Skip to main content
Visit us at the eCommerce Day in Cologne on April 26. Grab a ticket & arrange a free Amazon Account Check!

Amazon and Alibaba - two corporate giants that lead the e-commerce market. But is this really the case? We dare to compare the two and examine the extent to which the two platforms can be compared and how they differ.

The founding fathers

Amazon - and its founder Jeff Bezos

Amazon is a household name for many, if not all, people these days: they shop there for both physical and digital products, watch films and series via Prime Video and listen to music via Prime Music. However, this large corporation began back in 1993 when a certain Jeff Bezos decided to set up an online bookshop. Born in 1964 and with a degree in electrical engineering and computer science, he had previously worked in various areas of the financial sector on Wall Street. In 1994, he launched his online store "Cadabra". At that time, websites were still listed alphabetically, so he renamed his store "Amazon", after the Amazon river, in order to appear right at the top with his store. The foundation stone for today's Amazon was laid.

As early as 1998, online sales of music and videos were added, followed by other products at the end of the same year. In the course of the following 23 years the product range was expanded to include services such as Amazon Web Services, Amazon Kindle and Amazon Rekognition.

In addition to Amazon, Bezos founded other companies and projects, such as Blue Origin (space program) or its venture capital Bezos Expeditions. Amazon has also acquired more than 40 companies, including the online streaming platform Twitch and the Whole Foods retail chain, with a total value of more than 500 billion US dollars.

In February 2021, Bezos announced his Resignation as CEO for the 3rd quarter of 2021 to become Chairman of the Executive Board.

Alibaba - and its founder Jack Ma

Alibaba and the forty thieves" - a fairy tale that people all over the world know and whose name is widely recognized. Jack Ma, an English teacher from Hangzhou, China, also had this thought in mind when he launched the website alibaba.com as a B2B online marketplace with his wife Zhang Ying and 16 other friends in 1999. Before that, Ma had already founded two other companies: the Hangzhou Hope Translation Agency, which employed retired English teachers, and his first Internet company, China Pages. Armed with this experience, Alibaba got off to a flying start and won a total investment of 25 million US dollars from investors Goldman Sachs and Softbank in 1999-2000. The Alibaba Group founded various subsidiaries in the following years, including AliExpress, Taobao and Tmall.

Until 2013, Jack Ma was Chairman of the Executive Board of Alibaba Groupbut then withdrew more and more from the public eye and temporarily disappeared altogether in the fall of 2020. Ma had previously strongly criticized the Chinese banking system in public.

Amazon vs. Alibaba company focus

Both Amazon and Alibaba have their roots in the early days of the Internet and have therefore been around for a very long time. Both began as Internet platforms for online trading and have developed considerably since then. However, while Amazon's focus is very much on the B2C relationship, Alibaba is definitely more broadly positioned. Alibaba's focus has shifted in recent years from alibaba.com to Taobao its own C2C online auction house. This is Alibaba's most profitable online platform and recently generated approx. 80% of total sales from

A comparison of the companies

Logistics and shipping

As mentioned above, the Alibaba Group founded several subsidiaries as umbrella companies, including the aforementioned platforms Alibaba, AliExpress, Taobao and Tmall. It also has its own online payment system Alipay, the smart logistics network Cainiao and the fast-growing e-commerce platform Lazada, to name just a few of the companies.

Particularly noteworthy is Cainiao Network: 2013 as a logistics company for Alibaba Group  was founded to realize the vision of delivery within China in 24 to 72 hours. Cainiao is currently working with over 270 logistics companies worldwide to pursue this plan and has also started to build its own fleet.

Amazon takes a slightly different approach with its own logistics company Amazon Logistics. Amazon has invested several billion US dollars in its own fleet of more than 40,000 articulated trucks and 75 cargo planes. While Alibaba relies on a network of transport companies, Amazon prefers to trust itself and retains full control over the transport routes and means.

One of the biggest challenges for both companies is the so-called "last mile": in the transport chain, this refers to the direct route to the customer's front door, e.g. via DHL, UPS or Fedex, or - in Amazon's case - via its own warehouse. Logistics company. This "last mile" accounts for around fifty percent of total transportation costs. Both Alibaba and Amazon are currently testing automated processes using moving robots or drones to reduce transportation costs at this point.

