Skip to main content

For some time now, Amazon Business has also been offered as a marketplace for business customers in Germany. Entrepreneurs and companies of all sizes have the opportunity to register for the service free of charge and use the marketplace for commercial purchases. Amazon advertises a number of advantages when using the business model. But what exactly is Amazon Business and how does it differ from Amazon's B2C marketplace? What are the advantages of registering and what do you need to bear in mind when using it? This article will answer all open questions about Amazon's B2B model.

What is Amazon Business?

Until recently, the Amazon marketplace was more tailored to private customers and less geared towards orders from companies and businesses. Amazon Business is now set to close this gap and accommodate corporate buyers. For example, purchase on account with VAT shown and other aspects that are advantageous for commercial purchases are supported. The entire Amazon product range can be accessed as usual.

What advantages does Amazon Business offer?

Some commercial orders have certainly already been placed via the Amazon B2C marketplace in the past. For regular or larger orders, however, this is not ideal and B2B retailers are used. Amazon Business was introduced to make the Amazon marketplace more attractive for business customers. The differences and advantages compared to the Amazon marketplace for private customers are set out below.

  • Extended offers: In addition to the usual product range, other interesting offers for companies are available for business users
  • Purchase on account: The payment method "purchase on account" with a payment term of 30 days is available with a business account
  • Business invoice: The "Business invoice" filter can be used to compare net prices, create invoices with VAT shown and order numbers. You can also search directly for retailers who support business invoices
  • Purchasing systems: The business account can be integrated into existing purchasing systems
  • Reporting: Procurement analyses provide an overview of the items ordered and account activities
  • Multiple users: The business account can be used by several employees. Additional users can be added manually or, if there are a large number, via a corresponding template. Different rights can be assigned, allowing administrators to set restrictions and budgets for additional users. By creating groups, the account can even be used across departments
  • Free shipping: Business customers with a minimum order value of 29 euros receive free shipping
  • Business Prime: Business customers also have the opportunity to use the Prime service and benefit from free shipping and faster delivery times. The price depends on the number of account users
  • Business prices: Business customers can receive volume discounts and lower prices for some products

Are there any disadvantages?

Of course, the question arises as to whether there is a catch. However, there is no specific disadvantage to Amazon Business. Since registration is free, you basically have nothing to lose by trying.

Amazon Business for retailers

Amazon merchants can also register their seller account for Amazon Business and reach business customers in this way. Products can be listed and sold as usual. By activating the sales tax calculation service, sales tax information can be entered and the calculation service will generate sales tax invoices. In addition, net prices can be displayed to customers in this way and you will be listed as a retailer if a business customer uses the "Business invoice" filter. To increase the attractiveness for business customers, volume discounts and business prices can be added. To use Amazon Business, you also need to register as a retailer. Only those who have a Pro seller account can activate the use of Amazon Business free of charge.

Registration

As already mentioned, registration for Amazon Business is free of charge for business customers. First, a business e-mail address must be entered that is to be used for the account. Alternatively, an existing Amazon account can be converted into a business account. Then some information about the company is requested, such as the company name and the company address. A few personal details must then be entered. Once registration is complete, the account is activated, which can take up to three working days. If an order is to be placed using the "invoice" payment method, a credit check is also carried out.

Conclusion

The use of Amazon Business actually has a number of advantages for companies. Retailers now also have the opportunity to address both private individuals and business customers via a marketplace. Of course, every company must weigh up whether it is worth using the marketplace. Particularly in the case of existing purchasing relationships, a change often needs to be carefully considered. However, if business purchases are made via Amazon from time to time anyway, free registration for Amazon Business can basically only bring advantages for the company.

Tobias Dziuba

My name is Tobias and I am the founder and managing director of the Amazon agency Adsmasters GmbH based in Düsseldorf.

Your registration could not be saved. Please try again.
Your registration was successful.

Search
Generic filters

Live-Webinar: Amazon Ads: 30% mehr Profit in einem Monat

Name(Required)
e-mail(Required)

Google Rating
5.0
Based on 60 reviews
js_loader
Google Rating
5.0
Based on 60 reviews
js_loader

Seit geraumer Zeit wird auch in Deutschland Amazon Business als Marktplatz für Geschäftskunden angeboten. Unternehmer und Unternehmen jeder Größe haben die Möglichkeit, sich kostenlos für den Service zu registrieren und den Marktplatz für gewerbliche Einkäufe zu nutzen. Amazon wirbt dabei mit einigen Vorteilen bei der Nutzung des Business-Modells. Doch was genau ist Amazon Business und worin unterscheidet es sich von Amazons B2C-Marktplatz? Welche Vorteile bringt die Registrierung mit sich und worauf ist bei der Nutzung zu achten? Dieser Beitrag wird alle offenen Fragen rund um Amazons B2B-Modell beantworten.

Was ist Amazon Business?

Bis vor kurzem war der Amazon-Marktplatz eher auf Privatkunden zugeschnitten und weniger auf Bestellungen von Unternehmen und Betrieben ausgelegt. Amazon Business soll diese Lücke nun schließen und Unternehmenseinkäufern entgegenkommen. So werden u.a. der Kauf auf Rechnung mit ausgewiesener Umsatzsteuer sowie weitere, für gewerbliche Käufe vorteilhafte, Aspekte unterstützt. Dabei kann wie gewohnt auf das gesamte Produktsortiment von Amazon zugegriffen werden.

