Skip to main content
Besuch uns auf dem eCommerce Day in Köln am 26. April. Schnapp Dir ein Ticket & vereinbare einen kostenlosen Amazon Account Check!

When it comes to evaluating and generating backlinks, simple tools such as the Google Search Console are of little help, as they lack all kinds of information provided by special SEO tools. But even with these mostly paid tools, there is no tool that masters all functions perfectly.

For this reason, I have compiled what I consider to be the best backlink tools as well as similar but free alternatives in this article. Never lose track of your backlinks again, optimize your link building and know exactly who your competitors are!

1. Ahrefs

Ahrefs is the leading tool for SEOs who want to use as many functions as possible combined in one software package. However, Ahrefs started out as a backlink tool - hence the name derived from the HTML tag <a href…> is derived.

This makes it clear why I consider Ahrefs to be the leading SEO tool for monitoring and generating new backlinks. The huge link database and the frequency with which domains are crawled and new links are added to the database is currently unrivaled. This in turn leads to accurate data in relation to the metrics DR (Domain Rating) and UR (URL Rating).

I would like to highlight one feature that is particularly helpful for link building: Link Intersect.

ahrefLink Intersect finds links from sources that do not link to your site, but to the competition.

This allows you to create a list of domains that link to the competition, but not to your (or any) site. Ahrefs also displays the domain rating of the linking domain, which provides information on how strong the domain is from an SEO perspective, as it receives many links from domains that Google trusts.

These domains would probably also link to your site if you can draw positive attention to yourself or build up a friendly relationship. After all, your competitors are websites with similar content.

In addition to this feature, Ahrefs also includes the ability to check up to 400 domains or URLs simultaneously. This makes it one of the most powerful bulk backlink checkers.

Best alternatives: Moz Pro, SemRush, Cognitive SEO, SE Ranking, Sistrix, Serpstat

Free alternative: Ubersuggest

2. Majestic

Majestic is often listed as an alternative to Ahrefs. However, it is more of a specialist for everything to do with backlinks, as it simply does away with tools for keyword research, audits, content etc.. Instead, Majestic is just right for anyone who can do without these functions and only wants to evaluate backlinks.

For this purpose, Majestic has not only introduced two metrics, Trust Flow and Citation Flow, but even calculates the TF value for all categories of websites individually! This is what the Majestic user interface looks like:

MajesticMajestic not only displays data such as backlinks, referring domains, IPs or subnets for the domain NFL.com, but also calculates the Trust Flow and Citation Flow as the decisive metrics and also displays these as a graph.

The Trust Flow is a value that reflects the quality of the links. Majestic assigns websites to a category and measures the TF independently for each category.

Example: Your website receives a link from the Stuttgarter Zeitung, which increases the TF in the News category to a value above 0. However, your website does not have a link from a website in the Art category and therefore has a TF value of 0.

This allows you to check the possible sources for quality in relation to your niche when link building. Links from websites that have a good reputation in your niche are more useful than links from websites that are not relevant in your niche.

Furthermore, the link graph provides a visual overview of your backlinks and the relationship between the link sources across several levels.

If you want to evaluate the quality of a website in terms of off-page SEO at a glance, all you have to do is look at the link profile. Here, all referring domains are displayed as dots, with the X-axis representing the CF (strength of the links) and the Y-axis the TF (quality). Ideally, the majority of the dots should be to the left and above the diagonal.

Best alternatives: LinkMiner

Free alternative: Ahrefs Free Backlink Checker

3. Monitor backlinks

While tools such as Ahrefs are suitable for monitoring links, there are other tools that do this more cheaply and undoubtedly better. The two most popular tools for this purpose are Monitor Backlinks and Linkody.

Monitor Backlinks obtains data from both MOZ and Majestic and can therefore display metrics from both tools at a glance. In addition to the values known from Majestic, such as TF and CF, the spam score, the Moz rank and the domain authority of the link source are also displayed.

Analyze backlinksMonitor Backlinks shows the important date, link source, link target and various SEO values at a glance.

In addition to this core functionality, Monitor Backlinks can also display competitor links and perform keyword tracking. The spam score provided by Moz lets you filter out backlinks that could harm your site and export them to create a disavow list. Email notifications can be set up for events such as the loss or gain of links.