While Amazon is already several hundred warehouses owns, Alibaba had little to no warehouses of its own due to its structure: the merchants, who are on sites like AliExpress sell their goods directly to their customers. This has enabled the company to operate very cost-effectively to date. However, Alibaba has also realized that central warehouses on site are a great advantage. Cainiao operates several warehouses, including the largest Fully automated warehouse of the world in Wuxi, China. According to the company, it works twice as efficiently as a conventional warehouse as the processes are automated and standardized. Here, too, Alibaba saves enormous costs compared to Amazon, as significantly fewer employees are needed and processes run faster. Amazon itself has already made considerable progress and is also using robots from Amazon Robotics together with employees to increase efficiency and speed up transportation. For one Fully automated warehouse as in Wuxi, however, still requires a great deal of investment and Innovation.

Amazon's shipping advantage

However, one of the big advantages Amazon has over Alibaba is the delivery time and the cost of shipping. Prime, Amazon's subscription model, allows customers to receive their products free of charge and usually within 24 hours, sometimes even on the same day (so-called "same day" deliveries). This service is currently available in 21 countries and is not exactly cheap: you currently pay 69 euros for an annual subscription, or 7.99 euros per month (as of April 2021). In addition to free shipping for most products, Amazon Prime also offers access to its video-on-demand service Prime Video or its music streaming service Prime Music, for example.

If you compare this with Alibaba, the Chinese internet company The shipping costs incurred depend on the retailer, the location of the retailer and local parcel services. Alibaba is currently planning a 3 US dollar subscription for customers in China, similar to Amazon Prime.

For many products from China, however, European customers incur customs costs in addition to shipping. Depending on the type of product, it can also happen that the goods get stuck at customs completely and you have to accept additional costs. In the worst case scenario, the goods are not only held up, but also destroyed by customs after inspection.

This is due to the numerous forgeriesespecially luxury branded goods that circulate on the Chinese market and find their way to end customers via platforms such as AliExpress. Alibaba is working hard to change this negative image and in 2016 founded its own Anti-counterfeiting alliancewhich now houses around 121 brands, including well-known luxury brands such as Louis Vuitton, Michael Kors and Prada, as well as brands such as Disney, Apple and Starbucks.

But also Amazon is not immune to counterfeit products: just recently, Amazon, together with GoPro files suitbecause counterfeit GoPro camera accessories were to be offered in the Amazon store. Like Alibaba, Amazon has now also launched a Separate department for counterfeiting crime (Counterfeit Crimes Unit) to fight against counterfeit products to be better protected.

Marketing strategies and target groups

Many eCommerce platforms failed in the past because they managed to attract customers' attention, but not their loyalty - Amazon managed to do both. According to Amazon's own statement, the platform's success lies in the fact that it offers simple and intuitive functionality, very good customer service, as well as safe and secure shopping. trustworthy payment methods. (It should be mentioned here that Amazon has already had its own payment service, Amazon Pay, for some time). Amazon's website also offers a variety of functions designed to make the shopping experience easier for customers. These include a well-functioning search function that sorts products using an algorithm and corresponding keywords, a "look inside the book" function and wish lists. Amazon's marketing strategy is strongly geared towards customers and is therefore a model example of an eCommerce platform with a B2C focus.

If we compare this consumer orientation with Alibaba's focus, it quickly becomes clear that these two companies are in no way comparable. While Amazon mainly brings products directly to consumers, Alibaba's focus is on retailers. In an interview, Jack Ma stated that his company wants to enable small retailers to reach as many people as a large global corporation. A major challenge that Alibaba is mastering with flying colors. The group is considered a so-called "smart business", as many decisions and strategies are based on AI analyses. It combines the functionality of platforms such as Amazon, eBay, PayPal, Google and FedEx. Alibaba achieves this by combining thousands of small Chinese businesses, creating a faster, smarter and much more efficient corporate structure than traditional ones.

Alibaba is a fast-growing, modern company that has picked up speed to conquer markets outside China. Amazon could have problems with its established but cumbersome system if it wants to keep up.

Interim conclusion: Both Alibaba and Amazon are working hard to expand their networks, both in terms of transportation and retailers. Both sides are working hard to operate cost-efficiently and respond to the needs of customers in order to stay ahead in eCommerce. So who comes out on top in this race? The best way to find out is to look at sales in recent years and market shares at home and abroad.