Welche Vorteile bietet Amazon Business?

Es wurden sicherlich auch in der Vergangenheit bereits einige gewerbliche Bestellungen über den Amazon B2C-Marktplatz getätigt. Bei regelmäßigen oder größeren Bestellungen ist dies jedoch nicht optimal und es wird auf B2B-Einzelhändler zurückgegriffen. Um den Amazon-Marktplatz nun auch für Geschäftskunden attraktiv zu gestalten, wurde Amazon Business eingeführt. Die Unterschiede und Vorteile gegenüber des Amazon-Marktplatzes für Privatkunden sind folgend festgehalten.

  • Erweiterte Angebote: Neben dem gewohnten Produktsortiment sind für Business-Nutzer weitere, für Unternehmen interessante, Angebote verfügbar
  • Kauf auf Rechnung: Die Zahlungsart „Kauf auf Rechnung“ mit einem Zahlungsziel von 30 Tagen ist mit einem Business-Account verfügbar
  • Business-Rechnung: Durch den Filter „Business-Rechnung“ können Nettopreise vergleichen, Rechnungen mit ausgewiesener Umsatzsteuer und Auftragsnummern erstellt werden. Zudem kann direkt nach Händlern gesucht werden, die Business-Rechnungen unterstützen
  • Einkaufssysteme: Das Business-Konto kann in bestehende Einkaufssysteme eingebunden werden
  • Berichterstattung: Beschaffungsanalysen sorgen für einen Überblick über die bestellten Artikel und Kontoaktivitäten
  • Mehrere Nutzer: Das Business-Konto kann von mehreren Mitarbeitern genutzt werden. Weitere Nutzer können manuell oder bei hoher Anzahl auch über eine entsprechende Vorlage hinzugefügt werden. Dabei können unterschiedliche Rechte vergeben werden, so haben Administratoren u.a. die Möglichkeit Einschränkungen und Budgets für die weiteren Nutzer festzulegen. Durch das Anlegen von Gruppen kann das Konto sogar abteilungsübergreifend genutzt werden
  • Kostenloser Versand: Ab einem Mindestbestellwert von 29 Euro erhalten Geschäftskunden kostenlosen Versand
  • Business Prime: Auch die Business-Kunden haben die Möglichkeit, den Prime-Service zu nutzen und von kostenlosem Versand und schnellerer Lieferzeit zu profitieren. Der Preis richtet sich dabei nach der Anzahl der Konto-Nutzer
  • Business-Preise: Business-Kunden können bei einigen Produkten Mengenrabatte und günstigere Preise erhalten

Gibt es Nachteile?

Natürlich stellt sich die Frage, ob das Ganze auch einen Haken hat. Einen konkreten Nachteil bringt Amazon Business allerdings nicht mit sich. Da die Registrierung kostenlos ist, hat man mit einem Versuch im Grunde nichts zu verlieren.

Amazon Business für Händler

Auch Amazon-Händler können ihr Verkäuferkonto für Amazon Business registrieren und auf diese Weise Geschäftskunden erreichen. Produkte können wie gewohnt eingestellt und verkauft werden. Durch die Aktivierung des Umsatzsteuer-Berechnungsservice können Umsatzsteuerinformationen angegeben werden, wodurch der Berechnungsservice Umsatzsteuer-Rechnungen erstellt. Außerdem können auf diese Weise den Kunden Nettopreise angezeigt werden und du wirst als Händler gelistet, wenn ein Geschäftskunde den Filter „Business-Rechnung“ verwendet. Um die Attraktivität für Geschäftskunden zu steigern, können Mengenrabatte und Business-Preise hinzugefügt werden. Für die Nutzung von Amazon Business ist auch als Händler eine Registrierung nötig. Nur wer ein Pro-Verkäuferkonto besitzt, kann die Nutzung von Amazon Business kostenlos freischalten.

Registrierung

Die Registrierung für Amazon Business ist für Geschäftskunden, wie bereits erwähnt, kostenlos. Zunächst muss eine geschäftliche E-Mail-Adresse angegeben werden, die für den Account genutzt werden soll. Alternativ kann auch ein bereits bestehendes Amazon-Konto in ein Business-Konto umgewandelt werden. Anschließend werden einige Informationen zum Unternehmen abgefragt, wie u.a. der Unternehmensname und die Firmenadresse. Anschließend müssen einige wenige Informationen zur eigenen Person angegeben werden. Nach Abschluss der Registrierung wird das Konto freigeschaltet, was bis zu drei Werktage in Anspruch nehmen kann. Soll über die Zahlungsart „Rechnung“ bestellt werden, erfolgt außerdem eine Bonitätsabfrage.

Fazit

Die Nutzung von Amazon Business bringt für Unternehmen tatsächlich einige Vorteile mit sich. Auch Händler haben nun die Möglichkeit, über einen Marktplatz sowohl Privatpersonen als auch Geschäftskunden anzusprechen. Selbstverständlich muss jedes Unternehmen abwägen, ob sich die Nutzung des Marktplatzes lohnt. Gerade bei bereits bestehenden Einkaufsbeziehungen muss ein Wechsel oft gut überlegt sein. Sollten allerdings sowieso hin und wieder geschäftliche Einkäufe über Amazon getätigt werden, kann die kostenlose Registrierung für Amazon Business für das Unternehmen im Grunde nur Vorteile bringen.