Skip to main content

With Amazon Sponsored Display, Amazon is finally providing an advertising solution that allows sellers and retailers to target customers based on their behavior and interests. In principle, anyone can take part - provided you have the Trademark registration in the Brand Registry already successfully completed.

In this article, I will explain what exactly characterizes Amazon Sponsored Display and how to create a campaign.

What are Sponsored Display Ads?

Amazon describes a sponsored display as a Self-service display advertising solutionwhich is used to address buyers throughout the entire buyer's journey, both inside and outside of Amazon. Thus Sponsored Display Ads alongside Sponsored Brands and Sponsored Products, is the solution for sellers who want to expand their business and brand on Amazon.

Since Sponsored Display Ads is only one of several advertising programs on Amazon.de, I would first like to clarify where the differences lie.

The differences to sponsored product campaigns

For sellers who are just getting to grips with the various advertising programs on Amazon for the first time, the distinguishing features between Sponsored Product and Sponsored Display can be unclear. Therefore, I will outline the four most important differences below.

Trademark registration with the Brand Registry is required

Sponsored Display Ads is available to professional sellers who have registered a brand with Amazon, as well as agencies with customers who sell on Amazon. Your products must fall under Amazon's eligible categories in order to be allowed to advertise. All Product display ad campaigns are now part of Sponsored Display. If a seller has placed Product Display ads in the past, these are made available as a Sponsored Display campaign without the need for an additional action.

Products can be advertised without a Buy Box

The Buy Box is essential for every seller on Amazon. However, only one seller can use the Buy Box at any one time. Buy Box win - i.e. take the order for a product offered by several sellers. However, this does not mean that only one seller can sell the product in question, as Amazon Sponsored Display Ads offer another method of reaching potential customers.

As a rule, the top sellers win the Buy Box in 95 % cases or even more often. This means that all other sellers have to be satisfied with only a small number of buyers. With Sponsored Display Ads, however, the same products can now be offered elsewhere on Amazon or even elsewhere on the web.

Displays can be modified and individualized

Although advertising material is created automatically, the seller has the option of changing the title and logo of the ad. Part of the automatically created ad are: The product image, the price, possible offers, the rating in the form of stars, as well as the "Buy now" button.

Sponsored Display Ads are only shown on product detail pages

While other programs such as Sponsored Products allow sellers to advertise products in the relevant categories, Sponsored Display Ads are only shown on product detail pages. This is one of the reasons why the different advertising programs on Amazon should be combined. Sponsored Display Ads alone can only cover part of the possibilities that Amazon offers sellers to reach potential customers.

Where do sponsored display ads appear?

Based on the targeting options selected by the seller, ads are displayed on desktop and mobile devices. They usually appear under the Buy Box, but other placements are also possible on product detail pages and in the shopping results.

In addition, and this feature distinguishes Sponsored display ads In addition to other advertising programs, target groups can be addressed on third-party websites. For example, potential customers who have seen one of our own products or a similar product from a competitor can be targeted via advertisements on Amazon or third-party websites (currently only in the USA).

What targeting options do Sponsored Display Ads have?

Sellers have various targeting options for Sponsored Display Ads. I would like to explain the three available options in more detail below.

Attention: None of these options can be used without an entry in the Amazon trademark register!

Product targeting

Perhaps the most important option for targeting Sponsored Display Ads is product targeting. This involves selecting users who have viewed a similar product or a relevant product category. They are then shown ads on relevant product detail pages.

Product targeting is available for sellers and retailers.

Remarketing after calls

Potential buyers who have viewed one of your products, similar competitor products or a relevant product category within the last 30 days are selected.

This option is made available to sellers and dealers.

Targeting according to interests

Similar to remarketing by views, targeting by interests can be used to address customers who have shown a certain behavior in the past, which suggests that there is an interest in the seller's product. In this way, sellers can present their products to target groups who have not yet specifically searched for the advertised product, but whose potential interest seems obvious.

Targeting by interests is reserved for retailers.

Differences between Sponsored Display and Amazon DSP

While there are some similarities between Sponsored Display Ads and Amazon DSP, there are a number of differences, including the following:

  • Sponsored Display Ads are billed according to cost per click, while Amazon DSP ads are billed per impression.
  • DSP is only available from a budget of €10,000.
  • While Sponsored Ads is a self-service advertising product, DSP is also offered as a managed service.
  • While sponsored display ads can only be placed on Amazon.de in Germany, DSP also allows you to advertise outside Amazon.
  • Targeting is also different, as keyword or product-based targeting is not possible with DSP.