Numbers do not lie

If one compares only the Equity capital of companies, Alibaba is clearly ahead. With  164,071 billion US dollarsIn 2021, the company slipped well ahead of Amazon, whose equity amounted to USD 93,404 billion in 2020. However, Alibaba's total assets in 2021 amounted to 257,978 billion US dollarswhereas Amazon already had assets of 321.2 billion US dollars in 2020.

With a view to the Annual reports However, based on the past few years and the corresponding share prices, it is safe to say that both Alibaba (NYSE: BABA) and Amazon (NASDAQ: AMZN) have grown strongly. Even if Amazon's share price has just exceeded the is worth four times as much as Alibaba'sit is clear to see how much potential Alibaba has as a company: in the period between 2017 and 2019 alone, Alibaba's share price rose by 144%, whereas Amazon "only" had 58% growth to show for itself. If you put this into context with the 2017 sales figures, a clear picture emerges of who is currently experiencing the greater growth. While the raw figures still show Amazon as the winner (with sales of USD 177.87 billion compared to Alibaba's USD 39.9 billion), the growth rates are clear: Amazon's turnover increased by 31% compared to the previous year, while Alibaba generated a strong 46,91%. In 2019 alone, Alibaba accounted for 55.9% of all Online retail sales in China. In comparison, Amazon only achieved 37.3% in the USA.

Market shares and foray into new markets

These figures are strongly linked to the respective market shares of the companies.  While Amazon dominates large parts of the western eCommerce market, the companies' market shares in Germany are nevertheless balanced. Amazon's market share in Germany is between 6,5% (pet products) and 24% (Electronics & Computers) in the second half of 2019. In China, on the other hand, Alibaba is holding its own with a market share of a proud 60% in the eCommerce segment.

Both companies are also striving to penetrate each other's markets. But can this even succeed?

One of Alibaba's first major ventures was with its company Cainiao: in July 2021, Cainiao began hiring new employees for a new warehouse that is set to play a central role in conquering the European market. The so-called smart-logistics hub is located at Liège Airport, Belgium, and is part of a larger planned warehouse. Alibaba already operates two of its own warehouses in Germany. They are intended in particular to serve the German and Scandinavian market cover. So the question of logistics has been answered, but the question remains as to how willing consumers are to buy from Alibaba. According to a survey conducted by market research company Statista in 2021, only 33% would shop on Alibaba and around 47% would not. The Distrust compared to a Chinese eCommerce platform seems to persist, fueled among other things by possible counterfeits and the prejudice of poor product quality.

In addition, the B2C platform AliExpress in particular has a positive effect on many Western customers. dubiousLots of animations, lots of bright pictures, garish colors. A culture shock, especially for older generations. The German website in particular does not make a good impression due to its texts and product descriptions, as a lot of retailer texts from Chinese were simply chased through Google Translator once, which in some places led to funny word creations leads.

Example of a translation on Aliexpress

aliexpress

(Screenshot AliExpress.com, 22.08.2021)

And Amazon? Amazon dared to venture into the Chinese market back in 2004, when it launched the Chinese eCommerce platform Joyo.com and it was renamed "Amazon China". Due to strong competition, including Alibaba, Amazon China completely stopped selling local goods in 2019. Currently, the amazon.cn site only offers imported products for B2C sales, including from countries such as the USA, UK, Germany and Japan. Conversely, sellers from China can sell their products to overseas customers via Amazon. It is estimated that 200,000 Chinese traders are currently active on Amazon, with most sales going to the USA. The sheer Alibaba's superiority has brought Amazon China to its knees and created a niche from which Amazon can still emerge victorious if it capitalizes on this particular type of eCommerce.

Another major challenge for Amazon is the downright uselessness of the Prime offer on the Chinese market. Alibaba already ships within China free shippingand a lot of Prime Video content is censored there. Conversely Alibaba it is much easier to expand into the western market. While China has strict regulations, such as the censorship of film material, the western market is much more open when it comes to cultural issues.

If Amazon wants to continue to expand in China, the eCommerce via mobile devices should not be lost sight of: Around 60% of the Chinese online trade are processed via mobile apps.

Conclusion - Amazon vs. Alibaba

Both groups are emerging as strong, still growing eCommerce company stand out. With their corresponding B2C platforms, both Alibaba and Amazon offer a wide range of products that can be delivered to customers in around 24 to 72 hours. Plenty of work is being done on the means of transportation, although it remains to be seen whether Amazon's own fleet or Alibaba's "logistics network" Cainiao is the better way forward.