Best alternatives: Linkody, Nightwatch

Free Alternative: Ubersuggest

4. Pitchbox

If you do link outreach on a large scale, there is no getting around tools. The choice is particularly large. With Pitchbox, NinjaOutreach, BuzzStream and many other tools, you are spoiled for choice. But I prefer Pitchbox!

pirchboxWith Pitchbox you can find sources for backlinks, such as bloggers, and implement outreach campaigns.

Pitchbox is an influencer outreach & content marketing platform that is very well suited for SEO. The tool takes care of everything from monitoring your campaigns to creating emails. Unlike many other outreach tools, you can enter the SEO data from Ahrefs, SemRush etc. here - this gives you an overview of the quality of the links you can receive from individual bloggers or websites.

Pitchbox also offers the e-mail sequence function. This allows you to prepare several e-mails that are sent at the desired time when a certain trigger occurs. A contact can then be excluded from a sequence at any time and the individual contact can be initiated. The software can be connected to Gmail or Office 365.

Best alternatives: NinjaOutreach, BuzzStream, GroupHigh, BuzzSumo, Respona, Klear

Free alternative: SalesHandy

5. Hunter.io

Hunter.io automatically scans websites for emails. This can be particularly useful if you have created a list of potential link sources using a tool such as Ahrefs. After all, you need to find out the contact details and if you have to do this for hundreds of websites, you should automate this process.

With Hunter.io, you can enter a list of domains and the program will search its database for contact details, including name, position and email address. Hunter also offers an e-mail verification function. This means that you can be relatively certain that the address data is incorrect.

hunter.ioHunter not only displays the e-mail addresses, but also shows the sources of the information.

To use this tool for link building, you can integrate your Gmail account and implement outreach campaigns including email sequences and monitoring directly from here. In some cases, the use of a tool like Pitchbox can be avoided.

Best alternatives: Snov.io, VoilaNorbert

Free alternative: AeroLeads

Premium backlink tools vs free backlink tools

Many of the premium tools presented here can be tested free of charge. However, the scope of use is often limited. So if you want to use such tools regularly, you have to fall back on free alternatives.

In most cases, these are either fully developed, have only a few features or are simply a slimmed-down version of the paid version. For example, with Ubersuggest You can do many things with this tool, such as checking backlinks, conducting keyword research or performing simple audits. The tool can be used free of charge, but then only displays a small selection of links or keywords and is therefore of little use for professional applications. Nevertheless, it is the best free SEO tool for many applications.

Also useful are the free Backlink Tool from Ahrefs or the free version of SemRush, which is limited to 10 actions per day.

Tobias Dziuba

My name is Tobias and I am the founder and managing director of the Amazon agency Adsmasters GmbH based in Düsseldorf.

Your registration could not be saved. Please try again.
Your registration was successful.
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader

Bei der Auswertung und Generierung von Backlinks helfen einfache Tools wie die Google Search Console kaum weiter, denn fehlen allerhand Informationen, die von speziellen SEO Tools bereitgestellt werden. Aber auch bei diesen meist kostenpflichtigen Tools gibt es keines, das alle Funktionen perfekt beherrscht.

Aus diesem Grund habe ich die meiner Meinung nach besten Backlink-Tools sowie möglichst ähnliche, aber kostenlose Alternativen in diesem Beitrag zusammengetragen. Verliere nie wieder den Überblick über deine Backlinks, optimiere dein Linkbuilding und wisse genau über deine Konkurrenzen Bescheid!

1. Ahrefs

Ahrefs ist das führende Tool für SEOs, die möglichst viele Funktionen in einem Software-Paket kombiniert benutzen wollen. Angefangen hat Ahrefs allerdings als Backlink Tool – daher auch der vom HTML-Tag <a href…> abgeleitet ist.

Somit ist auch gleich klar, warum für mich Ahrefs das führende SEO Tool für das Monitoring und die Generierung von neuen Backlinks ist. Die riesige Link-Datenbank, sowie die Frequenz, mit der Domains gecrawlt werden und somit neue Links in den Bestand aufgenommen werden, ist momentan unerreicht. Dies führt wiederum zu genauen Daten in Bezug auf die Metrics DR (Domain Rating) und UR (URL Rating).

Ein Feature möchte ich herausstellen, welches beim Linkbuilding ist besonders hilfreich ist: Link Intersect.

ahrefLink Intersect findet Links von Quellen, die nicht auf deine Seite, aber auf die Konkurrenz verlinken.