Instructions: How do I create a Sponsored Display Ads campaign?

The creation of an Amazon Sponsored Display campaign can be divided into 7 steps.

Step 1:

Open the Campaign manager in the Seller Central.

Step 2:

Choose Create campaign and Sponsored Display.

Step 3:

sponsored display

Select the Campaign namesthat Budgetand the Start and end date. Please note that the name of your campaign only appears in Seller Central, but is not visible to the customer. The budget is an average daily budget.

Step 4:

Now one of the three available Targeting options can be selected. As already mentioned in this article, the third targeting option by interests is only available to retailers.

Step 5:

Select the product you want to advertise. Simply enter the exact name or the ASIN in. If you have selected product targeting or remarketing by call target group, you can still customize the display of the advertising material in this step.

Step 6:

Give your Bids on a CPC basis.

Step 7:

Check the campaign you have just created and submit it.

Tips for creating your Sponsored Display campaign

The Amazon guidelines must be adhered to when creating advertising material. You can find this on https://advertising.amazon.com/de-de/resources/ad-policy/sponsored-display-policies further information.

Whether your campaign is successful will depend primarily on the product to be advertised and your bidding strategy. As a rule, Sponsored Display Ads are primarily placed in three different situations: 

  1. Market launch of a product
  2. Remaining stock should be sold as quickly as possible
  3. Sales figures for proven products are to be further increased

In all these cases, it is important to choose the right targeting. However, until you have found the right settings, a few test runs and adjustments to the campaign based on the collected performance data may be necessary.

Would you like to assign this task to someone who has already set up Amazon Sponsored Display campaigns for highly successful sellers? We can help with the creation and optimization of PPC campaigns help on Amazon! Get in touch with us now and claim a non-binding consultation on!

Tobias Dziuba

My name is Tobias and I am the founder and managing director of the Amazon agency Adsmasters GmbH based in Düsseldorf.

Your registration could not be saved. Please try again.
Your registration was successful.

Search
Generic filters

Live webinar: Amazon Ads: 30% more profit in one month

Name(Required)
e-mail(Required)

Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 59 reviews
js_loader

Mit Amazon Sponsored Display stellt Amazon endlich eine Werbelösung zur Verfügung, mit dem Verkäufer und Händler zugleich Kunden aufgrund von Verhalten und Interessen ansprechen können. Grundsätzlich kann auch jeder mitmachen – vorausgesetzt, man hat die Markenanmeldung in der Brand-Registry bereits erfolgreich abgeschlossen.

In diesem Beitrag erkläre ich dir nun, was Amazon Sponsored Display genau auszeichnet und wie man eine Kampagne erstellt.

Was sind Sponsored Display Ads?

Als Sponsored Display bezeichnet Amazon eine Self-Service-Display-Werbelösung, die dazu dient, Käufer während des gesamten Buyer’s Journey anzusprechen und zwar innerhalb und außerhalb von Amazon. Somit sind Sponsored Display Ads neben Sponsored Brands und Sponsored Products die Lösung für Verkäufer, die ihr Business und ihre Marke auf Amazon ausbauen wollen.

Da es sich bei den Sponsored Display Ads nur um eine von mehreren Werbeprogrammen auf Amazon.de handelt, möchte ich zuerst einmal klarstellen, wo die Unterschiede liegen.

Die Unterschiede zu Sponsored-Product-Kampagnen

Für Verkäufer, die sich gerade zum ersten Mal mit den verschiedenen Werbeprogrammen auf Amazon befassen, können die Unterscheidungsmerkmale zwischen Sponsored Product und Sponsored Display unklar sein. Deshalb werde ich die vier wichtigsten Unterschiede im Folgenden darstellen.

Markenanmeldung bei der Brand-Registry wird vorausgesetzt

Sponsored Display Ads steht professionellen Verkäufern, die bei Amazon eine Marke registriert haben, sowie Agenturen mit Kunden, die auf Amazon verkaufen, zur Verfügung. Ihre Produkte müssen dabei unter die berechtigten Kategorien von Amazon fallen, um werben zu dürfen. Alle Product-Display-Anzeigenkampagnen sind jetzt Teil von Sponsored Display. Hat ein Verkäufer in der Vergangenheit Product-Display-Anzeigen geschalten, werden diese, ohne dass eine zusätzliche Aktion erforderlich ist, als Sponsored-Display-Kampagne zur Verfügung gestellt.