Time will tell which of the both companies has the better eCommerce strategies.

Who is worth more - Amazon or Alibaba?

Amazon's company valuation (as of Sep. 2021) is four times higher than that of Alibaba.

Who makes more sales - Amazon or Alibaba?

If you put this into context with the 2017 sales figures, a clear picture emerges of who is currently experiencing the greater growth. The raw figures still show Amazon as the winner (with sales of USD 177.87 billion compared to Alibaba's USD 39.9 billion).

Tobias Dziuba

My name is Tobias and I am the founder and managing director of the Amazon agency Adsmasters GmbH based in Düsseldorf.

Your registration could not be saved. Please try again.
Your registration was successful.
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader

Amazon und Alibaba – zwei Konzerngiganten, welche den Markt des eCommerce anführen. Doch ist es dem wirklich so? Wir wagen einen Vergleich der beiden und untersuchen, inwiefern die beiden Plattformen zu vergleichen sind und worin sie sich unterscheiden.

Die Gründerväter

Amazon – und sein Gründer Jeff Bezos

Amazon ist heutzutage vielen, wenn nicht gar allen, ein Begriff: es wird dort eingekauft, physische wie digitale Produkte, es werden Filme und Serien über Prime Video konsumiert und Musik über Prime Music. Begonnen hat dieser Großkonzern jedoch bereits 1993, als ein gewisser Jeff Bezos beschloss, eine Online-Buchhandlung zu gründen. Geboren 1964, und mit einem Abschluss in Elektrotechnik und Informatik, hatte dieser zuvor in verschiedenen Bereichen im Finanzsektor an der Wallstreet gearbeitet. 1994 startete er aus einer Garage heraus seinen Online-Shop „Cadabra“. Zur damaligen Zeit wurden Websites noch alphabetisch gelistet, sodass er seinen Shop in „Amazon“, nach dem Fluss Amazonas, umbenannte, um direkt ganz oben mit seinem Shop aufzutauchen. Der Grundstein für das heutige Unternehmen Amazon war gelegt.

Bereits 1998 kamen der Onlineverkauf von Musik und Videos hinzu, Ende desselben Jahres weitere Produkte. Im Laufe der darauffolgenden 23 Jahre wurde die Produktpalette um Dienste wie Amazon Web Services, Amazon Kindle oder Amazon Rekognition erweitert.

Bezos gründete neben Amazon noch weitere Firmen und Projekte, wie Blue Origin (Raumfahrtprogramm) oder sein Venture-Capital Bezos Expeditions. Zudem kaufte Amazon über 40 Unternehmen auf, darunter die Online-Streamingplattform Twitch und die Einzelhandelskette Whole Foods, mit einem Gesamtwert von mehr als 500 Mrd. US-Dollar.

Im Februar 2021 kündigte Bezos seinen Rücktritt als CEO für das 3. Quartal 2021 am, um Vorstandsvorsitzender zu werden.

Alibaba – und sein Gründer Jack Ma

„Alibaba und die vierzig Räuber“ – ein Märchen, welches Menschen auf der ganzen Welt kennen und dessen Namen weithin bekannt ist. Diesen Gedanken hatte auch Jack Ma, ein Englischlehrer aus Hangzhou, China, als er 1999 mit seiner Frau Zhang Ying und 16 weiteren Freunden die Website alibaba.com als B2B-Online-Marktplatz startete. Zuvor hatte Ma bereits zwei weitere Unternehmen gegründet: die Hangzhou Hope Translation Agency, welche pensionierte Englischlehrer angestellt wurden, und sein erstes Internetunternehmen, die China Pages. Gewappnet mit dieser Erfahrung startete Alibaba steil durch und gewann bereits 1999-2000 eine Gesamtinvestition von 25 Mio. US-Dollar der Investoren Goldman Sachs und Softbank. Die Alibaba Group gründete in den folgenden Jahren verschiedene Tochterunternehmen, darunter AliExpress, Taobao, oder Tmall.

Bis 2013 war Jack Ma Vorstandsvorsitzender der Alibaba Group, zog sich jedoch danach immer mehr aus der Öffentlichkeit zurück und verschwand im Herbst 2020 zeitweise gänzlich. Ma hatte zuvor das chinesische Bankensystem öffentlich stark kritisiert.