Auf diese Weise lässt sich eine Liste an Domains erstellen, die zwar auf die Konkurrenz verlinken, allerdings nicht auf deine (oder eine beliebige) Seite. Zudem zeigt Ahrefs das Domain Rating der verlinkenden Domain an, was Aufschluss darauf gibt, wie stark die Domain aus SEO-Sicht ist, da sie selbst viele Links von Domains erhält, denen Google vertraut.

Diese Domains würden wahrscheinlich auch auf deine Seite verlinken, wenn du ein positiv auf dich aufmerksam machen kannst oder ein freundschaftliches Verhältnis aufbaust. Schließlich handelt es sich bei der Konkurrenz um Webseiten mit ähnlichem Inhalt.

Neben diesem Feature umfasst Ahrefs zudem die Möglichkeit zur Überprüfung von bis zu 400 Domains oder URLs gleichzeitig. Es ist damit einer der leistungsfähigsten Bulk Backlink Checker.

Beste Alternativen: Moz Pro, SemRush, Cognitive SEO, SE Ranking, Sistrix, Serpstat

Kostenlose Alternative: Ubersuggest

2. Majestic

Majestic wird oft als Alternative zu Ahrefs aufgelistet. Dabei ist es eher ein Spezialist für alles, was mit Backlinks zu tun hat, denn schließlich fallen hier Tools zur Keywordrecherche, Audits, Content etc. einfach weg. Dafür ist Majestic genau das Richtige für jeden, der auf diese Funktionen verzichten kann und nur Backlinks auswerten will.

Zu diesem Zwecke hat Majestic nicht nur zwei Metrics, Trust Flow und Citation Flow, eingeführt, sondern berechnet den TF-Wert sogar für alle Kategorien von Webseiten einzeln! Und sieht die Benutzeroberfläche von Majestic aus:

MajesticMajestic zeigt für die Domain NFL.com nicht nur Daten wie die Backlinks, Referring Domains, IPs oder Subnets an, sondern berechnet den Trust Flow und Citation Flow als maßgebende Metrik und stellt diese zudem als Graph dar.

Der Trust Flow ist dabei ein Wert, der die Qualität der Links wiedergibt. Majestic ordnet dabei Webseiten einer Kategorie zu und misst den TF unabhängig für jede Kategorie.

Beispiel: Deine Webseite erhält einen Link von der Stuttgarter Zeitung, was den TF im Bereich News auf einen Wert über 0 erhöht. Deine Webseite hat jedoch keinen Link von einer Webseite in der Kategorie Kunst und verfügt somit über einen TF-Wert von 0.

Das ermöglicht es dir, beim Linkbuilding die möglichen Quellen auf Qualität in Bezug auf deine Nische zu überprüfen. Links von Webseiten, die in deiner Nische einen guten Ruf haben, sind nämlich nützlicher, als Links von Webseiten, die in deiner Nische nicht relevant sind.

Des Weiteren bietet der Link Graph eine visuelle Übersicht über deine Backlinks und das Verhältnis von den Linkquellen über mehrere Ebenen hinweg.

Wer die Qualität einer Webseite in Bezug auf Offpage-SEO auf einen Blick bewerten will, muss nur auf das Link Profile schauen. Hier werden alle verweisenden Domains als Punkt dargestellt, wobei die X-Achse den CF (Stärke der Links) und die Y-Achse den TF (Qualität) wiedergibt. Optimalerweise sollten sich die Mehrheit der Punkte links und oberhalb der Diagonalen befinden.

Beste Alternativen: LinkMiner

Kostenlose Alternative: Ahrefs Free Backlink Checker

3. Monitor Backlinks

Während Tools wie Ahrefs zwar zum Monitoring von Links geeignet sind, gibt es noch andere Tools, die das preisgünstiger und zweifelsfrei auch besser erledigen. Die zwei beliebtesten Tools für diesen Zweck sind Monitor Backlinks und Linkody.

Monitor Backlinks bezieht Daten sowohl von MOZ, als auch von Majestic und kann deshalb Metrics von beiden Tools auf einen Blick anzeigen. Neben den von Majestic bekannten Werten wie TF und CF, werden also zudem der Spam Score, der Moz Rank, sowie die Domain Authority der Linkquelle angegeben.

backlinks analysierenMonitor Backlinks zeigt auf einen Blick wichtigen Datum, Linkquelle, Linkziel und verschiedene SEO-Werte an.

Neben dieser Kernfunktionalität kann Monitor Backlinks auch die Links der Konkurrenz anzeigen, sowie Keyword Tracking vornehmen. Der von Moz gelieferte Spam Score lässt dich Backlinks, die deiner Seite schaden können, herausfiltern und zur Erstellung einer Disavow-Liste exportieren. E-Mail Benachrichtigungen können für Events wie den Verlust oder den Hinzugewinn von Links eingerichtet werden.