Produkte können ohne Buy Box beworben werden

Die Buy Box ist für jeden Verkäufer am Amazon essenziell. Allerdings kann nur ein Verkäufer zu einem beliebigen Zeitpunkt die Buy Box gewinnen – also die Bestellung für ein Produkt, das von mehreren Verkäufern angeboten wird, entgegen nehmen. Dies bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass nur ein Verkäufer das entsprechende Produkt verkaufen kann, denn mit Amazon Sponsored Display Ads gibt es eine weitere Methode, potenzielle Kunden zu erreichen.

In der Regel bekommen die Top Verkäufer in 95 % Fälle oder sogar noch häufiger den Zuschlag für die Buy Box. Somit müssen sich alle anderen Verkäufer mit einer nur geringen Anzahl an Käufern zufrieden geben. Mit Sponsored Display Ads können nun jedoch dieselben Produkte an anderer Stelle auf Amazon oder gar andernorts im Web angeboten werden.

Anzeigen lassen sich modifizieren und individualisieren

Zwar werden Werbemittel automatisch erstellt, jedoch hat der Verkäufer die Möglichkeit, Titel und Logo der Anzeige zu verändern. Teil der automatisch erstellten Anzeige sind: Das Produktbild, der Preis, mögliche Angebote, die Bewertung in Form von Sternen, sowie die Schaltfläche „Jetzt einkaufen”.

Während andere Programme wie Sponsored Products es Verkäufern ermöglichen, Produkte in den entsprechenden Kategorien zu bewerben, werden Sponsored Display Ads nur auf Produktdetailseiten angezeigt. Dies ist einer der Gründe, warum die verschiedenen Werbeprogramme auf Amazon kombiniert werden sollten. Sponsored Display Ads alleine können nur einen Teil der Möglichkeiten abdecken, die Amazon Verkäufern zur Verfügung stellt, um potenzielle Kunden zu erreichen.

Wo erscheinen Sponsored-Display-Anzeigen?

Basierend auf den vom Verkäufer ausgewählten Targeting-Optionen werden Anzeigen auf Desktop-Geräten, sowie mobilen Geräten angezeigt. Normalerweise erscheinen sie unter der Buy Box, jedoch sind auch anderweitige Platzierungen auf Produktdetailseiten sowie bei den Einkaufsergebnissen möglich.

Zudem, und dieses Feature unterscheidet Sponsored-Display-Anzeigen von anderen Werbeprogrammen, können Zielgruppen auf dritten Webseiten angesprochen werden. Beispielsweise können potenzielle Kunden, die ein eigenes Produkt oder ein ähnliches Produkt von Konkurrenten gesehen haben, über Werbeanzeigen auf Amazon oder Webseiten von Dritten (momentan nur in den USA) angesprochen werden.

Welche Targeting-Optionen haben Sponsored Display Ads?

Verkäufer haben verschiedene Optionen zum Targeting für Sponsored Display Ads. Im Folgenden möchte ich die drei verfügbaren Optionen näher erläutern.

Achtung: Ohne Eintrag im Amazon-Markenregister kann keine dieser Optionen genutzt werden!

Produkt-Targeting

Die vielleicht wichtigste Option zum Targeting von Sponsored Display Ads ist das Produkt-Targeting. Hierbei werden User ausgewählt, die sich ein ähnliches Produkt oder eine relevante Produktkategorie angesehen haben. Diesen werden dann Anzeigen auf relevanten Produktdetailseiten angezeigt.

Produkt-Targeting ist für Verkäufer und Händler verfügbar.

Weitervermarktung nach Aufrufen

Hierbei werden potenzielle Käufer ausgewählt, die sich innerhalb der letzten 30 Tage eines deiner Produkte, ähnliche Produkte der Konkurrenz oder eine relevante Produktkategorie angesehen haben.

Diese Option wird Verkäufern und Händlern zur Verfügung gestellt.