Unternehmensfokus

Sowohl Amazon, als auch Alibaba, haben ihre Wurzeln in der Anfangszeit des Internets und bestehen dementsprechend schon sehr lange. Beide begannen als Internetplattformen für Online-Handel und haben sich seitdem stark weiterentwickelt. Während Amazons Fokus jedoch sehr stark auf der B2C-Beziehung liegt, ist Alibaba durchaus weiter aufgestellt. Alibabas Schwerpunkt ist in den vergangenen Jahren von alibaba.com zu Taobao gewandert, das eigene C2C-Online-Auktionshaus. Dieses stellt Alibabas profitabelste Online-Plattform dar, und machte zuletzt ca. 80% der Gesamtumsätze aus

Die Unternehmen im Vergleich

Logistik und Versand

Wie bereits oben erwähnt gründete die Alibaba Group als Dach-Unternehmen einige Tochterfirmen, darunter die bereits erwähnten Plattformen Alibaba, AliExpress, Taobao und Tmall. Hinzu kommen das eigene Online-Bezahlsystem Alipay, das smart logistics network Cainiao, sowie die schnell wachsende eCommerce-Plattform Lazada, um eine Auswahl der Unternehmen zu nennen.

Besonders hervorzuheben ist Cainiao Network: 2013 als Logistikunternehmen für Alibaba Group  gegründet, sollte es die Vision einer Lieferung innerhalb Chinas in 24 bis 72 Stunden realisieren. Cainiao arbeitet zum aktuellen Zeitpunkt mit über 270 Logistikunternehmen weltweit zusammen um diesen Plan zu verfolgen, und hat auch begonnen eine eigene Flotte auf die Beine zu stellen.

Amazon verfolgt mit ihrem eigenen Logistikunternehmen Amazon Logistics eine etwas andere Herangehensweise. So investierte Amazon mehrere Milliarden US-Dollar in eine vollkommen eigene Flotte mit mehr als 40.000 Sattelzügen und 75 Frachtflugzeugen. Während Alibaba sich auf ein Netzwerk aus Transportunternehmen verlässt, vertraut Amazon lieber sich selbst und behält die volle Kontrolle über die Transportwege und -mittel.

Eine der größten Herausforderungen für beide Unternehmen stellt die sogenannte „letzte Meile“ (aus dem Englischen „last mile“) dar: in der Transportkette bezeichnet dies den direkten Weg zur Haustür der Kund:innen, z.B. durch DHL, UPS oder Fedex, oder – in Amazons Fall – durch das eigene Logistikunternehmen. Auf diese „letzte Meile“ fallen ca. fünfzig Prozent der gesamten Transportkosten. Sowohl Alibaba, als auch Amazon testen derzeit automatisierte Verfahren mithilfe von fahrenden Robotern oder Drohnen, um die Kosten des Transports an dieser Stelle zu reduzieren.

Während Amazon bereits weltweit mehrere hundert Lagerhäuser besitzt, hatte Alibaba aufgrund seiner Struktur kaum bis gar keine eigenen Lagerhäuser: die Händler, welche auf Seiten wie AliExpress verkaufen, versenden ihre Ware direkt zu ihren Kund:innen. Dadurch konnte das Unternehmen bisher stark kostengünstig agieren. Doch auch Alibaba musste feststellen, dass zentrale Lagerhäuser vor Ort von großem Vorteil sind. So betreibt Cainiao mehrere Lagerhäuser, darunter das größte vollautomatisierte Lagerhaus der Welt in Wuxi, China. Nach Aussage des Unternehmens arbeitet es doppelt so effizient wie ein herkömmliches Lager, da die Prozesse automatisiert und vereinheitlicht sind. Auch hier spart Alibaba im Vergleich zu Amazon enorme Kosten, da deutlich weniger Mitarbeiter:innen benötigt werden und Prozesse schneller ablaufen. Amazon selbst ist mittlerweile auch schon ein gutes Stück weiter und setzt ebenfalls Roboter von Amazon Robotics zusammen mit Mitarbeiter:innen ein, um die Effizienz zu steigern und den Transport schneller abwickeln zu können. Für ein vollautomatisiertes Lagerhaus wie in Wuxi braucht es jedoch noch einiges an Investition und Innovation.

