese etablierten Marken haben viele Vorteile gegenüber einer neuen Handelsmarke. Zunächst einmal sind ihre Produkte in einer breiten Palette in mehreren Online- und Offline-Geschäften mit riesigen Budgets für die Werbung der Produkte erhältlich. Es ist ein Verdrängungswettbewerb, der Geduld, Anstrengungen, Qualität und viel kreative Werbung erfordert, um sich zu profilieren.

Es hilft, Alleinstellungsmerkmale zu entwickeln, um sich von den etablierten Marken zu unterscheiden oder exklusive Vertriebswege zu verwenden. So sind Online-Shops beispielsweise in der Lage, Bestandskunden über E-Mail Newsletter zu erreichen und die Vorteile des eigenen Produkts zu erklären. Auch bieten sich moderne Marketing Kanäle wie Social Media an, wo die Konkurrenz noch nicht vollends fuß gefasst hat.

Was ist ein White Label?

White-Label-Produkte werden an mehrere Einzelhändler verkauft und sind generisch. Dabei handelt es sich um ein Produkt, das vom entwickelt und hergestellt wird und Partnern mit individuellem Branding zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Im Gegensatz zum Private Label ist dieser Partner nicht in der Lage, die Spezifikationen des Produktes zu ändern. Er erhält und vertreibt lediglich ein standardisiertes Produkt unter seiner Marke.

Es gibt immer mehr Beispiele von White Label Produkten. Hier sind einige davon:

Services

Private Label Supplements (1)

Digitale Services wie beispielsweise Web Development, SEO, Social Media Marketing etc. können als White Label Service angeboten werden.

Software

White Label SoftwareSoftware für Agenturen wird oft als White Label angeboten. Beispielsweise ermöglicht Sendible es Agenturen, ihre Services mit ihrem eigenen Branding zu präsentieren und individualisierte Reports zu erstellen.

Kosmetik

White Label Kosmetik

Bei Kosmetik verschwimmen die Grenzen zwischen Private Label und White Label. Kosmetikhersteller bieten allerdings oft Standardprodukte an, die dann als White Label verkauft werden, sodass sich der Verkäufer lediglich um die Präsentation kümmern muss.

So unterscheiden sich Private Label und White Label

Der Unterschied zwischen einem Private Label und einem White Label kann auch den ersten Blick verwirrend wirken. Gerade auch, weil im Deutschen beides oft als Private Label oder Handelsnamen angepriesen wird, fällt die Unterscheidung oft schwer. Es gibt aber einige Punkte, in denen sich Private Label und White Label klar voneinander unterscheiden.

Art der Produkte

Private Labels sind, im Gegensatz zu White Labels, meist physischer Natur. Sie werden in der Regel in großen Mengen hergestellt.

Auf der anderen Seite sind White Labels oft Dienstleistungen oder Software, jedoch nicht ausschließlich.

Reichweite oder Markt

Private Labels sind ausschließlich für die Eigenmarke des Einzelhändlers.

White Label-Produkte sind oft generisch und somit für einen breiten Markt konzipiert.

Privatisierung oder kundenspezifische Anpassung des Produkts

Die Anpassung von Produkten ist für den Eigentümer der Handelsmarke sehr einfach. Die Idee hinter einem Private Label ist ja, dass der Verkäufer die Kontrolle über das Produkt hat, während der Hersteller daran arbeitet, die Produktion für den Eigentümer der Marke zu übernehmen.

Im White-Label-Bereich werden bereits Produkte entwickelt und hergestellt, ohne einen Abnehmer dafür zu haben. Daher werden diese Produkte zuerst nicht nach den Wünschen der Kunden gestaltet. Im Gegenteil, der Kunde wählt sich sein White-Label-Produkt nach seinen eigenen Vorstellungen aus.

Kapitalrendite

Ein Private Label ist zumindest anfangs kostspieliger, da der Einzelhändler alle Kosten von der Entwicklung, über die Herstellung bis zur Verpackung und Auslieferung des Endprodukts tragen muss. Auch die Werbekosten werden vom Einzelhändler getragen. Aufgrund der Exklusivität des Produkts kann jedoch ein besserer ROI erwartet werden.

White Label-Produkte sind zu einem günstigeren Preis in ihrer finalen Form erhältlich. Die größte Investition sind die Werbekosten, da jedoch Entwicklungskosten wegfallen, ist der ROI von Anfang an groß.

Exklusivität oder Unikat

Da der Eigentümer der Marke der geistige Schöpfer des Produktes ist, kann er den Produkten einzigartige Designs, Details und Identitäten verleihen.

Produkte unter White Label sind nicht exklusiv und sehr allgemein gehalten. Daher bieten sie dem Unternehmen keine einzigartigen Merkmale.

Wie DTC auch in Deutschland immer besser Fuß fasst

Leichter Zugang, exklusive Produkte und sichere Zahlungen mit E-Commerce-Webseiten sind für Unternehmer starke Argumente für das Direct To Consumer Modell. Traditionelle Unternehmen können ihre Produkte über bekannte Händler anbieten, um von dem Vertrauen, welches Kunde dem Händler entgegenbringt, zu profitieren. Startups und kleinere Unternehmen haben aber in den meisten Fällen nicht das Budget, um diesen Weg zu gehen. Sie setzen auf schlanke Vertriebsstrukturen, lagern die Produktion oft ganz aus und konzentrieren sich auf das, was sie stark macht: eine treue Kundenbasis zu gewinnen und diese optimal zu bedienen.

Unternehmen, die auf DTC setzen, unterstützen oft auch lokale, einheimische Märkte und Produkte. Mit Online-Shop Software wie Shopify oder WooCommerce ist es für einen Neueinsteiger leicht, einen Shop einzurichten. Die Integration von Vertrieb, Marketing, Produktion und Fulfillment gelingt ohne viel Knowhow oder ein großes Budget.

DTC ist nicht nur für E-Commerce eine Option, sondern auch für Offline-Händler. Mit dem zunehmend digitalen Markt und den Haus-zu-Haus-Lieferdiensten bieten sich jedoch ein Web-Shop besonders gut an. Viele Unternehmen verknüpfen einen Offline-Service oder Produkt deshalb mit einem Online-Shop.

Direct to Consumer

Ein gutes Beispiel dafür sind Kochboxen wie HelloFresh. Die Marke selbst setzt auf einen einfachen Online-Shop und eine starke Social Media Präsenz, die Influencer und Blogger Marketing nutzt, um die Zielgruppe anzusprechen. Es gibt verschiedene Speisepläne wie klassisch oder vegetarisch, die auf unterschiedliche Kundenprofile zugeschnitten sind. Damit der Kunde immer über den Stand seiner Lieferung Bescheid weiß, gibt es zudem eine Android und iOS App. Auf diese Weise kann HelloFresh die großen Retailer und die damit verbundenen Kosten umgehen.

Durch die Bereitschaft, Waren und Dienstleistungen online zu bestellen, hat sich der DTC Markt in Deutschland rasant entwickelt. In vielen Branchen entstehen Unternehmen, die altbekannte Produkte neu gestalten und für bestimmte Zielgruppen zugänglich machen, ohne dabei auf die großen Einzelhandelsketten zurückzugreifen. Private Label und White Label helfen Unternehmern dabei, sich auf das Marketing und den Vertrieb zu konzentrieren, während Spezialisten die Produktion und Logistik übernehmen.

Tobias Dziuba

Tobias Dziuba

Mein Name ist Tobias und ich schreibe auf dieser Seite über Digitale Marketing Trends.