Targeting nach Interessen

Ähnlich wie bei der Weitervermarktung nach Aufrufen können beim Targeting nach Interessen Kunden angesprochen werden, die in der Vergangenheit ein bestimmtes Verhalten gezeigt haben, welches nahelegt, dass ein Interesse an einem Produkt des Verkäufers besteht. Auf diese Weise können Verkäufer ihre Produkte Zielgruppen vorstellen, die zwar noch nicht konkret nach dem beworbenen Produkt gesucht haben, ein mögliches Interesse allerdings naheliegend scheint.

Targeting nach Interessen ist Händlern vorbehalten.

Unterschiede zwischen Sponsored-Display und Amazon DSP

Während es zwischen Sponsored Display Ads und Amazon DSP einige Gemeinsamkeiten gibt, existieren jedoch eine Reihe von Unterschieden, darunter die Folgenden:

  • Sponsored Display Ads werden nach Cost per Click abgerechnet, während Amazon DSP Werbeanzeigen per Impression abgerechnet werden.
  • DSP ist erst ab einem Budget von 10.000 € verfügbar.
  • Während Sponsored Ads ein Self-Service-Werbeprodukt ist, wird DSP auch als Managed-Service angeboten.
  • Während in Deutschland Sponsored Display Anzeigen lediglich auf Amazon.de geschalten werden können, ermöglicht es DSP, auch außerhalb Amazons zu werben.
  • Targeting ist ebenfalls unterschiedlich, denn Keyword- oder Produktbasiertes Targeting ist bei DSP nicht möglich.

Anleitung: Wie lege ich eine Sponsored Display Ads Kampagne an?

Die Erstellung einer Amazon Sponsored Display Kampagne kann in 7 Schritte unterteilt werden.

Schritt 1:

Öffne den Kampagnenmanager in der Seller Central.

Schritt 2:

Wähle Kampagne erstellen und Sponsored Display.

Amazon Sponsored Display ads

Schritt 3:

sponsored display

Wähle den Kampagnennamen, das Budget, sowie das Anfangs- und Enddatum. Beachte, dass der Name deiner Kampagne lediglich in der Seller Central erscheint, nicht jedoch für den Kunden ersichtlich ist. Bei dem Budget handelt es sich um ein durchschnittliches Tagesbudget.

Schritt 4:

Nun muss eine der drei verfügbaren Targeting-Optionen ausgewählt werden. Wie bereits in diesem Beitrag erwähnt wurde, steht die dritte Targeting-Option nach Interessen nur Händlern zur Verfügung.

Schritt 5:

Wähle das Produkt aus, welches du bewerben willst. Gebe dafür einfach den exakten Namen oder die ASIN ein. Falls du das Produkt-Targeting oder die Weitervermarktung-nach-Aufrufen-Zielgruppe gewählt hast, kannst du in diesem Schritt noch die Anzeige des Werbemittels anpassen.

Schritt 6:

Gebe deine Gebote auf CPC-Basis ein.

Schritt 7:

Überprüfe die soeben erstellte Kampagne und reiche sie ein.

Tipps zur Erstellung deiner Sponsored Display Kampagne

Bei der Erstellung von Werbemitteln müssen die Richtlinien von Amazon eingehalten werden. Hierzu findest du auf https://advertising.amazon.com/de-de/resources/ad-policy/sponsored-display-policies weitere Infos.

Ob deine Kampagne erfolgreich ist, wird vor allem von dem zu bewerbenden Produkt und deiner Gebotsstrategie abhängig sein. In der Regel werden Sponsored Display Ads vor allem in drei verschiedenen Situationen geschalten: 

  1. Markteinführung eines Produktes
  2. Es sollten Restposten so schnell wie möglich verkauft werden
  3. Die Verkaufszahlen von bewährten Produkten sollen weiter erhöht werden

In all diesen Fällen ist es wichtig, das Targeting korrekt zu wählen. Bis man die richtigen Einstellungen gefunden hat, können jedoch einige Testdurchläufe und Anpassungen der Kampagne anhand der gesammelten Performance-Daten nötig sein.

Du möchtest diese Aufgabe jemandem übertragen, der bereits Amazon Sponsored Display Kampagnen für höchst erfolgreiche Verkäufer aufgesetzt hat? Wir können bei der Erstellung und Optimierung von PPC Kampagnen auf Amazon helfen! Melde dich jetzt bei uns und fordere ein unverbindliches Beratungsgespräch an!

Tobias Dziuba

Tobias Dziuba

Mein Name ist Tobias und ich schreibe auf dieser Seite über Digitale Marketing Trends.