Amazons Versandvorteil

Einer der großen Vorteile, die Amazon gegenüber Alibaba hat, ist jedoch die Lieferzeit und die Kosten für den Versand. Durch Prime, das Abo-Modell von Amazon, können Kund:innen kostenlos und meist innerhalb von 24 Stunden ihre Produkte erhalten, manchmal sogar noch am selben Tag (sogenannte „same day“ Lieferungen). Dieser Dienst steht derzeit in 21 Ländern zur Verfügung und ist auch nicht ganz günstig: man zahlt derzeit 69 Euro im Jahresabo, oder 7,99 Euro pro Monat (Stand: April 2021). Neben den kostenlosen Versandkosten für die meisten Produkte bietet Amazon Prime auch Zugang zu beispielsweise ihrem video-on-demand Dienst Prime Video oder ihrem Musikstreaming-Dienst Prime Music an.

Vergleicht man dies mit Alibaba, kann der chinesische Internetkonzern nicht mithalten: die anfallenden Versandkosten sind abhängig von Händler, Sitz des Händlers und örtlichen Paketdiensten. Für die Kund:innen im chinesischen Inland plant Alibaba derzeit ein 3 US-Dollar Abonnement, ähnlich wie Amazon Prime.

Für viele Produkte aus China fallen jedoch für europäische Kund:innen zusätzlich zum Versand Zollkosten an. Je nach Art des Produkts kann es den Kund:innen auch passieren, dass die Ware komplett beim Zoll hängen bleibt und man zusätzliche Kosten in Kauf nehmen muss. Im schlimmsten Falle bleibt die Ware nicht nur hängen, sondern wird vom Zoll nach Untersuchung vernichtet.

Grund dafür sind die zahlreichen Fälschungen, insbesondere von Luxusmarkenartikeln, die auf dem chinesischen Markt kursieren und ihren Weg über Plattformen wie AliExpress zu Endkund:innen gelangen. Alibaba arbeitet stark daran, dieses negative Image zu ändern und gründete 2016 eine eigene Anti-Fälschungs-Allianz, in welcher mittlerweile rund 121 Marken vertreten sind, darunter bekannte Luxusmarken wie Louis Vuitton, Michael Kors und Prada, aber auch Marken wie Disney, Apple und Starbucks.

Aber auch Amazon ist vor gefälschten Produkten nicht gefeit: erst kürzlich reichte Amazon zusammen mit GoPro Klage ein, weil Fälschungen des Kamerazubehörs von GoPro im Amazon Store angeboten werden sollte. Wie Alibaba hat auch Amazon mittlerweile eine eigene Abteilung für Fälschungskriminaliät (Counterfeit Crimes Unit), um sich gegen gefälschte Produkte besser schützen zu können.

Marketing-Strategien und Zielgruppen

Viele eCommerce-Plattformen scheiterten in der Vergangenheit, weil sie es zwar schafften, die Aufmerksamkeit der Kund:innen zu gewinnen, nicht jedoch deren Loyalität – Amazon schaffte beides. Nach Amazons eigener Aussage liegt der Erfolg der Plattform darin, dass sie eine einfache und intuitive Funktionalität bieten, einen sehr guten Kundenservice, sowie sichere und vertrauenswürdige Zahlungsmethoden. (Hierbei sei zu erwähnen, dass Amazon seit längerem bereits einen eigenen Bezahldienst besitzt, Amazon Pay.) Weiterhin bietet Amazons Webseite eine Vielzahl an Funktionen, welche den Kund:innen das Einkaufserlebnis erleichtern soll. Dazu gehört eine gut funktionierende Suche, welche über durch einen Algorithmus und entsprechende keywords die Produkte sortiert, der „Blick ins Buch“ oder auch Wunschlisten. Amazons Marketing-Strategie orientiert sich stark an Kund:innen und ist damit ein Modellbeispiel für eine eCommerce-Plattform mit B2C-Fokus.

Vergleichen wir diese Konsument:innen-Orientierung mit dem Fokus Alibabas wird schnell klar, dass man diese beiden Konzerne hierbei keineswegs vergleichen kann. Während Amazon hauptsächlich die Produkte direkt an Konsument:innen bringt, liegt Alibabas Fokus auf den Händlern. In einem Interview gab Jack Ma zu verstehen, dass sein Unternehmen es kleinen Händlern ermöglichen will genauso viele Menschen zu erreichen wie ein großer Weltkonzern. Eine große Herausforderung, die Alibaba mit Bravur absolviert. Der Konzern gilt als ein sogenanntes „smart business“, da viele Entscheidungen und Strategien auf KI-Analysen basieren. Er vereint die Funktionalität von Plattformen wie Amazon, eBay, PayPal, Google, und FedEx. Dies schafft Alibaba durch die Kombination aus tausenden kleiner chinesischer Businesses, und erschafft dadurch eine schnellere, intelligentere, und deutlich effizientere Unternehmensstruktur als die herkömmlichen.