Beste Alternativen: Linkody, Nightwatch

Free Alternative: Ubersuggest

4. Pitchbox

Wer Link Outreach im großen Stil betreibt, der kommt um Tools nicht herum. Dabei ist die Auswahl besonders groß. Mit Pitchbox, NinjaOutreach, BuzzStream und vielen weiteren Tools hast du die Qual der Wahl. Ich jedoch bevorzuge Pitchbox!

pirchboxMit Pitchbox lassen sich Quellen für Backlinks, wie beispielsweise Blogger finden und Outreach Kampagnen umsetzen.

Pitchbox ist eine Influencer Outreach & Content Marketing Plattform, die sich sehr gut für SEO eignet. Das Tool übernimmt dabei vom Monitoring deiner Kampagnen, bis zum Erstellungen von E-Mails alles. Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Outreach Tools kannst du hier die SEO-Daten von Ahrefs, SemRush etc. einpflegen – damit hast du einen Überblick über die Qualität der Links, die du von einzelnen Bloggern oder Webseiten erhalten kannst.

Zudem bietet Pitchbox die Funktion der E-Mail Sequenzen an. So lassen sich mehrere E-Mails vorbereiten, die bei Eintreten eines bestimmten Triggers zur gewünschten Zeit gesendet werden. Jederzeit kann ein Kontakt dann aus einer Sequenz ausgeschlossen werden und der individuelle Kontakt eingeleitet werden. Die Software lässt sich mit Gmail oder Office 365 verbinden.

Beste Alternativen: NinjaOutreach, BuzzStream, GroupHigh, BuzzSumo, Respona, Klear

Kostenlose Alternative: SalesHandy

5. Hunter.io

Hunter.io untersucht Webseiten automatisch nach E-Mails. Dies kann vor allem nützlich sein, wenn du beispielsweise mit einem Tool wie Ahrefs eine Liste von potenziellen Linkquellen erstellt hast. Schlussendlich musst du ja die Kontaktdaten herausfinden und wenn du das für hunderte Webseiten machen musst, solltest du diesen Vorgang automatisieren.

Mit Hunter.io kannst du eine Liste von Domains angeben, daraufhin durchsucht das Programm seine Datenbank nach Kontaktdetails, inklusive Namen, Position und E-Mail Adresse. Zudem bietet Hunter die Funktion der E-Mail Verifizierung an. Somit kannst du mit relativ großer Sicherheit ausschließlich, dass die Adressdaten falsch sind.

hunter.ioHunter zeigt nicht nur die E-Mail Adressen an, sondern zeigt auch die Quellen der Information an.

Um dieses Tool für Linkbuilding zu verwenden, kannst du deinen Gmail Account integrieren und Outreach Kampagnen samt E-Mail Sequenzen und Monitoring direkt von hier aus umsetzen. In einigen Fällen kann somit die Nutzung eines Tools wie Pitchbox umgangen werden.

Beste Alternativen: Snov.io, VoilaNorbert

Kostenlose Alternative: AeroLeads

Premium Backlink Tools vs kostenlose Backlink Tools

Viele der hier vorgestellten Premium-Tools lassen sich kostenlos testen. Der Nutzungsrahmen ist dabei aber oft eingeschränkt. Wer solche Tools also regelmäßig verwenden will, muss also auf kostenlose Alternativen zurückgreifen.

Diese sind in den meisten Fällen entweder ausgereift, bringen nur wenige Features mit oder einfach eine abgespeckte Version der kostenpflichtigen Version. Beispielsweise lassen sich mit Ubersuggest viele Dinge machen, beispielsweise Backlinks checken, Keywordrecherche betreiben oder einfache Audits durchführen. Das Tool lässt sich kostenlos benutzen, zeigt dann aber nur eine kleine Auswahl an Links oder Keywords an und ist damit für professionelle Anwendungen kaum zu gebrauchen. Dennoch ist es das beste, kostenlose SEO Tool für viele Anwendungen.

Nützlich sind zudem das kostenlose Backlink Tool von Ahrefs oder die kostenlose Version von SemRush, die auf 10 Aktionen pro Tag beschränkt ist.

Tobias Dziuba

Tobias Dziuba

Mein Name ist Tobias und ich schreibe auf dieser Seite über Digitale Marketing Trends.