Alibaba ist ein schnell wachsendes, modernes Unternehmen, welches Fahrt aufgenommen hat, um die Märkte auch außerhalb Chinas zu erobern. Amazon könnte da mit seinem etablierten, jedoch schwerfälligen System Probleme bekommen, wenn sie mithalten wollen.

Zwischenfazit: Sowohl Alibaba, als auch Amazon arbeiten hart daran, ihre Netzwerke auszubauen, sowohl was den Transport angeht, als auch die Händler. Es wird auf beiden Seiten hart daran gearbeitet, kosteneffizient zu agieren und auf die Bedürfnisse der Kund:innen einzugehen, um die Nase im eCommerce vorne zu behalten. Wer also kommt bei dem Rennen besser weg? Dazu schaut man sich am besten die Umsätze der vergangenen Jahre an, sowie die Marktanteile im In- und Ausland.

Zahlen lügen nicht

Vergleicht man lediglich das Eigenkapital der Unternehmen, hat Alibaba klar die Nase vorne. Mit  164.071 Mrd. US-Dollar in 2021 rutscht das Unternehmen ein gutes Stück vor Amazon, dessen Eigenkapital in 2020 93.404 Mrd. US-Dollar betrug. Das Gesamtvermögen Alibabas jedoch betrug 2021 257.978 Mrd. US-Dollar, wohingegen Amazon bereits 2020 ein Vermögen von 321.2 Mrd. US-Dollar vorzuweisen hatte.

Mit Blick auf die Geschäftsberichte der letzten Jahre und die entsprechenden Aktienkurse kann man jedoch sicher sagen. dass sowohl Alibaba (NYSE: BABA), als auch Amazon (NASDAQ: AMZN) stark gewachsen sind. Wenn auch Amazons Aktie knapp das vierfache wert ist als Alibabas, so kann man klar erkennen, wieviel Potential Alibaba als Unternehmen hat: allein in der Zeit zwischen 2017 und 2019 stieg Alibabas Aktie um 144%, wohingegen Amazon „nur“ 58% Wachstum vorzuzeigen hatte. Bringt man dies mit den Umsatzzahlen von 2017 in Zusammenhang, zeichnet sich ein klares Bild davon, wer derzeit das größere Wachstum zu verzeichnen hat. Zeigen die rohen Zahlen noch Amazon als Sieger (mit 177,87 Mrd. US-Dollar Umsatz gegenüber Alibabas 39,9 Mrd US-Dollar), so sind die Wachstumsraten eindeutig: Amazons Umsatz stieg im Vergleich zum Vorjahr um 31%, während Alibaba mit starken 46,91% aufwarten konnte. Allein in 2019 bestritt Alibaba 55,9% aller Online-Einzelhandelsumsätze in China. Amazon im Vergleich kam in den USA lediglich auf 37,3%.

Marktanteile und der Vorstoss in Neue Märkte

Diese Zahlen hängen stark im Zusammenhang mit den jeweiligen Marktanteilen der Unternehmen.  Während Amazon zwar weite Teile des westlichen eCommerce Marktes dominiert, sind die Marktanteile der Firmen hierzulande dennoch ausgeglichen. Amazon kommt in Deutschland hierbei auf Marktanteile zwischen 6,5% (Haustierprodukte) und 24% (Elektronik & Computer) im zweiten Halbjahr 2019. In China hingegen behauptet sich Alibaba mit einem Marktanteil von stolzen 60% im Bereich eCommerce.

Beide Unternehmen streben zudem danach, in die Märkte des jeweils anderen Konzerns vorzudringen. Doch kann dies überhaupt gelingen?

Einer der ersten großen Vorstöße wagte Alibaba mit seinem Unternehmen Cainiao: Im Juli 2021 begann Cainiao die Einstellung neuer Mitarbeiter:innen für ein neues Lagerhaus, welches eine zentrale Rolle in der Eroberung des europäischen Marktes werden soll. Der sogenannte smart-logistics hub steht am Flughafen Lüttich, Belgien, und ist Teil eines größeren geplanten Lagerhauses. Auch in Deutschland betreibt Alibaba bereits zwei eigene Lagerhäuser. Sie sollen insbesondere den deutschen und skandinavischen Markt abdecken. Die Frage der Logistik ist also geklärt, bleibt noch die Frage, wie bereit die Konsument:innen sind, bei Alibaba etwas einzukaufen. Laut einer Umfrage des Marktforschungsunternehmens Statista aus 2021 würden lediglich 33% bei Alibaba einkaufen, rund 47% nicht. Das Misstrauen gegenüber einer chinesischen eCommerce-Plattform scheint weiterhin zu bestehen, unter anderem durch etwaige Fälschungen und dem Vorurteil schlechter Produktqualität befeuert.

Zudem wirkt insbesondere die B2C-Plattform AliExpress für viele westliche Kund:innen unseriös: viele Animationen, viele bunte Bilder, schrille Farben. Ein Kulturschock, besonders für ältere Generationen. Insbesondere die deutsche Webseite macht aufgrund seiner Texte und Produktbeschreibungen keinen guten Eindruck, da sehr viele Händlertexte aus dem Chinesischen einfach einmal durch Google Translator gejagt wurden, was an mancher Stelle zu ulkigen Wortkreationen führt.

 

Beispiel einer Übersetzung auf Aliexpress

aliexpress

(Screenshot AliExpress.com, 22.08.2021)

 

Und Amazon? Amazon wagte den Vorstoß auf den chinesischen Markt bereits 2004, als sie die chinesische eCommerce-Plattform Joyo.com kauften und sie zu „Amazon China“ umbenannt wurde. Aufgrund der großen Konkurrenz, unter anderem Alibaba, stellte Amazon China den Verkauf von lokalen Gütern in 2019 komplett ein. Zum aktuellen Zeitpunkt bietet die Seite amazon.cn nur Import-Produkte im B2C-Verkauf an, darunter aus Ländern wie USA, UK, Deutschland oder Japan. Umgekehrt können Verkäufer aus China ihre Produkte über Amazon an Kund:innen in Übersee verkaufen. Schätzungsweise 200.000 chinesische Händler sind derzeit aktiv bei Amazon, wobei die meisten Verkäufe in die USA gehen. Die schiere Übermacht Alibabas hat Amazon China in die Knie und eine Nische gezwungen, aus der Amazon jedoch immer noch als Sieger hervorgehen kann, wenn sie sich diese spezielle Art des eCommerce zu Nutzen machen.

Eine weitere, sehr große Herausforderung für Amazon ist die regelrechte Nutzlosigkeit des Prime Angebotes auf dem chinesischen Markt. Alibaba versendet innerhalb Chinas bereits versandkostenfrei, und viele Inhalte von Prime Video sind dort zensiert. Im Umkehrschluss hat Alibaba es da deutlich einfacher, auf den westlichen Markt zu expandieren. Während in China strenge Regularien herrschen, wie z.B. die Zensur von Filmmaterial, ist der westliche Markt deutlich offener was kulturelle Dinge angeht.

Möchte Amazon weiterhin in China expandieren, sollte zudem auch der eCommerce über mobile Endgeräte nicht aus den Augen gelassen werden: Rund 60% des chinesischen Online-Handels werden über mobile Apps abgewickelt.

Fazit – Amazon vs. Alibaba

Beide Konzerne gehen als starke, weiterhin wachsende eCommerce-Unternehmen hervor. Sowohl Alibaba, als auch Amazon bieten mit ihren entsprechenden B2C-Plattformen eine Vielzahl an Produkten an, welche in ca. 24 bis 72 Stunden bei den Kund:innen ankommen können. Es wird reichlich an den Transportmitteln gearbeitet, wobei abzuwarten bleibt, ob Amazons eigene Flotte, oder Alibabas „logistics network“ Cainiao der bessere Weg in und für die Zukunft ist.

Die Zeit wird zeigen, welches der beiden Unternehmen die besseren eCommerce-Strategien hat.

Tobias Dziuba

Tobias Dziuba

Mein Name ist Tobias und ich schreibe auf dieser Seite über Digitale Marketing Trends.